Beat logo

Music To Get You Through Your Day

A selection of songs for the highs and for the lows

By PhilomenaPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
2

So much of what happens in our day is out of our control that it can honestly feel so frustrating. Our environments, the people around us and the events that occur can all cumulate in a massive implosion of suppressed emotion at the end of the day - something we definitely don't want. However, music can be the force that grounds us, allowing us to keep track of your emotions as we stride through life.

As they say, we can't control what happens to us, but we can choose how to react, and music can be a vital part of training ourselves to persevere through the drudgery of daily life. At different times in the day, we will inevitably need different things, sometimes we will need to be calmed, while other times, we must be energised to face whatever it is that we need to face.

In this article, I will take you through my day and the playlists that I use to keep myself afloat through the various stages of my waking moments. I will outline the music I use to first, ground myself when I wake up; uplift myself as I begin to work and finally, wind down as the day ends.

So read on, as my eyes slowly open…

AM:

GROUNDING:

This first playlist is for centering my mind before I officially begin my day. When I wake up from a bad dream or am anxious about the upcoming day, it’s these vibrations that calm me, and I say vibrations because some of them are just that, vibrations that somehow speak to some innate part of me and resonate throughout me - a language that we can all somehow understand.

I listen to these songs first thing in the morning as I begin to collect my thoughts and go about my morning rituals, whether I choose to meditate, or make a simple cup of coffee, or even watch the sun rise (because apparently, I’m up at an obscenely early time).

What does this playlist feature?

  • Chanting - The lilting sounds of mantras being recited that put you at ease. I listen to these mantras when I meditate, choosing specific ones for whichever quality I wish to work on, on a specific say, be it compassion, or wisdom or strength. In this playlist, I have chosen to feature Ani Choying Drolma and the Dalai Lama.
  • Folk Songs/ Throat Singing - There is something so soothing about the low frequencies of throat singing. Even though I may not be able to understand a word, the sonority of these sounds are simply enchanting, conveying emotions through the slight tremors and crackles.
  • Instrumentals - Many people listen to classical music as part of their grounding playlist and I am one of them. However, in this playlist, I have featured Joe Hisaishi, the mastermind behind the marvellous soundtracks of the Studio Ghibli films. His playful music can transform any dreary day, and this effect is doubly so because of the association I have with his music and the simplicity and joy of childhood.
  • Singing Bowl Music - This is one of those sounds that you just feel reverberating through your body. As you sit and listen, the frequencies seem to penetrate your thoughts. For me, these are one of the sounds that clear my minds so that I can focus on being mindful and present.
  • Whale Songs - The resonant and soulful frequencies of whale song is so soothing, as it is thought that your breathing unconsciously slows to match those of the whales. Whale song is so evocative and can be very evocative, especially for meditation sessions where you want to focus on your breath-work.

UPLIFTING:

After I leave home, the day gains momentum and I think I speak for all of us when I say, this is the time when we have to let go of the control for what happens in our day. On some days, everything is seamless. The bus seems to breeze through all the traffic lights, the trains aren’t delayed, the sun is shining and the birds are singing.

But what about the other days? Those times when you step into a puddle as soon as you leave home, your umbrella flips up, the bus is diverted, the trains are cancelled and perhaps most heartbreaking of all - the person in line ahead of you at the café takes the last chocolate croissant. These things are out of our control. The first playlist would perhaps give you the energy to not take these things personally, yes, but this next one, will hopefully allow you to roll with the punches and actually enjoy your day rather than just get through it - at least it does for me.

'Morning commute playlist' is a combination of Japanese ‘City Pop’ from the 80s and 70s which beautifully replicates the feeling of walking past a blossoming cherry tree in the springtime, classic 80s hits that get the heart pumping, upbeat K-indie songs and a little bit of Dolly.

While these songs may not agree with some people’s opinion of ‘zen’ in that they are not inherently 'calming', I think that they have the power to lift you out of the gloom of the daily grind and allow you to actually smell the roses , in other words, they'll put you in a zen state of mind.

