Beat logo

Taking it in Stride

A Playlist of my Erratic Music Tastes to Get You Though Your Workout!

By Alesia BrooksPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Taking it in Stride
Photo by Francisco Moreno on Unsplash

Well, we’re eight months into a global pandemic, and while the idea of things going back to normal feels unattainable, and possibly even terrifying, it’s going to happen one day! Until then, Americans have had to be creative in their ways of maintaining a small sense of sanity. For many it’s been discovering creative outlets or reconnecting with friends through video chats, but for me it’s been going back to basics - running!

I was an all-star runner in junior and senior high school, dominating cross-country and the 2,000 meter track event. In hopes to go collegiate, I filled all my spare time with conditioning as well as flexibility and strength training. Every waking moment of my life was dedicated to my sport, and I was sure I was going to make it worth my while. But we can’t always predict the future.

I ended up in the worst possible situation at 16-years-old: injured and losing my strength. I was at a track meet when I felt my ankle give out beneath me, sending me face first into the gravel. A torn peroneal tendon and damaged ankle joint left my podiatrist with only one conclusion - I could never run competitively again. Refusing to believe him, I continued to push. But even after nine months of intensive physical therapy and painfully hard-work, I had to accept that my glory days had come to an abrupt and tragic end.

Now, at 22, I still suffer from occasional pain and discomfort in my ankle, and while I always loved running, life got the best of me and time became a valuable and rare commodity. But now, in a post-COVID world, where yoga classes are cancelled and family gatherings are over Zoom, I find myself with more time than I know what to do with. So I figured: why not give it another shot! Starting slow, I’m not the runner I used to be, and I won’t ever be that way again, but I’ve found a new joy in it. It’s just as freeing as I remember. Putting my headphones in and forgetting the problems of the world just sounds too good to pass up with everything going on.

But now the important question: what soundtrack goes with this new found freedom? My music taste has always been a bit… erratic, so to speak. But while I run, I have a specific style in mind. The most energizing and upbeat playlist is all I need to keep my feet from failing me(again).

There are some songs on the playlist that, in my humble opinion, are an absolute necessity! I don't workout without having these motivators at my disposal!

Parasite Eve - Bring Me The Horizon

Starting out strong! This song is NOT for everyone, I will be the first to admit. But when I’m struggling to keep up and I hear the whisper of “this is a war,” I nearly jump with pure adrenaline! This song brings me joy in all the weirdest ways. The subject is definitely applicable to, given the pandemic and human survival themes. Bring Me The Horizon is never a band to be slept on, but this song especially gets me going when I need a boost in my workout!

how will i rest in peace if i’m buried by a highway - KennyHoopla

This song is a feel-good, keep you going BOP! This alternative rock hit is one of the songs I vibe most with during my workouts. I usually have it towards the end of my playlist for cool-down, but it really works in any area! It’s got rhythm, good vibes, and, in my opinion, the best lyric in this list with “she’s gonna cut my head off, but I don’t care,” because, if I’m being honest, it’s a mood.

Icky Thump - The White Stripes

With a name like that, where can you go wrong? Add in the electric bagpipes and, boy, we’ve got ourselves a winner! While the band is no longer active, this song stands the test of time! Released in 2007, this alternative rock banger is a motivator times ten! The rhythm keeps me going and Jack White sings “White Americans, what, nothing better to do? Why don't you kick yourself out? You're an immigrant too,” I *swoon*.

Taylor Swift - Cruel Summer

A playlist without a T-Swift song might as well be a war crime. I’ve been a Taylor fan since her Fearless album made me feel mad at a boy I hadn’t even dated yet! Taylor has mastered the pop genre and continues to release the most infectious singles. Cruel Summer is no exception, it’s lyrical perfection and produces nothing but positive feelings. This song is an anomaly in my workout playlist, but it still fits so well with keeping me at my most motivated and energetic self. Nothing like being in the middle of a gym screaming “I love you, ain’t that the worst thing you ever heard?

Teenagers - My Chemical Romance

Another cog in the murder machine.” Another angsty 2007 hit. I wasn’t actually allowed to listen to this song as a child, so as a full-grown adult, I now find myself screaming these lyrics in my car alone. But when I need a boost mid-workout to keep me going, this song brings all I could ever want. This is my song choice for days when I max out. Laying in a field after doing sprints, I turn this song on and I’m back on my feet in a matter of seconds!

playlist
4

About the Creator

Alesia Brooks

Disney blogger with a dark side

24-year-old writer and photographer

Follow along with my misadventures - IG: @livinglikealesia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.