Beat logo

Songs Against Sanity

Top Ten Maniacal Songs of Madness

By Lightning BoltPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
17
The Madhouse, by Francisco Goya

WARNING: If you are offended by either profanity or irrational babbling, you should not enter here. You have been duly warned......

So. 🤷‍♂️

People are fucking crazy.

We all know that, right? We're all pretty fucked-up ourselves. God knows I am!

So I have a screwy idea. I say we all take a few minutes right now (along with our imaginary friends) to celebrate our kookiness! Shall we? 😁

In fact, let's 🎼🎵 SING🎶 about it!

To set the tone for this erratic playlist, I suppose we should start with a novelty song from a one-hit-wonder. Way back in 1966, this dude who called himself Napoleon performed what is, perhaps, the definitive Ode to Instability.

Here it is! Laugh along with...

#10) They're Coming To Take Me Away, Ha-Haa!

A radio DJ Legend named Doctor Demento often played that song. ☝

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

WARNING: We're going to jump around through time like we're completely out of control! So from that ☝ past silliness, we switch next to something both more dramatic and more current. 👇 This next tune is pure poison, but oh so tasty! People say run, don't walk away! It's just that dingy and delicious!

EXTRA WARNING: Sugar addiction can cause weight gain, tooth decay, dry skin, slow healing of cuts, increased fatigue, and impotence... so, you know: 🤷‍♂️ yummy, yummy! 👅 Eat up!

Enjoy!!!

#9) Sweet but Psycho, by Ava Max

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Next up: a song that proves the tried and true adage...

If you think you're just being paranoid, you're dead wrong.

Everyone IS out to get you!!!

It's cliche, ☝ but it's true!

So we all know the moonwalker who sang Thriller. Right? But who the hell is Rockwell? Do you remember this guy? Because I was alive in 1984, but I sure don't remember this guy! Of course, I do have memory problems. Did I mention that already?

This video is just so cool... on so many levels. Think about it: the guy who's paranoid about people watching him records himself singing in the shower for everyone to watch! No, wait! On second thought, don't think about that for too long! Because it will blow your mind! 💥

👀 #8) Somebody's Watching Me, by Rockwell featuring Michael Jackson 👀👀👀

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Our next artist wasn't just a little bit fruity, he was also flamboyant. There has never been a singer quite like Freddy Mercury, God Rest His Soul. Obviously, this next track isn't on par with Bohemian Rhapsody, or We Will Rock You, or Fat Bottomed Girls. You might not even remember this song! {I sure didn't-- but I have memory issues. Did I mention that already?} This obscure Freddy performance is absolutely perfect for this list, however, because it would be completely cockeyed to include something this esoteric over Crazy Little Thing Called Love!

Besides- this video is fucking weird. 😁👍

Check it! 👇

#7) I'm Going Slightly Mad, by Queen

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

So, I ask you...

What's even more daft and delightful than a tattooed psycho freak with diamonds by the boatload?

Obviously, the answer is "a tattooed psycho freak with diamonds by the boatload who is driving a friggin TANK!"

I'm so envious. 😑

#6) Psycho, by Post Malone featuring TY Dolla $ign

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

The Internet seems indecisive about what this next bit of bonkers is called! 😮 Crazy, right? I thought it was 'Insane in the Membrane' and a Google search with that mucosa will result in finding this song... but apparently, it's actually entitled 'Insane in the Brain.' Go figure!

So take your pick! Whether it's a brain or a membrane that's at the root of the problem, the solution is to get the chair and get me goin' like General Electric! ⚡⚡⚡ Don't make me wreck shit, hectic.

Don't you know I'm loco?

#5) Insane in the Membrane, by Cypress Hill

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

There are several songs by several different artists that are all entitled Madness. (See my Honorable Mentions list at the bottom. 👇) I couldn't figure out which selection to include here! For a while, I was so indecisive, it was like I was of two minds! Or maybe three minds.

Four tops.

But then I finally saw the light. And I finally realized ...

What you need.

