Blush logo

Avon

The Good And The Bad

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
photo by Pixabay

Are you poor and looking for a direct sales opportunity? In other words, do you want to work from home? Are you looking for something in make-up? Of course then you have heard of the good ol’ Avon Lady!

Hey, don’t knock the job. There are women out there putting dinner on the table.

Years ago, I was an Avon Beauty Advisor. Those were days before laptops with online business and one had to peddle brochures. As part of the job, I used the products myself.

Far Away is by far the best perfume. Everywhere I wore the scent, people knew it was Avon and knew it was Far Away. For example, once, I walked into a grocery store and a cashier knew it and automatically told me right away.

The perfume is not expensive and can often be found available at two (2) for one (1).

I describe the scent as an Oriental Musk, personally.

OK. That was good. Are you ready for the bad?

Cream-To-Powder Foundation is a terrible product. As I have an uneven complexion, this foundation worked superbly. However, you have to apply with a sponge pad. When I applied the foundation with the sponge pad, the pad was too rough for my under eye skin. Now, I have big bags sagging underneath my eyes making me look like a drug user or a battered woman.

Do yourself a favor. Apply liquid foundation with your finger tips. It is too late for me.

Would you like to know about another Avon good?

Avon’s 99 cent lip glosses! These are super for Santa Claus to place in your favorite lady’s Cnristmas stocking! Also, do you need something little to show appreciation? Place a 99 cent lip gloss in a gal’s Christmas card, Birthday card, etc.

Would you like another bad?

Avon scented antiperspirants do not have a scent! I use Arrid XX Dry Morning Breeze from the grocery store instead! This may be more expensive, but Avon makes no sense.

If you have ever thought of getting into Avon as an opportunity, be prepared. Once, a girl ordered an entire box worth of perfume and cologne from me and then did not pay. I attempted to explain to customers that I needed to be paid first. However, these customers would claim that “so and so” did not sell that way. So, yes, I had competition.

I liked ordering samples and brochures. Customers were always asking me for the next arrival. You should have seen the looks on their faces when their products were in. It was worth the trouble. Except for my under eye bags, that is.

Not all of my customers were women. Every two (2) months, an older gentleman would buy one (1) to two (2) new watches.

Would I return to Avon? I am happy as a writer.

I would love to know your opinion:

What would you do with the under eye bags? Would you sue Avon?

Would you promote Avon?

Would you work for Avon after having read this story?

In closing, I am just sharing with you my life experience with Avon. The good and the bad. It is hard to find brochures these days. So, look for a brochure at the next trip to the hair salon and browse. Avon ladies work hard. They rely on you to pick up that brochure.

I’m still mad at you Avon. Maybe if you read this you can tell me what to do. It is not funny looking beat up. Maybe you can provide me with a lifetime’s worth of liquid foundation that I can apply with my fingertips?

product review
1

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.