CITY POP - for when you want to feel like you're walking through Tokyo in the springtime:

  1. Mariya Takeuchi - Plastic Love
  2. Anri - Windy Summer
  3. Yumi Matsutoya - Downtown Boy
  4. Yoko Oginome - Eat you Up
  5. Mai Yamane - Tasogare
  6. Junko Ohashi - Sweet Love
  7. Tatsuro Yamashita - Love Space
  8. Anri - Remember Summer Days

This genre of music needs no introduction, in fact, you may even be familiar with Miki Matsubara's iconic 'Stay with Me' that made its rounds on TikTok a few months ago. Japan City Pop sounds like an eclectic blend of disco, funk, electronic and jazz sounds, and emerged in Japan in the late 70s. Why is it getting so much attention now? Because it oozes youth and joy, and also, thanks to crate diggers in Japan, who have brought the music to an international stage. Here is an article that goes into more detail about this genre if you're interested.

Ever since that day I got hurt by love / I've been living a vampire life / While dancing nights away at trendy discos / I've learned this magic / I'm sorry!

- Mariya Takeuchi, Plastic Love

When listening to this playlist, I somehow feel transported back to a different time; like a teenager strolling through the city streets in the 80s, and yet also, like I'm riding a flying car in the future. One this is for sure - everything feels simpler. As somebody learning to play bass guitar, the jazz and funk aspects to this music are what drew me in, and I think that the richness of the layers within are perfect for the morning commute, when you just want to down everything out. It's just you in your own world.

INDIE - for when you want to feel like the main character:

  1. Monsune - OUTTA MY MIND
  2. Monsune - Cloud
  3. Summer Salt - Candy Wrappers
  4. Lim Kim - Rain
  5. IU - Jam Jam
  6. Kim Hyun Chul, ft. George - Drive
  7. HYUKOH - Panda Bear
  8. JYP, ft. Sunmi - When We Disco

It's the beat in these songs that feels alive, and while the subject matter these artists sing about isn't necessarily 'happy', all of these songs force you to recognise your own vitality. "You're alive!" they seem to scream, and in making you realise your own vitality, you've re-realised that you're the the main character in your own life.

Rain – I still don’t have any memories / Because I’m just a twenty year old girl / Rain – in my earphones / The singer is singing a song about rain / What is she so sad about? / Why is she about to cry?

- Lim Kim, Rain

CLASSIC 80S - for when you want to feel like you can punch through a wall:

  1. David Bowie, ft. Queen - Under Pressure
  2. Bon Jovi - Livin’ on a Prayer
  3. Katrina & The Waves - Walking on Sunshine
  4. Dolly Parton - 9 to 5
  5. Queen - I Want To Break Free

Who can listen to ‘Livin’ on a Prayer’ without feeling like they can take over the world? This part of the playlist will lift you up so you can charge ahead with your day - it's just as energising as your cup of coffee.

I even listen to these songs when I'm on one of my very infrequent morning jogs or bike rides - even when I feel like I've got nothing left to give, listening to these dredges up the last bit of energy that I didn't even know I had, so I can push that much harder and power through.

She says, we've got to hold on to what we've got / It doesn't make a difference if we make it or not / We've got each other and that's a lot for love / We'll give it a shot

- Bon Jovi, Livin' on a Prayer

Now adequately psyched up, I'm ready to begin work.

PM:

For me, the evenings are for winding down and reflecting, and this 'evening come down playlist' allows me to slough off the events of the day. All of the songs in the playlist have the ability to recreate that feeling of swaying gently in the kitchen as you make dinner, and also of staring at the stars from your window. Slightly melancholy, this playlist is the perfect conclusion to the day, a mix of K-indie, soft rock, contemporary soul and bedroom pop - just what I need to calm down any racing thoughts. This playlist is the one that provides a catharsis for me. These songs broach the subjects of love, youth, loss and nostalgia. Nothing can be more human.

