Beat logo

Spook-tacular Tunes: the Perfect Halloween Playlist

A hauntingly funky playlist with a mix of old, new, and deceased artists who will rock your party from beyond the grave. Enjoy!

By J. R. LowePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 17 min read
Like
Spook-tacular Tunes: the Perfect Halloween Playlist
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

So, you've organised your costume, made plans with friends, prepared the candy, and delicately arranged a series of intricate decorations. Great! Now what? The playlist of course! No event or holiday season would be complete without an appropriately themed playlist of songs.

There's an art to making the perfect playlist though, and it can actually take quite a long time to select the most appropriate songs that fit the vibe you're going for. But fear not (save that for the event), for in the paragraphs below you'll find a 23 song playlist of some of the most bangin' Halloween-themed songs ever to walk this earth.

If you're just wanting to cut to the chase, then you can skip straight to the YouTube Music playlist - Spook-tacular Tunes. But, if you're not quite convinced that this playlist is right for you, then stick around for a quick summary of each one of these eerily catchy songs and the artists who created them. Keep an eye out for my favourite (spooky) lyrics and some fun facts in between as well!

With a mix of the old and the new, this 83 minute playlist has a little something for everyone, and will keep your guests entertained during some terrifically terrifying celebrations.

Track #1. ghost town (feat. Sasha Alex Sloan) - blackbear

Beginning a playlist with a strong start is important, which is why blackbear's ominously catchy song ghost town was selected here. Not only are the lyrics highly appropriate for the Halloween theme, but the sinister choir sounds in the background add a perfect layer of spookiness to the song that really sets the scene.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Your heart is a ghost town, my head is a nightmare

The more that I reach out, the more that you're not there

Track #2. bury a friend - billie eilish

You could pick just about any of Billie's songs for a Halloween playlist thanks to her soft voice, eerie notes and often gothic-like lyrics. But this one really takes the cake. This song was one of seven singles from Eilish's debut studio album, titled When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? Which, if you ask me, makes basically the entire album suitable for a Halloween theme. But bury a friend is still the best choice thanks to it's relatively fast beat and clear references to horror. And if that doesn't convince you, then check our the horror-themed music video for the song.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Step on the glass, staple your tongue (Ahh)

Bury a friend, try to wake up (Ahh-ha)

Cannibal class, killin' the son (Ahh)

Bury a friend, I wanna end me

😈Fun fact: Billie Eilish suffers from Tourette Syndrome - something that would have held a lot of people back in their career, but not Eilish.

Track #3. Thriller - Michael Jackson

A fundamental rule for a playlist is the inclusion of classics. Not everyone is up with the latest artists and songs, so in order to appeal to a broader audience, you really need a few oldies in the mix. Michael Jackson's Thriller is the perfect fit for this for obvious reasons.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Night creatures call

And the dead start to walk in their masquerade

There's no escapin' the jaws of the alien this time (they're open wide)

This is the end of your life, oh

They're out to get you

There's demons closing in on every side

They will possess you

Unless you change that number on your dial

😈Fun fact: Jackson was a huge Spiderman fan, and even went so far as to try to buy Marvel so that he could cast himself as the web-shooting hero. Unfortunately, it didn't work out and Toby Maguire ended up playing the role instead. If I'm completely honest, it was probably for the best. I can't really picture Michael Jackson as Spiderman myself...

Track #4. Evil Spider - BENEE

On the theme of spiders, next up on the list is BENEE's Evil Spider. She's a relatively new artist from New Zealand with a unique style, and often unusual lyrics, which makes her a great candidate for this playlist. Evil Spider fits the playlist perfectly, especially when you listen to some of the lyrics.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I am a spider

Creep up behind ya

Promise not to bite

Unless you're hurting me

Track #5. Alive - Sia

This one is sure to keep your party alive (pun intended). I may be a little biased here because I love supporting Australian artists, but Sia is definitely one of my top 3 favourite artists of all time. There's just something about the rawness of her voice that makes her stand out to me. That, and she's also done an incredible amount of behind the scenes work in the music industry that has earnt the respect of many chart-topping artists.