M-m-m-m-m-m-m-M-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-❤❤❤

#4) Madness, by Muse

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

You'll never guess what happened now! The #3 spot is a TIE. 😎

WARNING: The "Ten" in the subtitle at the top of this list is more like a rough estimate than an actual 10. 😂🤣

EXTRA WARNING: All the warnings listed here will likely come too late to do you any good whatsoever. 🤷‍♂️

Look. 👀 I can't help it. Pink Floyd didn't record just one iconic song about being moonstruck, there were two (three...four...five)! This next musical distraction starts out just so soothing, so mellow, and then it transitions majestically into a glorification of alienation! It's an affirmation, really, for those who lucky few are gifted with hallucinations!

So polish up your idiosyncrasies, Sparkles, and...

#3.5) Shine on, Crazy Diamond!

Pink Floyd really seemed to know a helluva lot about going stark raving nuts. Right? Well, as neurotic as Crazy Diamond is ☝, we really need to go all the way to the Dark Side of the Moon for the totally fucked up shit! Prepare, fellow zanies, to suffer some real mental impairments!

WARNING: You probably won't actually suffer real neuron damage by listening to this. Sorry about that.

EXTRA WARNING: If you do suffer actual damage from anything I've included here and intend to sue me, you'll get nothing. I'm really fucking poor. It would be a serious waste of your time hiring a lawyer. Just sayin. {Please tip! 🤷‍♂️}

I often wonder if I have serious...

#3) Brain Damage/Eclipse, by Pink Floyd

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Next, I'm serving up a couple of maniacal selections from Alice Cooper's second album.

This shit is eighteen kinds of awesome!

Alice teamed up with Elton John's longtime legendary lyricist Bernie Taupin to collaborate on this 'concept album.' From the Inside is based on a stay Alice had at a New York asylum, where he was treated for alcoholism.

I'm an OG horror writer. I've seen Alice Cooper in concert. I vividly remember owning this album Back in the Day, but I discovered something that I didn't know when I was researching it for this article! {Or maybe I did know it at one time and just forgot? I have memory issues. Did I mention that already?} It turns out that every single character mentioned on this record is based on a real person that Alice met in the asylum!

~~🩸✂🩸 True Love Kills!~ 🪓🩸

Unless you are a hardcore Alice Cooper fan, chances are you've never heard about this Bonny-and-Clyde-wannabe couple that I'm tickled to introduce now. Pay close attention to the lurid lyrics of this next song, a duet sung by...

#2.7) Millie and Billie

Again-- we've got a TIE here for the #2 spot. And again: I don't give a shit I lied about this list only having 10 songs. 😁 I can't be trusted around other dingbats. They bring out the inability to count in me. 🤣😂🤣 Clearly.

But it's an absolute necessity to include this diddy--> the climactic track of From the Inside. Mentally disturbed friends can't help crooning this song together. Try it, if you don't believe me. I double-dog dare you to listen to this next hymn with your wackiest boos, preferably while you're all either drunk, or high, or at least off your Thorazine. I'll bet my fine ass you end up singing along. It's just too catchy not to!

Raise the roof off this bitch for the...

#2) Inmates (We're All Crazy!), by Alice Cooper

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Okay! So we've made it all the way up to #1, and guess what? It's another ridiculous TIE! How did that happen? This Top "Ten" list is so apeshit absurd!

Well, as awesome as Alice Cooper is, when it comes to crazy, no artist is more committed than our next performer. 🤣 I'll offer proof of that momentarily, but first, he can't wait to go off the rails.....

#1.5) Crazy Train 🚂, by Ozzy Osbourne

Unceremoniously fired from Black Sabbath in 1979 because of substance abuse, Ozzy became a solo artist, pairing up with the legendary guitarist Randy Rhodes. For my Monopoly money, the album they produced together, Diary of a Madman is the ultimate trip down lunacy lane.

But wait! 🛑 Before we lock up the top spot on this list, here's what I'm talking about 👇 when I contend Ozzy clearly is the wackiest of the wacked. It takes all of 26 seconds to prove how 🦇 batty he is! 😂🤣😅😁👍

You know... even if he's lying and did not bite the head off a bat, just the fact he's willing to claim he bit the head off a bat means he's at least slightly deranged! Am I right?