I've chosen only a few highlights from this playlist - namely two bands that I think embody the feeling of late evening reflection.

HYUKOH

  1. Wi Ing Wi Ing
  2. Comes and Goes
  3. Gondry
  4. Bawling
  5. Tomboy

Between dawn's shadows/ Running lights / looking like a bonfire / Glow of the cool morning / over there at the bottom is our nest / Is this silence an opportunity / or my wish / or just my own thought?

- HYUKOH, Gondry

With his low, soulful, slightly husky voice, Oh Hyuk (HYUKOH's vocalist) creates a sound that is unique to only this band.Some songs grab you by the hand and take you on a stroll through a lamp-lit suburban street, while others stare at you from a distance as you both sit atop a rooftop. Truly calming, I would describe HYUKOH's music as therapeutic - eases the soul into a semblance of peace.

Cigarettes after Sex

  1. Apocalypse
  2. Sesame Syrup
  3. Sweet
  4. Cry

You leapt from crumbling bridges / Watching cityscapes turn to dust / Filming helicopters crashing in the ocean /From way above /Got the music in you baby, tell me why

- Cigarettes After Sex, Apocalypse

What is there to say about Cigarettes After Sex that hasn't been said in the comments section of one of their songs? Their music has a dreamy quality, heightened by the soft bass and vocals of their frontman Greg Gonzalez. These songs offer a glimpse into the intimacy of love and sensuality, their melodies simply hypnotising as you feel lulled into the comfort of Gonzalez's voice.

As Cal McIntyre writes for Notion:

The best way to listen to Cigarettes After Sex is by comparing it to catching up with an old friend in a softly-lit bar as they tell you their tales of love, including all the shi**y parts that come with it.

With these soft, expressive songs playing in my mind and feeling the embrace of their melodies, I head to bed ready to go to sleep.

ESCAPISM:

So you're at the end of your day, lying in bed, ready to fall asleep, but... sleep just isn't ready for you. You've tried everything - counting sheep (that never seems to work), splashing cold water on your face (that just makes you feel more awake, even drinking a glass of warm milk - but nothing is working.

Allow me to introduce you to some sounds that will let you drift off to sleep with ease or, if you're in the middle of your day, spice up any mundane activity, while also transporting you to a completely different time, place and even life.

DRIVING THROUGH THE CITY AT NIGHT:

This is one of the many videos produced by the channel dreamy sound on Youtube, and it is literally a six hour long video of somebody driving through a glittering city in the dark of night as the rain pours down. For whatever reason, it is also the one thing that gets me to drop off to sleep on nights when sleep seems impossible.

There is something so calming about the low hum of the car engine and the pitter-patter of raindrops on the car roof - it takes me back to the days I would nod off in the backseat of the car as my parents drove us back home after a day out.

FANTASY VILLAGE AMBIENCE:

Ever pretended to be a Medieval baker making their way through the town to start making fresh bread while the rain pours? Well, now you can live that fantasy without having to deal with the bad dental hygiene and rats.

Watch the nighttime slowly lift over this lantern-lit street as you either do work, drift off, read or do whatever activity it is you do to relax.

ROYAL LIBRARY AMBIENCE:

Pretend like you're a noble scholar as you read or study while watching this video. With the warmth of the lights and the sound of the fire crackling in the background, this is the ultimate ambiance for any studious endeavours, or as you take a nap (because somehow the best naps are the ones you sneak in while you're supposed to be doing something else).

This is one video that will get you in a state of bliss as you take in the cosiness.

Now, with these playlists I leave you. I hope that this collection of sounds will guide you through your day, just like they do for me. Use them whenever you're to be having a tough time, or feel like you need a little extra push, or just feel like having a soundtrack to your life.

From the moment you wake up, to the moment you drift off, these songs will accompany you.

***

Thank you so much for reading - please do have a listen to these playlists! If you enjoyed this article, please consider leaving a heart - it is greatly appreciated.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Philomena

Always learning :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.