Beat logo

The Geek Girl's 110 Love Songs

Or if I were Delilah's co-host for a day

By Katie JohnsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I always thought it would be cool to be a radio DJ, a little bit of talking and playing music all day.

Somewhere between my late childhood or early teens, I remember listening to the radio in the evenings and hearing Delilah. Does anybody else remember her? My local radio station must have quit airing her show, so I was surprised to learn that 1) she’s still around, and 2) she’s actually syndicated all throughout the country. If you don’t remember or don’t know Delilah, the radio personality, her show usually runs from 7pm to midnight. With romance as one of her themes throughout the night, she would take calls on air from listeners wanting to dedicate a song to a significant other.

While my ignorance shows I wasn’t a die-hard fan, I never forgot her voice after all these years: velvety, friendly, honeyed, though not insencere, and bubbly whenever she’d talk to the callers about the one on their heart and mind.

Inspired by Delilah, I’m imagining playing DJ on a show like hers, and any number of these tracks might be something I’d queue up on a typical night when I have my choice. I’ll let you decide how much of a coincidence it is that my own list is as bubbly, sappy, and cheesy as her. (Deep down, I’m a hopeless romantic myself.) With over seven and a half hours of music total on this list, I'm sure I've got her covered for a couple of nights or so!

While it is not quite an even split, the list is divided into two general categories based on how I feel a song might fit a relationship. No strings attached to it either because I’m pretty sure in reality I could only play what was meant for radio and not the odd deep cuts, lesser-known stuff, or musical soundtracks. Nonetheless, I hope there's a song for every heart in love.

(If your love life is in a slump this Valentine's Day, I have a playlist for that too: https://vocal.media/beat/the-geek-girl-s-fifty-breakup-songs )

Budding bliss and desire songs

Songs relating to the flirts and infatuations, the hopes, fears, and all the other emotions had with crushes or new loves

  1. Energized- Def Leppard (a heiarchy wasn't intended with this list, but this is one of my top favorites by them)
  2. Hysteria- Def Leppard
  3. I Won’t Say (I’m in Love)- from the soundtrack to Disney’s Hercules
  4. I’m Not in Love- 10CC
  5. Man on Fire- Roger Taylor
  6. Dangerous- Def Leppard
  7. Back 2 Good- Matchbox Twenty
  8. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da- The Police
  9. Next to You- The Police
  10. What’s Love Got to Do With It- Tina Turner
  11. Can’t Fight This Feeling- REO Speedwagon
  12. Whatever You Do! Don’t!- Shania Twain
  13. Headlong- Queen
  14. Broken- Robert Downey Jr.
  15. I Want Love- Elton John
  16. Now- Def Leppard
  17. I Can’t Stop Thinking About You- Sting
  18. Infatuation- Rod Stewart
  19. Driven By You- Brian May
  20. All About You- Paul Stanley
  21. Tomorrow- KISS
  22. Crush- Jennifer Paige
  23. Boom Clap- Charli XCX
  24. Brokenhearted- Karmin
  25. Helpless- from the musical Hamilton
  26. Satisfied- from the musical Hamilton
  27. Think I’m in Love- Eddie Money
  28. Temptation- Billy Joel
  29. Summer Love- Justin Timberlake
  30. I Try- Macy Gray
  31. I Melt with You- Modern English
  32. Love is like an Itching in My Heart- The Supremes
  33. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me- Diana Ross and the Supremes with The Temptations
  34. Beautiful Stranger- Madonna
  35. Do You Believe in Love- Huey Lewis and the News
  36. So Into You- Atlanta Rhythm Section
  37. The Game of Love- Santana and Michelle Branch
  38. I’m Feeling You- Santana and Michelle Branch
  39. 8th World Wonder- Kimberley Locke
  40. Not a Bad Thing- Justin Timberlake
  41. What A Man Gotta Do- Jonas Brothers
  42. Be Still My Beating Heart- Sting
  43. To Be With You- Mr. Big
  44. Lovebug- Jonas Brothers
  45. Hopelessly Devoted To You- Olivia Newton-John/Grease soundtrack
  46. Head over Heels- Tears for Fears
  47. Haven’t Met You Yet- Michel Buble
  48. Why don’t You & I- Santana and Chad Kroeger
  49. Love Is On Its Way- Jonas Brothers