Need still more proof he's fucking nuts?

✔👇

So yeah, there is plenty of evidence that Ozzy has lost his marbles. And his second solo record? OMG! Diary of a Madman is the most unglued album of all time! You Can't Kill Rock and Roll is a freaking masterpiece! Flying High Again is perhaps the definitive addict (and pothead) anthem! Every song in this collection is inspired! But for the top slot on this list of mine, the winner has gotta be the title cut!

Experience now the frenzied mess that is the...

#1)- Diary of a Madman, by Ozzy Osbourne

That's it, fellow loony tunes!

I hope you enjoyed the show!

If instead, you thought I totally screwed this up, well, fuck! What do you expect from me? It's not like I'm an expert or some shit. I'm just an absurd old asshole with a Spotify account. Just sayin!

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Honorable Mentions (all of which are included for you in the freaky playlist that follows!!!😁👍)...

The Ballad of Dwight Fry, another classic by Alice Cooper ("LET ME OUT OF HERE!")--- Mind Playing Tricks on Me by Geto Boys --- Madman by Ugly Kid Joe --- Madness by Ruelle --- Madness by Elton John --- Madman Across the Water by Elton John ❤--- Coming Undone by Korn--- ⚡⚡Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment ⚡by the Ramones --- I Wanna Be Sedated by the Ramones--- Where's my Mind by the Pixies❤ 🧚‍♀️ --- 🌑 Dark Globe by Syd Barrett --- Man on the Edge by Iron Maiden --- Psycho by Red Velvet (I don't even understand what she's saying but I love it so much!) --- Psycho Killer by Talking Heads❤ --- Basket Case by Green Day --- Crazy Bitch by Buckcherry ❤⚡❤⚡ -- plus assorted unannounced folly from Pink Floyd!

Grab yourself a phantasmagoria or two, connect your Bluetooth to your gramophone, and crank this playlist up!

Sing like you're a cuckoo bird! Dance like you're deranged!!!

WARNING: Some of these songs are profane.

You're welcome! 👇😁😁😁👍

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

Finally, here are a few more Crazy Songs that are just too unbearable for me to include, even on a playlist this berserk.

In Two Minds by Art Bears -- Google it if you dare. 🥺

Insane by Eminem <-- I love this song, but I excluded it because it's extremely obscene and I respect people's mutherfucking sensibilities. 😁👍 You're welcome!

Mommy, Can I Go Out and Kill Tonight by the Misfits; The Frayed Ends of Sanity by Metallica; and Loco by Coal Chamber-- all too headbangy for me. 🤷‍♂️ (... and don't say I'm a hater! Korn and Iron Maiden both made the cut!)

The entire Operation Mindcrime album by Queensryche should also be represented here. There's no justice in this world.

And now we're done! The End! Try the veal! Thank you for coming! You may remove the electrodes now! Over and out! Good day, good night, good luck, and goodbye! Don't let the door hit you in the ass! 😁

⚡⚡_______________________⚡⚡⚡

If you enjoyed my playlist☝, consider checking out this wacked-out premise of mine. Don't you just find yourself wondering all the time...

What If the Beatles Hadn't Been British?

⚡🤣👍

I appreciate all LIKES. If you are inclined to subscribe, tip, or make a pledge to me, I would be very grateful… and I pledge in return to do my best to entertain!

Thank you kindly for your support!

_______________Bolt

[email protected]

playlist
17

About the Creator

Lightning Bolt

From out of the blue, _Bolt writes horror galore, Sci-Fi, Superheroes & strange Poetry + MEME-ing MADNESS X12.

Vocal needs a Comedy Community!

Proud member of the Vocal Social Society on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    I learned a few good songs from you. I had never heard of Muse or Ava Max. And I love Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper and Ozzy. I never went to a concert (born in '88), but I have several albums of a all three!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    some really good stuff.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.