Beat logo

I’ll Drink You Off My Mind

Writing a song is one of my favorite things to do. But, during a commercial truck driving test?!? One DMV Examiner’s Drive Test Confession.

By Thomas G RobinsonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Former Licensing-Registration Examiner, Tomás G Robinson reminisces about a drive test where he decided to write a song during the test!

Sometime back in 1995 I was conducting driving tests for the Ca DMV. I did that for over 12 years. 
In and out of cars, pass, fail, revoke ... same ole, same ole.

As an artist, one never knows when their muse is going to show up, and on this particular day it happened during a driving test, with a guy trying to get his commercial license.

I was conducting this test in a big-assed 18 wheeler when, of all times, I was inspired to write some lyrics down. The thing about music or lyrics, sometimes if you don’t write them down right away - poof - they’re gone! So, when that moment hits I try my hardest to write them down or record an audio into my phone since I can’t just belt out a tune anywhere, this was my only course of action at the time. It seemed to me, anyway.

Now, my dad was a big influence in what we listened to and as such, what music we appreciated as children. He had a pretty eclectic group of genres of music, but mostly, he leaned towards country and western. It is because of this that I too appreciate country, while still able to rock out, funk out or whatever else 'out' I choose to be. 


One of my favorite country songs is "He Stopped Loving Her Today" by George Jones. Probably one of the saddest tunes ever recorded - and it's just ... perfect. 
I've always wanted to do something like that; write a miserable 'tear in your beer' type of song, and on this commercial big rig test is where the lyrics and melody just happened to strike.


This poor guy - it's an hour and a half test and there's a lot of straight road time where nothing is happening, but in my personal notepad I'm writing down lyrics like a mad man. He must have thought I was marking him down with errors from left and right, but I was only writing down these sad, sad lyrics!


When I finished the song, he had finished his test! But, I’ll get into that later ...


After showing the song to Marty, my brother and band mate back then, I sang the songs melody I composed in my head, and he strummed the guitar figuring out the chords for me. It turns out that I had this really sad country song - the one that I always wanted!

We never recorded it together, but he did in Nashville on a demo he put together. It's very traditional country, and it was beautiful. 


Recently I've been recording a lot and while looking through my catalogue of songs I've written, I decided it was time for me to try this one on for size. I finished recording the vocals and laying down music tracks on the song pretty much in a day and showed it to my son, Andres, who really loved it! 
Surprised by his reaction I thought, hmmm, and asked, "Maybe you want to play the guitar on it?" He was excited and said he did!


Later that night as I was showing him the chords of the song I mentioned that it needs to sound sadder and "blusier", to which he stated, "Kinda hard, dad, since it's in G, F and C - kinda all happy chords".


I said, "Well, let me figure something out". 


I went to my trusty recording device and started playing it in minor chords, such as A-minor, E-minor and D-minor. 
The difference was enormous!


It is no longer a country tune, but it is sadder. It's more eerie. It's more lonely. To me, and hopefully to the listener whose heard both versions,  it's a much, much better song. 


All the vocals are mine, meaning I laid down the backing vocals and the lead vocal. Playing on his Ibanez electric guitar is my son, Andres. 
This is a rough mix - I'll upload the finished product on Soundcloud later, but for you, my fellow 'readers' - I hope you enjoy this song preview. 


Special thanks to Andrés for his wonderful guitar playing, and who will be mixing the finished product. 


Oh, yeah, the guy who was next to me sweating in horror while I wrote the lyrics down those many years ago, he did just fine. He passed his driving test!

(Click on the link to hear https://open.spotify.com/track/1WGUnltKj3WLfvj0PtHK6V?si=6zppoDOJR1CCAl-pzHCndw)


Tomás - I'll Drink You Off My Mind


I'LL DRINK YOU OFF MY MIND

Music & Lyric by Thomas G Robinson




I've been sitting here 
All night long


And, I couldn't care less 
What I've done wrong


Band after band
, Song after song


If I get my way 
I'm gonna drink you off my mind


So they're telling me I'll drink into my grave


That's okay with me, There's nothing here to save


Let the band keep going,

The beers keep flowing 


And stay away from me


One way or another, Your way or the other
I'll drink you off my mind


I can count the nights
 And taste all the tears


And I couldn't care less
 If it turned into years


Beer after beer
, Song after song


I ain't going home


I'll be there all alone


So, I'll drink you off my mind


So they're telling me I'll drink into my grave


That's okay with me There's nothing here to save


Let the band keep going, The tears keep flowing 


And stay away from me


One way or another, Your way or the other
I'll drink you off my mind


(Guitar Instrumental)


So they're telling me I'll drink into my grave


That's okay with me There's nothing here to save


Let the band keep going, The beers keep flowing 


And stay away from me


One way or another Your way or the other


I'll drink you off my mind


One way or another, Your way or another 


I'll drink you off my mind


And I couldn't care less ...


© 1995 RnR Music™


©2015 tgrJams Productions™


ALL RIGHTS RESERVED


career
1

About the Creator

Thomas G Robinson

A grandfather, father, son, brother, and friend. He's also a student in a masters program, artist, singer/songwriter, actor, writer & college grad making it through each day scathed, damaged and broken ... but, he’s still making it! Kinda.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.