Beat logo

Valentine's Day Sucks

The perfect playlist

By Julia WyldPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3

Only a few days away now, the day couples look forward to. I used to be one of them. Lovesick, constantly sending lovey messages. Being on the receiving end of the nickname babe, lover, or even my boo. You're the couple everyone envy's because you are obsessed with your partner. Wrapped in each other's arms or kissing every five seconds. I would have been one of those people, until you broke up with me a few nights ago. I pop in my ear buds and sprawl out on my bed. Scrolling trough my phone I select the playlist, Anti-Valentine's Day. One I had created a while back that comes in handy occasionally. 1. Prisoner (feat. Dua Lipa) by Miley Cyrus plays first.

I can't stop thinking about you and how you have this hold on me. It only increases with the upcoming doomsday. I roll over and see the clock on my nightstand. The time reads 8:00pm. Great this is the first Friday night when I didn't have plans. Staring at the ceiling and contemplate my life choices.

My room door fly's open and in walks four of my best friends. "Shit!" Slips out of my mouth sitting up alarmed as my earbuds fall out. "Jade, what are you doing? Laying on your bed in sweats?" Jasmine asks. Brooklyn chimes in, "Girl it's Friday night! We need to hit the town. We need drinks." "Guys, you do realize Derek and I broke up a few nights ago," I say looking them over realizing they are dressed up to go out. When this happens, they don't take no for an answer. Trust me, it's happened before.

Before I can even say I don't want to go anywhere, Jasmine is in my closet picking out something for me to wear. Britney takes my phone and flips on my Bluetooth speaker. Syncing together, the next song comes on. 2. Tonight I'm Getting Over You -- Remix by Carly Rae Jepsen and Nicki Minaj.

Cassie sits me in front of my vanity and starts working on my hair and makeup. I already start feeling better with my friends. Done pampering, the next song plays as they hand me my clothes to change. 3. Cry About It Later -- Katy Perry, the vibes get me ready for the night.

We are going to forget all the boys. I can't help but sway my hips as we finish getting ready. My friends are done helping me get ready as we all leave my place. Getting in the car we decide to plug in my phone to play the playlist. The next song on my list is 4. Madison Beer -- Good In Goodbye. We can't help and sing along extra loud to this song.

We arrive at our friend Danielle's club who happens to also be the one playing the music. The best part of the night is my friends have already sent her my playlist. Once inside the next song plays and it's one of the favorites, 5. You Don't Own Me -Say Grace Ft. G-Eazy.

We arrive at the bar and take a few shots to loosen up. We are laughing and it's time to dance. I have finally started to feel better. This is exactly what I needed, wonderful music and my friends. Our bodies swayed on the dance floor as the next song came on, 6. Little Mix -- Sweet Melody. This song is always best to dance to.

Moving without a care in the world the next two songs played without stopping. 7. SAYGRACE -- Hell Of A Girl.

Followed by 8. Little Mix ~ Power ft. Stormzy, At one point we were singing at the top of our lungs to this song.

The best part of the whole night is Danielle decided we could do some karaoke. Since it was my playlist, I knew all the words to the songs. We all went to the front of club and the next song came through the speakers, 9. Gabby Barrett -- I Hope.

If karma had a say in the events happening in my life, in walked Derek. My heart sank. Only with him is another girl. Singing this song with him walking in only made it better. We sang so much louder and meant every word of it.

The song ends and we go to the bar. Laughing because the night just got better. Waiting for the drinks I didn't even notice Derek walked over to us. "Hey Jade." I ignore him and just wait for my drink to keep singing on stage. Unfortunately, he keeps talking, "I didn't know you were going to be here and I wouldn't have brought Ashley if I had known you were going to be here." I let the music speak for me as the next song came on, 10. Madison Beer -- BOYSHIT.

I let the song speak volumes for me. The bartender dropped the shots in front of us. I took two of them and made my way to the stage. Not even acknowledging Derek or Ashley, I glance over to Danielle, and she plays the next song, 11. Little Mix -- Shout Out to My Ex. The song poured out of me as I danced on the stage with my girlfriends.

I loved the fact they were here together. It made everything better. We jumped off-stage, and they playlist rolled into the next and final song, 12. Madison Beer - Hurts Like Hell Feat. Offset

By far this is the best Friday night ever and the ultimate Anti-Valentine's Day song list.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Julia Wyld

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.