Beat logo

It's okay to be gay :)

Be proud of who you are!

By S. G. MarinPublished 3 years ago β€’ 3 min read
3
It's okay to be gay :)
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Beginning Note from the Author: I am not personally a part of the LGBQTAI+ community (unless you consider the A as an ally), but I am a friend to everyone! I stand for human rights in general. Love is beautiful and I am a supporter of whomever you choose to love. This post is not meant to be in any way offensive and I hope you don't take it as such. I notice you as being beautiful just the way you are. You deserve happiness and love just like the rest of us. I hope you enjoy the read.

This is a playlist I created about how it's okay to be gay. This is cheerful, happy music that is meant to signify being okay with who you are. This was designed to empower you as an individual. Hope you enjoy the listen and the poem that follows.

1st song - Girls like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko

There's no reason to discriminate

I can be me and you can be you

Allow your weapons to deactivate

Girls like girls just like boys do

By Valerie Elash on Unsplash

2nd song - Feeling Okay by Best Coast

This thing called life is meant to be enjoyed

And we will stand up taller than before

It sucks having all these things we try to avoid

Now, I'm just feeling okay on the dance floor

3rd song - Summer Breeze by Seals and Crofts

This summer breeze makes me feel fine

I'm stronger than you may have thought

I will stand here proudly, watch me shine

I can't help it if you suddenly feel distraught

By Julia Caesar on Unsplash

4th song - East of Eden by Zella Day

I'm running in the dark to find East of Eden

I began to be surrounded by the utter beauty

So very quickly, I just had to speed in

There wasn't much of a choice, it was just my duty

5th song - Raise Your Glass by Pink

Be strong and be so wonderfully proud

You deserve so much happiness, just like everyone

Just raise your glass and let us be loud

We can dance for hours with the midnight sun

By Aditya Ali on Unsplash

6th song - Wild Things by Alessia Cara

We don't need to fall into your labeled box

You can find me where the wild things are

We don't need to listen to these pointless talks

For every single one of us is a beautiful star

7th song - Feel Good by Syn Cole

The beauty within us all stretches far and wide

Now, we're going to feel good

We won't feel ashamed anymore on the inside

That was all such falsehood

By Jefferson Santos on Unsplash

8th song - Saturday in the Park by Chicago

I'm so proud of the people we've become

We're no longer so trapped in the dark

Falling into the sound of a guitar strum

Enjoying a happy Saturday in the park

9th song - Mustang Kids by Zella Day and Baby E

Here we stand proudly as a bunch of mustang kids

We don't have to filter the lives we lead

We'll be spread out over all the many grids

Being ourselves is exactly what we need

By Alejandro Cartagena πŸ‡²πŸ‡½πŸ³β€πŸŒˆ on Unsplash

10th song - Gravel to Tempo by Hayley Kiyoko

We will no longer allow you to have the upper hand

We have to do this our way and we're going to stand tall

Dancing gravel to tempo, I hope you can understand

This is just who we are, there's no uncertainty at all

11th song - Feel Good by Gryffin, Illenium, and Daya

You make me feel good and I really like it

And feeling this way can't possibly be bad

When you pull me close, I hope you never quit

For us, this isn't just some stupid fad

By Mercedes Mehling on Unsplash

Now that we're here, it really is okay

To just be me and proudly gay.

I hope you all enjoyed this playlist and poem. Be proud of who you are and let your beauty shine. If you enjoyed this hearts and tips (though, not required) are always greatly appreciated. Thank you.

playlist
3

About the Creator

S. G. Marin

I'm optimistic, married, a mom, a writer, a reader, an artist. Being only thirty years young, I want to be a published author when I grow up. I hope to help heal the world with my words, for they are quite powerful when used correctly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.