Beat logo

Mood Music really does work

The type of songs you listen too may help you succeed in your endeavors.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Player piano

According to the Peterson Family Foundation, Music therapy is beneficial in reducing physical discomfort by reducing heart rate, improving respiration, lowering blood pressure, relaxing muscle tension, and increasing cardiac output. Music therapy has also been said to reduce stress and help with mental health behavioral problems. There is an episode of The Twilight Zone from 1962 titled A piano in the house, where the music actually transforms individuals from their usual persona. There is an old fashioned player piano's that plays by itself when a roll of music is inserted. Whoever is standing near will notice their mood change depending on what tune is playing.

Different songs have an array of effects as a gruff antique shop owner became romantic and wistful. A stone-faced butler suddenly begins laughing. A wife admitted she had hated her husband for years and the bully who set it all up to find out everyone's true feelings became a crying little boy who was afraid of being punished because he was naughty. In the real world, music might not elicit such extreme mood swings but it can indeed make a vast difference in your attitude and lead to some great things. I am sharing five songs that have made a difference in my life. The first is One Nation Under A Groove by Funkadelic.

One Saturday, earlier in this year my husband was making a music playlist as I was writing articles. When he played Parliament's One Nation Under a Groove, I began to sing along. I told my spouse that I was changing the line, "Here's your chance to dance your way, out of your constrictions" to "Here's my chance to write my way out of my constrictions." I pulled up the song on my computer and put on my earbuds. I listened to it over and over and became so inspired that one article I wrote that afternoon title "Oh What A Night" (Frankie Valley and the Four Seasons), won second place in the Vocal Behind the Beat Challenge. My second motivating song is "Uptown Funk" by Bruno Mars.

Bruno Mars crooning "If you don't believe me just watch" has really motivated me in a situation that I thought was hopeless. Stress caused me to pull at my hair in a spot on the back of my head until the hair in that area was shorter than the rest. Over a 5 year period of time, my husband would cut my hair completely bald and I would attempt to grow it out long again but I was unsuccessful 7 times. This was really discouraging. On the 8th time I began telling myself and my spouse that this was it and began singing "If you don't believe me just watch." This became my mantra and I am happy to say that I finally did grow my hair out and it's still growing.

Summer 2018 and 2019 hair difference.

The third song that has been an inspiration in my getting things done is "My Life" by Billy Joel. I listened to this many times when I wrote a newspaper column. I had been told I received hate mail and criticism. This song gave me the courage to keep writing my views and not be intimidated by the naysayers.

I have found many times that I need motivation when there is a lot of house cleaning to do and Billy Joel has been my inspiration in this as well. Uptown Girl is my forth choice. This is one of the best songs to lift the mood and get you going. I love the catchy beat and really enjoyed the music video with Christy Brinkley. I can turn this song on and sing and dance as I wash dishes, vacuum, and do the laundry. I find it very inspiring.

My fifth and final song is Top of the World by The Carpenters. This is a wonderful song to sing around the house or in the car. Karen Carpenter's voice is so soothing. I listen to this song whenever I need a pick me up and it always puts me in a good mood. I have all 5 of these songs on a playlist that my laptop made for me. Whenever I listen to music on the computer it automatically adds the songs to a playlist and these 5 just happened to be listed one behind the other. I listen to them any time I need the inspiration to balance my budget, make a dreaded phone call, or tasks where I lack motivation. Just like in the Twilight Zone episode, each song elicits a different response.

When I hear these songs one behind the other, they work together for me to keep my mind focused so I can do whatever it is that a particular day sends my way. There is a saying that attitude determines altitude, and music can change an attitude. I find that the more peaceful songs help to relax me, while the upbeat ones are encouraging and motivating. The blend is just right to help me when I need to think clearly and or take care of some task.

list
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.