Beat logo

Music that motivates

Songs to lift depression and help you work out while being quarantined.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Soul Train dancers moving their feet to the beat

During the Covid-19 pandemic I have been unable to walk outside as I used to but I continue to get my five to seven miles in each day. It has been estimated that a brisk 20 minute walk for most adults is 2000 steps and equals about a mile. 10 city blocks equal a mile, and 200 steps is one block. Based on this I calculate my walking through the house and try to exercise in 20 minute intervals, To keep from being depressed I listen to music that motivates me. I don't have a specific play list because my preferences change frequently. If I am driving and hear a great song on the radio I will come home and look it up on Youtube and dance to it. My husband does playlists on Facebook and sometimes I glean from him. I basically just dance free style and have a ball, or do specific exercise moves.

Sitting on the couch for hours, staying in bed longer and over eating have all been tempting but I found a way to fight it. Instead of gaining weight I have lost six pounds during the past month and and plan to lose even more. Following is a list of the songs that I have used within the last 48 hours. First is Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars. This is really a song that excites me and gets me moving. It has the sound of 1970's R&B that I grew up with. I love music where I ca understand the lyrics, they stick in my mind and I sing along. The video to this is really slick and if you are not in the mood to dance this will surely change your mind. I can dance to it over and over again. it gets my mind off of the coronavirus and that is a good thing.

The next song on my list is Got to give it up by Marvin Gaye. This is a 10 minute version and I play it back to back which gives me my 20 minute workout. I highly recommend this song because the beat is just right, not too fast or too slow. I enjoy dancing down my hallway as if I am in a Soul Train line. Sometimes I attempt the dance moves that the Soul Train dancers used. It's fun and lifts my mood and makes up for the fact that I cannot walk on the trails or through the neighborhood as I used to. According to Wikipedia, Marvin Gaye wrote Got to give it up because his producers told him he must record a disco song and I am so glad they did.

Kool and the gang started out with funk tunes like Jungle Boogie, Hollywood's Swinging, and Funky Stuff. They later switched to more mainstream music like Fresh and Celebrate Good Times. Both of these tunes have great beats and are easy to exercise to. You can march in place, do leg kicks, or the twist. The fun part is enjoying yourself and doing it your own way in the privacy of your own home.

All of these songs are timeless and can be enjoyed by many generations. This is why I love them so much.

Freak Out by Chic was a big disco hit and it is still popular on oldies radio stations today. This is a song where everyone used to go wild to, free styling, doing the bump or whatever turned us on.

The Roll Bounce song has got to have the best video ever. I am amazed at how these young people danced on roller skates without falling. They did spins, squats, jumps and turns with ease and did not miss a beat. There were several groups who danced in sync and it is amazing to watch. The music to Roll Bounce comes from the Chic song Good Times. This is also the same beat you hear in Queen's Another one bites the dust. Nile Rogers of Chic has said in interviews that he appreciates so many artists using his music. I love stepping back and forth to this song because the tune seems just perfect.

These are the songs that I enjoy and I encourage you to listen to them. Naturally you can find your own special sounds based on your personal preference. Music really does soothe the soul and makes you happy. Doctors agree that Proverbs 17:22 confirms medical science as a merry joyful heart does good just like medicine. Find the songs that make you happy or take you back down memory lane. It's a great way to stay in shape as well as lift your mood. Don't be a couch potato during the pandemic, find your special tunes and move your feet to the beat. Dance,. exercise, or dancercise to the sounds that motivate you and reap the rewards.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.