Beat logo

My Top 10 Eurovision 2022 Songs

Cathy's Music Box.

By Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1

It is 0:14 on May 15, 2022, and I haven't been able to stop playing Kalush Orchestra's "Stefania" since the Eurovision telecast ended over an hour ago. I love the everything about this song!

Before this year, I have never paid much attention to the Eurovision song contest but, for some reason this year is different and I was interested because the hype about it on social media somehow slapped me from different directions in my general browsing radius.

My Top favourite songs performed in Eurovision 2022 (Asides my obvious favourite) are:

1.Konstrakta - In Corpore Sano

I immediately embraced the wierdness of the artist and the stage performance. It was different, it mentioned Meghan Markle and I was immediately sold because my love for the underdog inclines me towards favouring the Duchess of Sussex.

Beneath the song’s dark and ominous beat, the lyrics in question translate as: “What could be the secret of Meghan Markle’s healthy hair? What could it be? I think it’s all about deep hydration. They say our skin and hair show it all.”

There is plenty of hidden meaning in the track that may not be immediately obvious to those hearing it for the first time.

The song has been interpreted as a much sharper critique within Serbia, where the lack of health insurance remains a difficult issue.

Konstrakta has had personal experience of this too: her late bandmate Miroslav Ničić was uninsured and died from leukaemia, though she stresses the song is not directly based on that experience.

2. Sam Ryder - SPACE MAN

Sam Ryder's energy is just so infectous. I didn't know much about him until my housemate showed me one of his tik tok videos a few hours ago during the eurovision finals on TV and I immediately felt he ought to have won if...

Ryder wrote "Space Man" during the COVID-19 pandemic before he'd signed to Parlophone. It was one of the songs that got the labels interested.

"Spaceman" finds Sam Ryder imagining he was an astronaut. Though he has "a bird's eye view" of Earth and gets to "rub shoulders with the stars," the singer pines for what he's left behind. Floating on his own in the vacuum of space, Ryder is lonely and homesick. "There's nothing but space, man," he croons. "And I wanna go home."

Critics have compared "Space Man" to Elton John's music. Certainly its themes of isolation and an astronaut missing his loved ones back home bear comparisons to "Rocket Man." And I can totally relate.

3. Amanda Georgiadi Tenfjord - Die Together

This song strikes a sensitive chord in my heart strings .

Amanda said that the song was inspired in the moment of the breakup, when everything was chaotic and sad - but it can be interpreted as much more than just the end of a romance.

4. MARO - Saudade Saudade

I am drawn to this band and song because of how much they sound like the artise Sade.

The song utilises the famous Portuguese word “saudade”, which describes a feeling of deep melancholic longing that cannot be conveyed with words. In the song, MARO tries to describe her emotions, saying that “nothing says it in a better way” than “saudade”

5. Cornelia Jakobs - Hold Me Closer

This is another song I wish I wrote. I love Cornelia's voice and stage personality.

Anna Cornelia Jakobsdotter Samuelsson (born 9 March 1992), known professionally as Cornelia Jakobs, is a Swedish singer and songwriter. The daughter of the Poodles' singer Jakob Samuel, she first entered music by auditioning for Idol 2008, and received some media attention after being mocked by the judges.

Goes to show that even bad publicity can serve some good in the long run.

6.Sheldon Riley - Not The Same

The lyrics to this song immediately resonated with me. I also am drawn to his fashion sense and choices.

I imagine that hundreds of thousands of people are mesmerized by his voice like I am otherwise, he would not have won "The Voice" Australia.

7.Jérémie Makiese - Miss You

What endeared me to this song was the nostalgic boy band feeling it gave me- a hybrid of Justin Timberlake and Taio Cruz (My opinion).

Makiese rose to fame in his homeland, Belgium, as a winner of The Voice, but avid football fans had seen him on the pitch beforehand.

8. STEFAN - Hope

It was the stage performance of this song that made me look for the official video on Youtube. The lyrics are warm and all inclusive in a wholesome way. I also love the vocal delivery and melody.

As for the message of his song Hope, the lyrics are a universal rallying call amongst the chaos of the modern world to not lose faith. It is Stefan’s own hope that despite the bleak political times we live in, as well as the harsh reality of life in a pandemic, we all keep our hopes alive for a new day. Stefan puts it best:

'Hope’ is very simple. We all need it, and we have to stay strong and united. We all want peace in the world, and especially now we need hope for a better, brighter future.

(As quoted from www.dailystar.co.uk)

9. Alvan & Ahez - Fulenn

The groove on this song is giving!

The translated lyrics appeal to my poetic taste.

Alvan has been producing “chill electro world” music with the group ‘Alvan Project’ for a number of years. While Ahez, consisting of Marine Lavigne, Sterenn Diridollou and Sterenn Le Guillou have been performing since 2018 and their music intertwines traditional northern French singing with modern, Celtic influences

The song follows the story of a young woman who only feels free at night when she is accompanied by the devil by a bonfire. The song has two elements two it, an ultra-modern beat fused with traditional vocal stylings to produce a track described as “Celtic EDM”.

10.Nadir Rustamli - Fade To Black

Nadir Rustamli is the most recent winner of The Voice of Azerbaijan.

What do “Fade To Black” lyrics mean?

A person that lives in the memories of the past often sacrifices their future. No matter how comfortable it feels by living in the memories of ‘the good old days’, or the tragic past, it is important to face the future because those memories are gone. Emancipating yourself from the past allows you to welcome brighter days ahead — even when the road to freedom may appear challenging. Fears, insecurities and pitfalls of the past often hold you back, and can make you numb. Release yourself!

This message is what Nadir conveys through his Eurovision entry, singing: “We’re living in a memory, the present is the price I pay”. Although the song is essentially a sad love story, hope lies ahead.

-POSTED ONAPRIL 27, 2022BYDEBAN ADEREMI on wiwibloggs.com

I haven't been able to listen to music and discover new songs like I used to in years but, this year's Eurovision woke up that fire inside of me and I am really grateful for that.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh

Bio:

Cathy Ben-Ameh has published two books; "The Impact of Music Streaming on The Music Industry: Case study-Spotify" and "'13- A Chapbook of 13 Short Poems". https://linktr.ee/cathybenameh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.