Blush logo

Charlotte Tilbury; My Current Obsession

An Open Letter to my Bank Account

By Rose DovePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Photo taken by Rose Alexa

{Written back in Dec, 2018 with updates}

An Open letter to my Bank Account...

Dearest Funds,

I'm already well aware that I am your least favourite person. I lash out and spend you on anything and everything that I can and yet you still help to keep me out of trouble, i.e. Bills, Rent, food, coffee etc.

However I do feel the need to address to you about my current "little" mishap... I say little ironically because you and I know both know that I went way over-board this time. #NoRegrets

As a Makeup Artist I get to use a plethora of cosmetics as well as skincare on my clients! It’s always so much fun getting to swatch and play with potential kit products. I’m my own test subject; I have to love the product first before I consider it becoming part of my pro kit.

The brand in question that I had been dying to try is none other than Charlotte Tilbury!

The main factors of this brand had caught my eye;

1. The feedback

2. The Quality

3. The oh-so gorgeous luxurious packaging! {Yes, I’m a sucker for gorgeous packaging - but really, aren’t we all in some way or another?}

4. HOLLYWOOD FLAWLESS FILTER!!!!!

Okay, that’s enough of me justifying my actions, now onto what was bought {and loved}

My very first Charlotte Tilbury order was placed at the end of October (Pay Day);

Hollywood Flawless Filter in the shade 2 light; such a versatile product! Can be worn under or over makeup to give your skin added radiance. This product also makes lines and pores appear smoother! This has become a staple in my personal makeup bag!

Airbrush Flawless finish in 1 Fair; a smoothing effect finishing powder. Suitable for setting liquid or cream based products. I love the finely milled powder formula, it doesn’t settle into face lines.

These were the main products that I wanted to try, for the people who don't know me I'm all about the glow and touch up powder.

The Second order was placed in the very first week of November;

Travel sized Charlotte's Magic Cream; Never had my skin felt so soft, plump and hydrated! Not only did my skin feel and look transformed but it also reduced some fine lines!

Eye Magic rescue; The best eye cream I had ever used! Not only was it immensely hydrating, it also made my dark under eye circles appear brighter. The delicate under eye skin felt smoother and firmer!

When it comes to eye cream and face cream they indeed are 2 different things! A great analogy to this is ‘you never want to wash your silks with your cottons’

In my defense I had ran out of eye cream and face moisturizer so it was the perfect time to see what all the hype was about. I vaguely remember Charlotte referring to these 2 products as a must-have skin plumping duo! Of course this instantly grabbed me because as I got older so did my skin; I love my skin so naturally I like to take good care of it.

The Third Order was placed in the second week of November; Collagen Lip Bath, Filmstar Bronze and Glow and 2 K.I.S.S.I.N.G Lipsticks in the shades That's so Marilyn {discontinued} and Coachella Coral {now known as Coral Kiss}

The K.I.S.S.I.N.G formula; Left my lips feeling soft as cashmere, hydrated and very pouty looking!! The blend of waxes made it easy to glide across my lips with a seamless application. Quite a buildable too I found.

I was in two minds about ordering the filmstar bronze and glow because I had already very recently purchased the new limited edition NARS Orgasm Infatuation Palette.

Still unsure, I asked my dear friend who used to work for the brand Charlotte Tilbury

"Is the Filmstar Bronze and Glow worth it?" and with a resounding YES IT IS from my dear friend who also told me that she swears by it, it ended up in my shopping cart.

Filmstar bronze & Glow; What I loved most about this product was the blend of pearl pigment in the bronzer which mimicked that sun-kissed skin. I liked to apply it over my cheeks, temples, bridge of my nose and my chin. Basically you want to apply bronzer anywhere where the sun naturally hits your complexion.

Initially I said and thought to myself that this is going to be my last order! Well how wrong was I.

The Fourth Order was placed literally the day after the third order; 2 more K.I.S.S.I.N.G lipsticks in the shades Confession {now discontinued} and Bitch Perfect. Then because I could I added the Powder and Sculpt brush {Yes another makeup brush – did I need it? NO, did I want it? YES}

I must admit Charlotte Tilbury had very quickly become my top favourite makeup brand.

So dearest Funds, I end this open letter by thanking you for bringing this little obsession and myself together. I also apologize for putting you through hell.

Much, much Love from your least favourite person...

Rose Alexa xx

product review
3

About the Creator

Rose Dove

𝐿𝒾𝒻𝑒 𝐼𝓂𝒾𝓉𝒶𝓉𝑒𝓈 𝒜𝓇𝓉; a curation of personal pieces and poems that carry glimpses into my past and present.

🖤🪬

IG: @thehausofdove

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.