Beat logo

Give 'em a Listen

30 Day Song Challenge

By Tyler DelmottePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

These songs have been imprinted on me after countless plays. I know that many readers, myself included, who come across lists like this don't give a lot of credence to songs that are performed by an artist that they dislike or just have a skewed view of, but bear with me. Give these songs a listen...what have you got to lose?

Day 1: "The Safety Dance" by Men Without Hats

  • This song was actually written in protest against bouncers in clubs in the 1980s; they'd prevent dancers from "pogoing" to new wave music. If you don't dance a bit when you sing this song...I don't wanna know you.

Day 2: "Would You Fight For My Love" by Jack White

  • One of singles on Jack White's second solo record. It's meaning is fairly obvious by the song name. It brings a question that most individuals ask about their significant other: would you fight for my love? It can remind us all of that experience while also giving us hope that we won't encounter said experience again.

Day 3: "When I Grow Up" by Garbage

  • I heard this for the first time as a child while watching "Big Daddy" the Adam Sandler film. The song is actually about questioning whether or not being an adult actually brings with it, maturity. The song has such a deep meaning despite its profoundly happy tone.

Day 4: "Out of Control" by She Wants Revenge

  • This song has such an alluring beat that draws you in just as the two characters in the song are drawn to each other by the song they're listening in the club. Such a great song.

Day 5: "Extreme Ways" by Moby

  • Moby's song was used as the theme song for the "Bourne" films. I grew up with these movies and have always loved the song.

Day 6: "Twist and Shout" by The Beatles

  • This song came to my attention when I watched "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" and I loved it. However, despite my respect for The Beatles, I can't say I'm a fan aside from a few songs.

Day 7: "Wide Awake" by Lacuna Coil

  • Lacuna Coil is an Italian metal band. Their use of a male and female vocalist in their songs is something that I found so interesting. It made them a favorite of mine. This song has such a sadness and beauty to it -- it definitely feels like a good song to slow dance to with your partner.

Day 8: "Room of Angel" by Mary Elizabeth McGlynn

  • This song was written for the video game series "Silent Hill". It is extremely dark and haunting (like most other songs from the series). McGlynn's beautiful voice is so ominous in it -- I could just picture it being played at a funeral.

Day 9: "Lazaretto" by Jack White

  • The eponymous single of White's second solo record. Extremely catchy song. I recall listening to it for the first time and not being able to stop. I'd listen to it nearly every day until I could sing it to myself.

Day 10: "Closer" by Nine Inch Nails

  • Perhaps Nine Inch Nails' most popular songs; it was release in the early 90s. Definitely a lust filled song at first glance, but apparently Trent Reznor (front man of the band) had written the song about obsession and self-hatred. Either way, there's no way you can deny...this is a sexy song ;)

Day 11: "Lovesong" by The Cure

  • The Cure's Lovesong is such a beautiful piece of writing about the person you love. I don't think it possible to listen to it without having it touch you.

Day 12: "Icky Thump" by The White Stripes

  • The eponymous single of the final White Stripes record. You can dance to it, rock to it, etc. It's riffs are simplistic yet powerful; Jack White's vocals compliment them so well.

Day 13: "Watching You" by Rodney Atkins

  • When my father came back from the military, he went from listening to Metallica to listening to country music. This song was the first country song I'd ever heard and is about a father continuously worrying about teaching his son the wrong lessons in life and how the son tries all he can to imitate his father because of how much he admires him.

Day 14: "The KKK Took My Baby Away" by Marilyn Manson

  • I just heard this song for the first time recently and is actually a cover of a song by the Ramones. The meaning is self explanatory; Manson's voice really makes you feel for the man in the song and the loss of his love.

Day 15: "Mad World" by Tears for Fears

  • Mad World is such an interesting song in that its tone doesn't in any way resemble its lyrics. The 1982 new wave song uses lyrics that present a perhaps lonely or depressed individual with the backdrop of a pop song. My first introduction to this song was through the cover version by Gary Jules. It was used in the film "Donnie Darko" and is perhaps one of the most depressing songs I've ever heard. Give a listen to both of them.

Day 16: "You're So Vain" by Marilyn Manson

  • I remember when I first started listening to Marilyn Manson extensively. I listened to this song and realized that Manson is a lot more than the makeup and theatrics. It wasn't until I looked up the song that I saw it was a cover of Carly Simon's 1972 single. I consider it an amazing cover that keeps the intrinsic essence of the original song and yet is a great song in its own right.

