Beat logo

Things To Do In Denver Whene You're Dead - Some Warren Zevon

A Playlist Of Some Wonderful Warren Zevon Songs

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
4
Warren Zevon by His Former Wife

Introduction

I first was vaguely exposed to Warren Zevon when someone mentioned the song "Excitable Boy" but I really didn't bother with him til I was working for Yorkshire Water in Bradford and I picked up a "Best Of " album and the song "Play It All Night Long" hit me like a flying house brick:

"Grandad's pissed his pants again,

He Don't Give A Damn

Brother Billy's Got Both Guns Drawn

He Ain't Been Right Since Vietnam"

If you have heard one Warren Zevon song it will be "Werewolves of London" which was voted as having the best opening line of any song on The Ken Bruce Show on BBC Radio 2.

"I saw a werewolf with a Chinese menu in his hand

Walking through the streets of SoHo in the rain

He was looking for a place called Lee Ho Fooks

For to get a big dish of beef chow mein"

Lee Ho Fooks was the first Chinese Restaurant in the UK to be awarded a Michelin Star, a little more about it here.

Warren sadly died in 2003 and I will share is Wikipedia entry so you can read a little about him.

So here are a few of my favorite Warren Zevon songs with notes on why have included them. There will be many that I miss but I hope that you can take some time and investigate his work further.

"Werewolves Of London" from "Excitable Boy"

This has to be the opener, if this doesn't hook you, you must be deaf.

"Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead" from "Mr Bad Example"

I love the title of this song and the words and music do not disappoint. The title was used for a 1995 American crime film directed by Gary Fleder and written by Scott Rosenberg with an ensemble cast featuring Andy García, Christopher Lloyd, Treat Williams, Steve Buscemi and Christopher Walken.

"Play It All Night Long" from "Bad Luck Streak in Dancing School"

This was the song that made me a Warren Zevon, relentless, and it takes no enemies in a horrible world of pain and anger. It is still as powerful for me today as when I first heard the song.

"Mr. Bad Example" title track

For me, this sums up Warren Zevon, set to a polka rhythm apparently. So darkly funny. A complete life of a not-very-nice man pulling every scam you can think of. Warren didn't do this but you could make a film from this song.

"Excitable Boy" title track

This sounds like a pleasant pop song until you listen to the words. I think my friend Dharrsheena will absolutely love it. It follows the path of a vicious psychopath excused because he's an excitable boy.

"Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner" from "Excitable Boy"

Another amazing relentless song about a supernatural mercenary who keeps on killing after he is murdered by the CIA until he gets his revenge on the man who blew his head off. This was another song on the initial compilation that I bought.

"Poor Poor Pitiful Me" from "Warren Zevon"

Dark humor about a failed suicide attempt. This was covered by Linda Ronstadt too.

"Lawyers, Guns and Money" from "Excitable Boy"

I have the T-Shirt for this tongue-in-cheek tale of a young American man's adventures in Cold War-era Latin America. Another of Warren's songs that should being a smile to your face.

"Keep Me in Your Heart" from "The Wind"

"The Wind" was recorded shortly after he was diagnosed with inoperable pleural mesothelioma (a cancer of the lining of the lung), and was released just two weeks before his death on September 7, 2003. This is a beautiful, poignant song that has been covered by many people and is a fitting final song for this playlist. Alfie Boe's cove is below and you can hear my attempt on my YouTube channel here.

song reviewsplaylistalbum reviews90s music80s music70s music
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Warren Zevon's music is so beautiful. You have a great list of song's here. My favorite one is "Keep Me In Your Heart For A While".

  • Michele Hardyabout a year ago

    I love Warren Zevon! Not enough people give this man the love he deserves. Love your line-up and pick of songs here! "Carmelita" and "Desperados Under the Eaves" are my faves.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.