Blush logo

Microblading 101

Insider Tips From a Certified Microblading Artist

By Ainsley HartPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo belongs to @the.browery on Instagram

The term "Microblading" sounds terribly daunting and painful, I know. I personally have had my eyebrows Microbladed, and experienced the same butterflies leading up to the procedure. But let me tell you, it has been one of the greatest decisions I have ever made in my beauty career. My brow artist works at The Browery in Jacksonville Beach, Florida. I sat down with her, and I've compiled all of the tips and information that she gave to me, as well as my own experience. Enjoy!

First and foremost... What even is microblading?

Microblading is a form of tattooing that is semi-permanent. Traditionally, it is done manually with a hand tool in which hair-like strokes can be achieved, as well as shading to create a natural looking brow. It can also be preformed with a machine to produce more of a 'make-up' brow (i.e. 'ombre brow' or 'powder-brows' as the professionals call them).

1. Is microblading for everyone?

"While microblading is suitable for most skin-types, there are factors that need to be taken into consideration. For example if you tend to have oily skin, the ombre or powder brow done with the machine will have a more positive and lasting effect than manual microblading. This is because oily skin does not retain the crisp hair strokes as well."

2. Do you have to be a certain age?

"Each county/ state has their own guidelines regarding the minimum age requirements. Typically 18 is the minimum age, but in some areas it is 16. There is no age limit to which microblading can be preformed on, so long as the skin is in good health, and there are no medical contraindications."

3. Will it hurt?

"This varies with skin type and personal pain tolerance. I've had clients who barely needed to be numbed. The topical numbing is applied after the first pass of strokes in order to boost color retention."

***I asked this question to provide a genuine answer from an artist. In my experience, it was painful until the topical numbing was applied. After that it was perfectly fine!

4. How much does it cost?

"It can cost anywhere from $399–$799, depending on your location and the experience of your technician. The wide degree of variance is also due to wether you want manual microblading, machine brows, or a combination of both. It is definitely an investment."

5. What is the best form of after-care?

"There is a wide variety of after-care protocols. Your technician will typically use the way they have been taught, or the way that they have found yields best results via trial and error. There are three main aftercare protocols:
  • Dry healing–Keeping completely dry–no sweat, water, etc. and blotting with clean gauze every 5-15 minutes.
  • Wet healing–Typically means to apply an aftercare product with no washing. Some believe that washing could pull the pigment out,
  • Combination method–This is the method that I advocate for, and carry out with my clients. The combination method includes clean gauze blotting at the end of the service with an application of aftercare product prior to leaving my facility. I instruct my clients to gently wash twice daily, and apply a very small amount of aftercare once air-dried. This protocol is followed for 1-2 week depending on skin type."

I would personally say that microblading is SO worth it. It has completely changed my face and beauty routine for the better. Putting on my makeup goes by so much quicker, and I'm out of the door in a flash. As always though, make sure to do your research! Ask your artist questions BEFORE the procedure, and make sure they're legit!

face
Like

About the Creator

Ainsley Hart

I am a lifestyle blogger who loves all things beauty!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.