Day 17: "Leave a Scar" by Marilyn Manson

  • I consider this one of Manson's best songs. It was written by Manson after his breakup with actress Evan Rachel Wood. The song is raw and honest. I suppose the song has the capabilities to reach its listeners to the extent that it does due to how personal the song is to its writer.

Day 18: "Heart-Shaped Glasses" by Marilyn Manson

  • I hate this song. I don't see the point of it. It's essentially a pop song with guitars. I avoid it at any and all costs.

Day 19: "Carolina Drama" by The Raconteurs

  • Alright, the song doesn't make me cry, but when I sing it -- with passion -- I can definitely get choked up during the falling action of the song. The Raconteurs is actually one of Jack White's side projects. Carolina Drama is a powerful story that's been around for awhile. It's about a young boy witnessing the murder of the father he never knew -- at the hands of his mother's boyfriend -- and running away with his mother and younger brother after he kills her boyfriend.

Day 20: "Killing Strangers" by Marilyn Manson

  • Are you angry? Did someone piss YOU off? Or perhaps you're at work forced to do a tedious task that no one appreciates. I have got the song for you! This song was the first track of Marilyn Manson's "The Pale Emperor" record. It was the first Manson record I'd ever bought and listened to. It showed me that the shocking and controversial musician has a true talent for rock and roll.

Day 21: "Vengeance" by Zack Hemsey

  • A fairly quiet and ominous song. The first couple of minutes consists only of a few piano keys and Hemsey's smooth lyrics until the drums come in. The song talks of a person getting their vengeance; the tone of the song makes you feel as though they'll succeed. It feels empowering...I suppose that's why it relaxes me.

Day 22: "Tainted Love" by Marilyn Manson

  • I don't watch many music videos. I often find that a lot of them don't really have anything to do with the song itself. However, I did recently watch this one. Manson released this video for the film "Not Another Teen Movie". It depicts Manson singing the song to the camera as he walks up to a large college house party. He has a posse of goths behind him that intrude on the preppy party and soon corrupt it. I had this sense or rather desire to join him. I mean, why not be a part of a Marilyn Manson cult?

Day 23: "Dear Rosemary" by Foo Fighters

  • This song is performed as a duet with Foo Fighters front man Dave Grohl and musician Bob Mould. The song is complimented by Mould's deep backing vocals. A common theory about the song's meaning is that it's about Rosemary Carroll and her role in the aftermath of Dave Grohl's late friend's (Kurt Cobain) death.

Day 24: "Rooster" by Alice in Chains

  • Rooster was written in 1992 by Jerry Cantrell, the founder of Alice in Chains. The lead vocalist of the band used to be Layne Staley before his death. The song was written about Cantrell Sr. and his time in the Vietnam war; even the name "Rooster" was taken from Cantrell Sr.'s nickname.

Day 25: "Everlong" by Foo Fighters

  • My third (and last) concert was the Foo Fighters. And after two hours, they walked off stage. But the lights in the stadium didn't turn on yet. The band members came up on the large screen above the stage gesturing to us about wanting to do an encore. They showed up in the middle of the arena performing Everlong and continued playing for another hour.

Day 26: "Immigrant Song" by Led Zeppelin

  • Immigrant Song is a powerfully impressive song. For me, it almost rivals Queen's "We Will Rock You" in its cool factor. Its riff is iconic and Robert Plant's scream in the song...just wow.

Day 27: "London Calling" by The Clash

  • London Calling was the eponymous single off The Clash's third record. The album is considered one of the best of all time and I think it has earned the right to be called a classic (as well as the song specifically).

Day 28: "Don't Chase The Dead" by Marilyn Manson

  • Okay here's my last Marilyn Manson song for you. It's from his new record "We Are Chaos". The song has such a killer beat to it that I can't help but listen to it on repeat -- perfect for a long drive.

Day 29: "Top Yourself" by The Raconteurs

  • Probably not the right song for this category, as its lyrics have no significance to my personality. However, I would say that Top Yourself's tone definitely encapsulates my personality. The bluegrass version was pretty good as well.

Day 30: "Gold Lion" by Yeah Yeah Yeahs

  • Prior to watching "Orphan Black", I had no frame of reference for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I believe it was the trailer for the second season that utilized Gold Lion. I found it to be such a good song that inserted itself into my brain and lived in it rent free. I started playing it on guitar, singing it in the shower, etc. It also helped that Orphan Black was my favorite show. The song (and the show) helped me through a lot of crappy and emotional times.

Thanks for reading!

list
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Delmotte

Here to post my thoughts, short stories/excerpts from screenplays and poetry.

I'm also part of a podcast:

--https://soundcloud.com/aswedigress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.