Beat logo

Here Is the Newest Addition to Your Playlist: Juwan Rohan

Save the link...

By Amanda GabriellePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

The recording artist from California who has been inspiring, encouraging, and telling his story via his music, has been killing it in the Bay Area music scene. With his experiences, he is able to bring the community together by making relatable art for listeners everywhere.

How did you get your start in music?

I first started when I was around 5. I would listen to Nelly, 2pac, Biggie, Lil Bow Wow and would write remixes to their top songs. Music was a major part of my life growing up. My favorite memories involve music. I remember going on car rides with my mom and she would be listening to Keyshia Cole and Missy Elliot so loud. She knew every word and that type of music would always put her in a good mood. I started to notice the effect music had on people and I wanted to be apart of that. So I started to write and now look how far I’ve come.

A lot of amazing music comes out of Bay Area, how has the music scene influenced your own journey?

I really thank all the artists that influenced the Bay Area sound. It’s what really makes the Bay stand out. Everyone knows us from the hyphy movement. So of course I took notes and studied that style, so when I write my “club hits” that’s what I am influenced by. However, most of my music is story telling and more deeper than sideshow music. I love what the Bay sound has done for me and many other artists and I’ll always pay my respect ✊🏽.

I know you like to work with the youth outside of music, if you could give advice to your younger self getting into the music scene, what would it be?

Start young, build a brand, create something that sets you apart and work hard, but work smart. This game is about networking and connections. Use that to your advantage. I'd also teach my younger self how to sing and play the piano or guitar!

If you could only listen to one album for the rest of your life, what would it be?

J Cole Sideline Story. It gives me the chills listening to it because it sets the mood. It reminds me of when I was in the dorms struggling to find an audience.

Who would you love to collaborate with?

The first couple artists I’d want to collaborate with are J. Cole and Russ. I’d want them to produce the track because of how much I respect their creativity and artistry.

Between your clothing line and music, is there any crossover in the creative process?

There’s a ton of crossover. I made Til Infinity Clothing because of what I want from my music. I want my music to be eternal!

You know that feeling when you’re cleaning the house, listening to music and you feel so good for some strange reason and you just can’t stop shouting the lyrics? I’ve always believed if that feeling could last forever, the world would be at peace. That’s what I want... I want my music to spread positive messages and bring unity amongst the communities.

What music are you listening to right now?

I’m listening to DaBaby a lot right now. I really like his character and delivery. Also lots of Nipsey Hussle, Phora and The Games new album!

What does your songwriting process look like?

I usually write in the studio with my drink beside me, the beat blasting, and the right lighting to set the mood. Sometimes I just need to vent and this helps the process move along. Other times, I write at random moments of the day. If I’m just free styling in my head or have some sort of influence, then I write it down so I don’t forget and revisit when I’m in studio mode.

Where does a song begin?

Songs for me always begin with the chorus. If I can know what direction I’m heading towards, I can steer the car from different perspectives.

If you weren’t a rapper, what would you be?

I'd be a business man in a suit, until I eventually realized I’d want to be my own boss. Then I’d probably become an entrepreneur like I am now! I’m not just a rapper, I’m an owner of several businesses and rapping is just one of them!

What’s next for you?

To have my name blasted everywhere! I want people to know who I am and what I’m about. I want to really dive deep into this music industry and work with other artists and experience their creative environments.

With inspirations like Drake, J.Cole, and Logic, we are looking forward to see what else Juwan Rohan has in store, and where he will go.

interview
1

About the Creator

Amanda Gabrielle

Sometimes I feel too much...here's what's going through my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.