Beat logo

My Top 10 Favourite Songs Of All Time.

A Tribute to Diversions.

By Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Another thing I like to do to divert my mind from the real world when it gets too intense is drowning my heart and soul in music.

Especially with the vast selection of music out there on streaming platforms like Spotify, I tend to rummage through songs with the attention span of a four-year-old most of the time. In spite of this, I still savour moments with my favourite tunes archived in my best memories.

So, my Top Ten favourite songs of all time are:

1. "The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill" by Lauryn Hill;

I remember the first time I heard this song; my friend Ruby Ann, back then in secondary school (boarding school) had a walkman which was contraband and she would let me listen to it especially when I was ill and had to stay in conveniently avoiding chores and chapel. She introduced me to Lauryn Hill and some other cool artists. Sigh! Good times! Oh to be young! I was about 14 years old I think and she was 16 years old too at the time. You can check out Ruby Ann Gyang's music by clicking on her name or HERE. It's pretty cool stuff.

2. "A Song For You" by Donnie Hathaway;

So when I first started making music in 2007, I hung out quite a bit with Jeremiah Gyang in his home studio and we listened to tonnes of music with the rest of the guys. I remember when he said "Christine have you heard this song?" and then played it. I also remember the silence in the room after which lasted a few minutes and every time I want to put my mind in a place of pure nothing I listen to this song because it means everything to me and nothing at the same time. And this is probably because I am still trying to connect a life experience to it but haven't found or had it yet. However, it has refused to leave my mind all these years.

By the way. Jeremiah Gyang makes amazing music so check it out HERE.

3. "Heal The Pain" by George Michael:

I can't remember who broke my heart at the time this song came out but this song made me feel so much better.

Thank you George Michael for helping me forget that dude's name.

4. "The Reason" by Hoobastank:

My twin brother, Jude introduced me to Hoobastank when we were 13 years old and this one song by them stuck like a leech in my memory because Doug Robb is so cute!

I also like this song is because the one guy I might still have a crush on plays it on a boom box in front of my flat, like in Love, Actually except that scene takes place in my dreams.

5. "It is Finished" by Throneroom;

My elder brother, McAnthony wrote this song and it was performed by his band.

When our daddy was passing each of us heard this song continually in our heads for days and daddy loves it too.

Tony's beautiful wife, Tongryang, owns the amazing female vocals in this song.

6. "Graves into Gardens" By Elevation Music, Brandon Lake:

When my daddy passed this year, I heard this song every time I thought about him for days and imagined a big party being thrown for him in Heaven with angels singing a way better version of it to him. I still feel him sitting beside me whenever any version of this song plays.

7."Two" by Sleeping At Last;

Being an enneagram type two personality, I immediately warmed up to this song in August 2019 and in some strange way it was the beginning of my finally learning to understand myself.

8. "Complicated Melody" by India Arie;

I was in 100 level at the University of Jos when I first heard this song and in a pretty cool relationship which I sabotaged quite effortlessly due to my restlessness in spirit and an insatiable curiosity for everything else life had to offer including pursuing my dreams in music and seeing the world.

I think everyone involved is better off for it and I have this song to remind me of that :)

9. "A Song For Mama" by Boyz II Men:

This is the only song that is near perfect enough for my super mummy.

Mummy, You know I love you always! Thanks for being awesome!

10. "When The Going Gets Tough, The Tough Gets Going" By Billy Ocean:

So when mum and dad finally moved back to Nigeria from the UK with us kids in the 90s, they took their big record player and a large stack of records including Top of the pops with them and this one song was by far my favourite of the collection. I vaguely remember Boy George's "Do you really wanna love me" as being one of the songs I liked as well.

I hope you enjoyed my playlist and if you didn't that's ok too. Different strokes for different folk right?

playlist
1

About the Creator

Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh

Bio:

Cathy Ben-Ameh has published two books; "The Impact of Music Streaming on The Music Industry: Case study-Spotify" and "'13- A Chapbook of 13 Short Poems". https://linktr.ee/cathybenameh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.