Beat logo

Modern Punk Songs that Sound Like Your Teenage Playlist

For those of us who need the nostalgic feeling, without listening to the same songs over again.

By Jaidyn MichellePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The year is 2008. We're in suburbia, but we might as well be in prison. The rules are endless, the restrictions keep coming. Angst is inevitable as freedom grows nearer, responsibilities threatening their way into our lives.

So, of course, we had playlists filled with hundreds of songs that represented how we felt, putting into words the anger we felt toward the world. The artists somehow were able to articulate our radicalization within a mere few strums of the guitar.

But then we became adults, the responsibility we were trying so hard to fend off comes anyway. Eventually, we dye our hairs back to a 'normal' color, we start dressing a little less rebellious and a little more business-casual. We continue changing to conform to the world, even as the world seems to run forward in a direction outside of our control.

Now, being adults, or, at the very least, out of the soft-anarchist phase, our music tastes may have changed to account for the different person we're becoming. That's inevitable, right? We resonate with different stories and messages within certain songs that may not follow the same genre.

You've been out-of-the-loop for so long now that you don't know where the punk industry has been over the last couple of years. Are your old favorite bands even still together? Has the industry standard changed?

Don't worry, because I've compiled a list of songs that will give you those angsty vibes without you having to do the extra work.

Cover You by The Hunna ft Travis Barker

Who wouldn't want to start with a love song? Ugh, I'm a sucker for romance. A song about letting go to enjoy the other person, and the other person being there to catch you? Count me in.

Look me in the eye, get it all out in the open

There's nothing left to hide, let's leave our skeletons behind

Tonight, leave them all behind

Disease by Beartooth

This song will probably reflect 2010s era alternative / punk the most. This song, including the remainder of the album named the same, refers to battling depression and mental illness.

It's like holdin' on when my grip is lost

I still feed my insecurity when I know the cost

Is it taking over, will it bury me?

Or will clarity become the cure for my disease?

Parents by YUNGBLUD

For those of us that feel that our parents are pushing us in a direction we never wanted to go, this is the song that will connect with us. Parents aren't always right about which decisions are best for us, so we might as well sing about it.

My high hopes are getting low ,

but I know I'll never be alone

It's alright, we'll survive ,

'cause parents ain't always right

ESTELLA// by KennyHoopla ft Travis Barker, Dir. Lonewolf

This song has essentially been my favorite song since it came out in 2020. Being about friends to lovers, him being more invested than her but just happy to be involved. My heart melts.

I don't wanna fake it 'til I make it

I don't need to see it to believe it

I don't need to touch it, I can taste it

All the shame feels the same when the pain hits

I just died, at the thought of being alive

At the same time as you, ooh, ooh

Nowadays by Valleyheart

This song is deeper than the other listed on this list, talking about the desire to find our purpose as adults. Finding something to love, something to hold on to, something to give us meaning. It definitely gives me shivers every time I listen to it.

I want to kill this need to be somebody else

I want to see my friends doing okay, not feeling sad and strange

But nowadays why is it so hard?

Cut my chest wide open to see that

Angels & Demons by jxdn

Let's be honest with each other for a minute. We all have wanted to feel like a rock star, living on the edge with little to care about other than what fun we can get ourselves into for that night. Well, here's a song about that, just for your listening pleasure.

So f*ck me like a rockstar

Dancing on a cop car

Nothing in the world can stop me now

F*cked up like a rockstar

Ridin' in a cop car

No one in the world can help me now

Into the Dark by Point North ft. Kellin Quinn

Although Kellin Quinn is only featured in this song, this is the first song with a major player from the 2010s alternative era.

Into the dark

Trying not to lose myself when I go too far

Where do I start

When every turn I take keeps us apart?

I need a sunrise in the dawn (I need a sunrise in the dawn)

Show me what the world is running from

BONUS:: DRUGS by lil aaron

This song mimics a mix between early 2000s rock with modern hip hop. It's an interesting mix and very entertaining, but is definitely not suited for all listeners! Beware.

(I'll leave the lyrics for you to figure out)

playlist
1

About the Creator

Jaidyn Michelle

Hi, I'm Jaidyn!

I'm an aspiring author, focusing on dark fantasy with a strong female MC -- and, of course, an emphasis on romance. Who can resist a good ol' love story, right?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.