Blush logo

11 MU Brands That Have The Best Designed Packaging

Eyeshadow Palette Edition

By Heeta JoshiPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Disclaimer: I think that the reason eyeshadow palettes are the most popularly collected makeup product is because of the packaging. Nothing in the makeup market can draw your attention the way a pretty looking palette will, for most people, that is. Or that is what I think especially for those people who like collecting eyeshadow palettes. Granted, I could be wrong.

Nonetheless, art is attractive, and eyeshadow palettes carry with them an easily noticeable piece of art. So here are my eleven subjectively chosen brands (across the board) that I think have or have had the best-designed palettes on the market. I am exemplifying five palettes from each brand that I love in terms of design. This is not about quality (which really is dependant on your skin type), quantity, or price point. It's simply about brands that put out good looking palettes consistently.

Here are some reasons why I may not incorporate a brand you think has the best packaging for you

  1. I don't know about the brand at all or as much.
  2. The brand doesn't even have five eyeshadow palettes to begin with (ex: Fenty Beauty).
  3. I do not support the brand (ex: Lime Crime, cannot get behind anyone who thinks it is okay to dress like a Nazi).
  4. The brand does not have a variety of palette design (ex: I love the Eye-Conic Marc Jacobs palettes, and it makes total sense for that to remain exactly the same for years to come. But I can not just come up with five examples out of thin air).
  5. I do not like five eyeshadow palette designs from the brand even if they may have many to choose from (ex: Too Faced, Urban Decay, Natasha Denona, Violet Voss).
  6. Or if the brand has stuck to one formula/theme without branching out. I do think Juvia’s Place exemplifies this to an extent, that is why while I love all their palette designs, I cannot put the brand on this list. More about this in another post.

Note: I have provided links for every single eyeshadow palette but one for your visual perusal and that’s it. I am not promoting anything or anyone, for you to spend your time or money on. Click the links at your own discretion.

With that, let's get started in alphabetical order:

1. Anastasia Beverly Hills

Packaging Theme: Subdued yet loud (?)

Artist

Lavish

Prism

Self-Made

Shadow Couture

Bleh: Soft-Glam. I get the idea and all the power to those who adore neutral palettes. But this is the palette where velvet for ABH should've ended. This palette would've been more amazing with a sleeker golden faux metal packaging with a 1920s-1930s edge to it. I do think Norvina is pretty on its own merit but is boring for the brand.

2. Cargo

Packaging Theme: Travel Chic

Essentials

Suited To A Tea

Wanderlust

You Had Me At Aloha

Bleh: I honestly don't have one.

3. Ciate London

Note: Generally I hate having eyes designed on a palette but CL not only makes it work me, but I also love how it looks.

Theme: Great Gatsby (?)

Fearless

Fun

Pretty

Pretty, Fun, & Fearless

Olivia Palremo Smouldering

Bleh: Again don't have one.

4. Colourpop

Theme: Mature Cute (contrast with Too Faced's Life's A Festival)

Fortune

Full Moon

Perception

Walk The Vine

Zodiac

Bleh: They have too many beige packagings, not bothered too look one up. The vintage Pony palette could've been better.

5. Kat Von D

Theme: Goth

Chrysalids: N/A

Innerstellar

Mi Vida Loca

Saint and Sinner: Impractical but beautiful and unique

Shade and Light

Bleh: I Am Divine, scares me somehow.

Note: I do not support the brand, but you have to give credit where it's due. Many of their palettes are attractive.

6. M.A.C

Theme: Neutral

Basic Bitch

Classic Cutie

Patrick Star Floral Realness

Power Hungry

Rockin' Rebel

Bleh: I think they could've done Aaliyah one better.

7. Shop Hush

Theme: Dupes with Prettier Packaging

Aphrodite

Arabesque

Mystics

Olivia

Vice

Bleh: Atlantic. Beautiful background design, underwhelming title design.

8. Tarte

Theme: Exotic Print, Geometry, and Normal Cuteness

Believe In Yourself

Clay Play Eye And Cheek

Happy Girls Shine Brighter

In Bloom

Rainforest Of The Sea

9. The Balm

Theme: 1950s-1960s

Balm Jovi Rockstar Face Palette

Foiled Again Eye Shadow

Ladies Galleria Custom Palette

Meet Matt(e) Trimony

Nude Dude

10. YesStyle Misc Asian Makeup

Theme: N/A

Banila Co - Fall In Seoul Eye Shadow Palette (#03 Bukchon Gorgeous)

Etude House - Play Color Eyes (Cherry Blossom Edition)

Hera - Secret Party Eye Palette

Malibu Beauty - Planet Color Palette (#01 For Blue Base Skin)

STYLE71 - Jewelry Blending Eye Palette

11. Zoeva

Theme: Electic

This one is a winner because I literally like every single palette design on their website till date. Unfortunately my favourite, Sweet Glamour, is a pastel palette, therefore not WOC friendly and thus I decided not to get it. Waiting on my Aristo palette eagerly (review post in the future on that one, stay tuned).

Honorable Mentions:

Juvia's Place

Blush Tribe

Clionadh Cosmetics

Certifeye Cosmetics

Conclusion:

Packaging is important to me. At a Sephora or luxury price point, that is, $50+ CAD, I am most certainly not willing to compromise on packaging just because they have good quality. At that price both should be on point, there’s is no excuse whatsoever. These are the 11 brands that I have come across (eight of which I have used or have owned palettes from, and found the quality to be stellar, but also where I found them to have some of the most beautiful packagings ever. The only reason I’m disappointed with ABH is because their marketing on Subculture as MR’s sister palette was dishonest, to say the least, and they are going way too overboard with the carpet. And I refuse to buy a palette that is not going to look like a $60 palette two to three months down the road.

Adios Mon Ami. Thank You For Reading. Share If You Can. Follow Me On IG.

XOXO!

Till next time.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Heeta Joshi

#Freespirit #Humanity #Objectivity #Peace #Love

IG: heeta.joshi

Twitter: joshi.heeta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.