Blush logo

Anastasia Glow Kit Who?

£5 Highlighter Palette Knocks It Out of the Park

By Charlotte MarshallPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'll admit, I can be a bit of a makeup snob. I keep up with all the latest products and won't hesitate to blow some serious cash on high end beauty items. So you can imagine my complete lack of faith in a £5 highlighter palette that is trying to be the £41 Anastasia Glow Kits. But sometimes you can find those hidden gems at the drugstore, which just fills me with joy and excitement.

This little palette came from PS; yes, the makeup range stocked at Primark, which, to be honest, isn't known for luxury prices or quality. I picked it up after a quick swatch and decided it didn't look too horrendous, and if I don't like it, it can just go to my sister or housemate.

The packaging has a beautiful and trendy marble look on the outside with a rose gold interior. The pan size is more than decent and the colours are comparable to the Anastasia Beverly Hills Sundipped Glow Kit, but in my opinion, much more wearable and 'everyday'.

Cut to the next day when I'm heading to work—nothing fancy, so I decided to try it out. I mixed the shades Desert and Glimmer (the top two shades) and applied it as normal with my Morphe M330 brush to my cheekbones, cupid's bow, and nose. To my absolute delight it looked amazing, the glow was subtle, and just that: a glow. It wasn't chunky (looking at you, Sleek Solstice) but just gave a beautiful luminosity to my skin that looked so gorgeous and natural. It lasted throughout my 10 hour shift at work and got many compliments from my co-workers. After a few more days of testing each shade and mixing them together, that was it; I was hooked. It outshined my Balm Mary LouManizer, which was my usual fix.

So, I have a new favourite daytime highlighter, but would it live up to my 'shine bright like a diamond' mentality when I'm going on a night out? The answer, unsurprisingly, is yes. With a little MAC Fix+ I was able to build this up beautifully, and it was still not chunky or glittery (my pet peeves with most highlighters) and lasted all night.

Desert (top left) is a beautiful almost-white neutral highlighter that works perfectly for very fair skin and is amazing to mix with to lighten any other highlighter, which is what I am most likely to do. Glimmer (top right) is a stunning champagne colour with golden tones throughout; this is definitely my go to shade by itself for everyday wear and mixed with Desert for a more intense glow for occasions. Eden (bottom left) is a lovely pink shade that I use whenever I have a cool toned eye look or don't feel like being a glimmering golden goddess; paired with Desert it becomes gorgeously frosty. Firefly (bottom right) is a true gold shade and looks striking on deep/dark skin tones; points to PS for inclusivity. I personally use Firefly with a wet brush as an eyeshadow.

I cannot recommend this product enough. £5 for 4 beautiful highlighters— you honestly can't go wrong. I would recommend checking the palette if you choose to pick it up. Many of the palettes I saw on display had been broken or weren't properly sealed. This has not been put down and has been the only highlighter palette I have touched for the past 4 months. All of my other highlighters pale in comparison to this palette and now I can't imagine my makeup bag without it.

Guess I'll have to test out more PS products.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Charlotte Marshall

I'm a 21 year old Accounting and Management student, avid Latin dancer and hopeless romantic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.