Beat logo

Top Patriotic Country Songs

Only Music That Pays Tribute to the US of A

By Kayla SimasPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Country music has always been known to show its patriotism. Whether in times of war or peace, country music has shown American pride for decades, with songs that proudly proclaim the beauty and benefits of the United States of America.

Take a look at the songs that made this list of country patriotic songs.

"God Bless the USA" was written in 1983. However, it didn't become a hit until Desert Storm in 1991, when radio stations played the song to boost patriotism. The song even re-entered country charts in 2001, after 9/11.

Proudest line: "I gladly stand up, next to you and defend her still today / 'Cause there ain't no doubt I love this land / God bless the USA."

Aaron Tippin wrote this song post-9/11, following his other patriotic songs.

Proudest line: "I pledge allegiance to this flag / And if that bothers you, well, that's too bad / But if you got pride and you're proud you do / Hye, we could use some more like me and you."

This song is from the perspective of a fallen American soldier, buried at Arlington National Cemetery. This one, in particular, gives an eerie feel to it with Trace Adkins' voice.

Proudest lines: "I'm proud to be on this peaceful piece of property / I'm on sacred ground, and I'm in the best of company / I'm thankful for those thankful for the things I've done / I can rest in peace, I'm one of the chosen ones / I made it to Arlington."

Chely Wright has said many times in interviews the inspiration for this song came about when a woman flipped her off in traffic, cursing the singer for her U.S. Marines bumper sticker.

Proudest lines: "Yes, I do have questions / I get to ask them because I'm free / That's why I've got a sticker for the U.S. Marines / On the bumper of my SUV."

Toby Keith is one of the most outspoken and dedicated supporters of the United States Troops. In this song, he sings it from the point of view of the soldier.

Proudest line: "I will always do my duty, no matter what the price / I've counted up the cost, I know the sacrifice / Oh, and I don't wanna die for you, but if dying's asked of me / I'll bear that cross with honor, 'cause freedom don't come free."

Anyone who was alive during the worst terrorist attack on American soil remembers just where they were on that September day. Ask anyone. Alan Jackson wrote a song to highlight how after that one day, a lot changed and it opened American's eyes.

Proudest line: "Did you burst out with pride for the red, white, and blue / And the heroes who died just doing what they do?"

"Only in America" was released before September 11; however, it became a patriotic pick-me-up preceding the attacks.

Proudest lines: "Only in America / Where we dream in red, white and blue / Only in America / Where we dream as big as we want to."

"Home" speaks to the challenges Americans have as a country, and leaves listeners feeling inspired and optimistic.

Proudest lines: "Brave got it call it brave to chase that dream across the sea / Names then they sign their names for something they believe."

"If You're Reading This" is a tribute to fallen soldiers, in the point of view of one in a letter, meant to be read only if the solider didn't return home.

Proudest lines: "So lay me down / In that open field out on the edge of town / And know my soul / Is where my momma always prayed / That it would go."

This song was written days after the September 11 attacks and shows Toby Keith's anger afterwards. Written partly as a tribute to his war veteran father, the song sums up the feelings a lot of Americans had after that single day. It became a rallying cry for our troops. The song has received a lot of criticism but portrays Keith's "very patriotic" side.

Proudest lines: "Hey Uncle Sam, put your name at the top of his list / And the Statue of Liberty started shaking her fist / And the eagle will fly man, it's gonna be hell / When you hear mother freedom start ringing her bell / And it feels like the whole wide world is raining down on you / Brought to you courtesy of the red, white and blue."

Darryl Worley told Great American Country the song came about when he believed a lot of Americans were settling back into a pre-war mindset and decided to write a song to remind American's why our troops are fighting.

Proudest line: "I've been there with the soldiers / Who've gone away to war / And you can bet that they remember / Just what they're fighting for"

list
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Simas

Kayla Simas is a teacher and journalist from Staten Island, New York. She enjoys writing, traveling and country music turned up loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.