The beautifully drawn out notes when Sia sings Alive are almost reminiscent of James Whale's 1931 Frankenstein when Victor proclaims "It's Alive!" as he brings his monster to life. That makes this song a perfect addition to the playlist if you ask me.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I had a one-way ticket to a place where all the demons go

Where the wind don't change

And nothing in the ground can ever grow

No hope, just lies

And you're taught to cry into your pillow

But I survived

😈Fun fact: Did you know Sia wrote Beyoncé's Pretty Hurts, Rihanna's Diamonds, and many other chart-topping songs?

😈Fun fact: Sia is an incredibly generous person and even went so far as to pay for peoples' groceries simply because she could. What a gem!

Track #6. The Reaper (feat. Amy Shark) - The Chainsmokers

How could you not include a song on a Halloween playlist that's literally called The Reaper? It's a great song with a catchy chorus which is sure to reanimate the party vibe, making it a fantastic quarter-way song for the playlist.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I'm in my house in the Hills with the Reaper

And I wonder if he knows what I've done

I've got the keys and I'm going off the deep end

Doesn't hurt when you're doing it for fun

As I alluded to earlier, supporting Australian artists is also something I strive to do whenever I can and Amy Shark ticks that box here.

Track #7. Werewolf (feat. Yoshi Flower) - Quinn XCII

I absolutely love this song. There's something about it that just never gets old. With a catchy chorus, Halloween-appropriate phrases, and incredible musical talent which is candy to your ears, this song will have you and your guests howling the lyrics, I can guarantee it.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I need to be careful

You're moonlight, I'm werewolf

And when you come full

Everything gets teared up

I'm straight from this graveyard

You linger on brave hearts

I howl at the moon

Don't know what to do

Track #8. Won't Bite (feat. Smino) - Doja Cat

This track is more of a playful song to mix up the vibe a little. You can't have everything being serious and eerie, we're here to have fun after all. I also think it flows on quite nicely from the previous song - werewolf, won't bite (or will it?). Doja Cat's music is sure to make a great addition to most playlists, and it's hard not to fall in love with her catchy beats and often humorous lyrics. Take a listen to this one and you'll soon see why it's been included.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Closer to me baby, I won't bite

You look so tasty, but I won't bite

Really I'm such a good kitty, don't put up fights

But if you trick me, baby, it gon' get sticky

Track #9. Leviathan (feat. Sam Martin) - G-Eazy

Building on the rap/hip-hip theme, next up we have G-Eazy's Leviathan. This is a great mix of rap and pop which will be sure to pump up your party. I have to say, I wasn't a big fan after I heard what G-Eazy had done to Halsey, so I'm not going to talk him up here. Still, this is a great Halloween song, I will admit. I think Sam Martin deserves at least some of the credit for this one too though.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Your friends tried to dip, but you here, you're not trying to go

If you ain't ready for it all, good, let me know

I looked her in her eyes, she stared back all silent

When I told her I'm the devil, I was smiling

Well, at least G-Eazy was able to admit he's an evil %#$& in his song...

Track #10. Superstition - Stevie Wonder

Oh you didn't think we were only going to have one classic on this playlist did you? Good, because no playlist would be complete without some Stevie Wonder. How could you NOT add Superstitious to this playlist? Its title, party vibes and smooth beats make it a great mid-way song to keep the haunting party pumping.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Very superstitious,

Nothin' more to say,

Very superstitious,

The devil's on his way,

Thirteen month old baby,

Broke the lookin' glass,

Seven years of bad luck,

Good things in your past

😈Fun fact: Stevie Wonder was largely responsible for making Martin Luther King Jr. Day into a public holiday, with his song Happy Birthday playing a big part in this.