Deeper love songs

A step above the last category, for the flings turned commitments; songs for the long-time partners, long-term relationships, maybe even for proposals, weddings, or anniversaries

  1. Again- Lenny Kravitz
  2. Invincible- Def Leppard
  3. I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing- Aerosmith
  4. The Longest Time- Billy Joel
  5. (I Can’t Help) Falling in Love with You- UB40
  6. Can’t Help Falling in Love- Elvis Presley
  7. I’ll Be There for You- Bon Jovi
  8. All for you- Sister Hazel
  9. Your Song- Elton John
  10. When I See You Smile- Bad English
  11. True- Spandau Ballet
  12. Invisible- Jonas Brothers
  13. Never Tear Us Apart- INXS
  14. I Wanna Love You Forever- Jessica Simpson
  15. I Will Wait- Hootie & the Blowfish
  16. Truly Madly Deeply- Savage Garden
  17. Truly Madly Deeply- UK Club Mix- Cascada
  18. Kiss from a Rose- Seal
  19. My Heart Will Go On- Celine Dion
  20. I’ll Never Break Your Heart- Backstreet Boys
  21. More than a Feeling- NSYNC (A slower, acapella cover of Boston)
  22. Angel of Mine- Monica
  23. Lips of an Angel- Hinder
  24. From This Moment On- Shania Twain, Bryan White
  25. I Won’t Leave You Lonely- Shania Twain
  26. Breathe- Faith Hill
  27. (I’ve Had) The Time of My Life- Bill Medley, Jennifer Warnes
  28. Have I Told You Lately- Rod Stewart
  29. Just the Way You Are- Billy Joel
  30. I’ll Be- Edwin McCain
  31. Something About the Way You Look Tonight- Elton John
  32. In Charge of My Heart- The Cross (Roger Taylor’s band outside of Queen)
  33. I Can’t Get You Out of My Head- The Cross
  34. The Way You Love Me- Faith Hill
  35. I Knew I Loved You- Savage Garden
  36. Back At One- Brian McKnight
  37. All My Life- K-Ci & JoJo
  38. As I Lay Me Down- Sophie B. Hawkins
  39. Head over Feet- Alanis Morissette
  40. Bleeding Love- Leona Lewis
  41. This Will Be (An Everlasting Love)- Natalie Cole
  42. Angel- Aerosmith
  43. I Love You Always Forever- Donna Lewis
  44. As Long as You Love Me- Backstreet Boys
  45. Sweet Kisses- Jessica Simpson
  46. (God Must Have Spent) A Little More Time on You- Nsync
  47. Never Gonna Give You Up- Rick Astley
  48. Twilight Time- The Platters
  49. Can You Feel the Love Tonight- Elton John
  50. Forever- KISS
  51. I Love You 5 Times- The Darkness
  52. Friday I’m in Love- The Cure
  53. Second to None- Paul Stanley (I’d like to dance to this one at my wedding)
  54. Burning Love- Wynonna on the Lilo & Stitch soundtrack
  55. You Sang to Me- Marc Anthony
  56. You’re Still the One- Shania Twain
  57. The Night is Still Young- Billy Joel
  58. Just Can’t Wait- Eric Carr (former KISS drummer, passed away in ‘91; this track is from his tribute album)
  59. Far Away-Nickelback
  60. I Was Born to Love You- Queen
  61. Faithfully- Journey

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Katie Johns

Random blogger and published short story writer-

https://kjohns323.wixsite.com/kjswritersblock/portfolio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.