Track #11. Dark Horse (feat. Juicy J) - Katy Perry

In an interview with MTV, Perry allegedly said that her original plan was to create a song with a “witchy, spell-y kind of black magic-y” concept. Well, I'd say she certainly achieved that with Dark Horse. Given that it spent 22 weeks in the top 10 Billboard in the US, this song is bound to be a hit for many listeners.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

So you wanna play with magic

Boy, you should know whatcha falling for

Baby do you dare to do this

'Cause I'm coming atcha like a dark horse

😈Fun fact: Katy Perry was 2018's highest paid female artist thanks to concerts, album sales and her position as a judge on American Idol.

Track #12. COFFIN (feat. Eminem) - Jessie Reyez

This song is a little dark and, if I'm completely honest, I was a little unsure whether or not to include it. But, ultimately, I decided it was a worthy addition. After all, Halloween is about being 'dark' and creepy, right?

So why COFFIN? Well, aside from providing a beautiful display of Jessie Reyez's unique vocals, and Eminem's intricate rap skills, the song has some haunting lines that make it an exceptional addition to this playlist.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

The devil wakes up in my (head, head)

He told me that you hate me

And you blame me

And you said that you wish that you were dead

So I write a little note out

Suicidal love roulette

Track #13. Flatline - Two Feet

I accidentally stumbled across this song a few months ago while procrastinating on YouTube and I have to say, it was a great find. With an alternative/emo vibe, a catchy rhythm and lyrics about death, this song is a perfect addition which is sure to liven up the party (ironic, I know).

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

One time, you were just a fake friend

Now I, think about ya all the time

White eyes, you kill all of my friends

You kill all of my friends

Track #14. Sucker for Pain (feat. Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors) - Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons

I can just about guarantee that someone will be dressing up as a character from the Suicide Squad for Halloween, and so it's absolutely essential that you have a song from the movie album on this list. Sucker for Pain was the most obvious choice given its disturbing lyrics and sinister disposition. There are a LOT of artists featuring in this song so it’s bound to resonate with a lot of people as well.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I'm devoted to destruction

A full dosage of detrimental dysfunction

I'm dying slow but the devil tryna rush me

See I'm a fool for pain, I'm a dummy

Might cut my head off right after I slit my throat

Tongue kiss a shark, got jealous bitches up in the boat

Eating peanut butter and jelly fishes on toast

And if I get stung I get stoked, might choke

Track #15. me and ur ghost - blackbear

This is the second blackbear song on this list, and for good reason. His alternative/indie/rap genre and dark lyrics make his music a chilling addition to the playlist, and me and ur ghost won't let you down. In fact, I'd even go so far as to say that this is one of my favourites.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I can't even kick it with the homies that we both know

I can't even fuck with any places that we used to go

Now all I got is just the memories of us, though

Burn it all down to the ground with your ghost

😈Fun fact: Blackbear actually co-wrote Justin Bieber's hit song Boyfriend, alongside Mike Posner who he later went on to form a duo with called Mansionz.

Track #16. Monsters (feat. Demi Lovato & blackbear) - All Time Low

Ok I swear this is the last blackbear song you'll see on this list. As the playlist was meant to be as diverse as possible, I tried to avoid having repeated artists. To be fair, he only features for a few lines. This song drifts closer to the punk-rock genre than some of the others but still does an excellent job of relating to the spooky theme. I mean just look at the album artwork. If that doesn't scream 'Halloween music' I don't know what does.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

I'm wondering why do all the monsters come out at night?

Why do we sleep where we want to hide?

Why do I run back to you

Like I don't mind if you fuck up my life?

Track #17. Zombie - The Cranberries

Remember how I said a playlist has to have some classics in the mix? Well, this one is about as classic as they come and with the word 'zombie' in the chorus, it's the golden track on this Halloween playlist.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

In your head, in your head

Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie

What's in your head, in your head

Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie, oh

Track #18. JEKYLL & HIDE - Bishop Briggs

This song certainly caught me off guard the first time I heard it. It begins with a rather slow-paced, almost choir-like rendition, and then abruptly transitions to a harsh rock-theme. But don't let that scare you off, this song is about as catchy as they come and, with Bishop's references to the famous Jekyll and Hyde, she hits the scary theme right on the mark.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Just to raise you up

From the grave of your mistakes

Pleasure is a kind of pain

Have I had enough?

'Cause I keep wrestlin' with snakes

Sick of all the slippery stuff

Track #19. Dracula - Bea Miller

This song wasn't originally included, but after it started playing in my car while I was driving home the other day, I just HAD to update the playlist. How could I not include one of Bea Miller's catchiest, goth, Pop-Rock jams which is literally named after the most famous vampire to date? Just look at those *Chef's Kiss* spooky lyrics.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Not Cinderella, still got my shoes

I like the animal

The supernatural

Maybe I'm crazy but

If you were Dracula (Hey)

I'd be letting you take that bite

Hot and hazardous (Hey)

Like playing with dynamite

Track #20. Disturbia - Rihanna

Much like the previous song, Rihanna's Disturbia was also not included on the original list of songs (disgraceful, I know). I think the scariest part of this song is knowing that it was released 14 years ago and that it's actually one of my "classics" on this playlist. But if that's not enough to chill your bones, then check out the song's infectious beat and eerie lyrics.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

It's a thief in the night to come and grab you (uh-huh)

It can creep up inside you and consume you (uh-huh)

A disease of the mind, it can control you (uh-huh)

It's too close for comfort, ohh

😈Fun fact: After her song Umbrella (which was originally written for Britney Spears) became a hit, Rihanna had to ban people from bringing umbrellas to her shows due to the heightened security risk.

Track #21. GRRRLS - AViVA

This song arguably has the least Halloween-related lyrics of the entire playlist, but that doesn't mean it's not a great fit. The eerie tune, gothic attitude and sheer ominosity of the song make it an excellent contribution to the spooky, malevolent theme.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Soulless and stealing what they dare

Hold your deck to your chest

Faceless, nobody is your friend

Make it, take it, they won't share

Track #22. Sweet but Psycho - Ava Max

We're almost at the end of the playlist, so it's crucial that we keep the music quality up for the home stretch. Thank you Ava Max, for being a reliable source of quality music. I have to say, when I first heard this song back in 2019, I wasn't a huge fan. But, overtime, it grew on me and eventually the lyrics became permanently engraved in my mind. It does make a great addition to this playlist thanks to its sinister lyrics which definitely have a murder-thriller vibe to them, and of course, the album which this single eventually became a part of was called Heaven & Hell, which really was just the icing on the cake for me.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

See, someone said, "Don't drink her potions

She'll kiss your neck with no emotion

When she's mean, you know you love it

'Cause she tastes so sweet, don't sugarcoat it"

😈Fun fact: Ava Max's signature hairstyle, with one side cut short and the other long, was actually a result of an almost baking mis-hap. She was allegedly cutting her hair at home, and then remembered she had cookies in the oven. After running downstairs to turn the oven off, she looked in the mirror and decided she actually liked the 'half-finished' look.

Track #23. Highway to Hell - AC/DC

One of the most important rules for any playlist is to always go out with a classic. For me, AC/DC's Highway to Hell is the perfect end-of-playlist song for this spooky set of music. Plus, as I've said many times already, supporting Australian artists is a huge bonus, so including one of the biggest Australian bands of all time was essential. As for fitting the Halloween theme, well, just take a look at the lyrics below.

Favourite (spooky) lyrics:

Hey satan

Payin' my dues

Playin' in a rockin' band

Hey mumma

Look at me

I'm on the way to the promised land

I'm on the highway to hell

Highway to hell

😈Fun fact: Researchers are allegedly using the hit AC/DC song Thunderstruck to increase the efficacy of chemotherapy in cancer patients. Apparently, playing the song creates just the right vibrations to increase the delivery of chemotherapy drugs.

So what are you waiting for? Go give it a listen!

I hope you enjoyed these Halloween-themed songs. But if you've decided that they just aren't for you, that's ok! Music taste is subjective after all, and this playlist is just one of many. If you're going to take one thing from this article though, then in the wise words of Harry Styles, don't forget to:

Happy Spook-tober! 🎃💀😈

playlist
Like

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.