Beat logo

Bless My Heart & Bless Yours Too, Brittany Howard

The badass front woman of Alabama Shakes

By Negomi Oak RhettsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

As the southern twang of guitar strings met my ears for the first time, I knew I'd stumbled upon something great.

Howard's voice blessed me, just for listening, and her soft-spice tones combined with don't f*** with me energy, created a spark that couldn't help but be lit.

Her voice echoes that of Joplin cracked and smudged together with hints of Simone, Zeppelin and Tina Turner. It's a voice that moves you from the first beat. And wholly-moly, does it move you!

Howard, performing at Lollapalooza in Chicago in 2015. Image from Google.

I first heard the delicious sounds of the American musician, and all out wild goddess front women, of the southern state rock band Alabama Shakes many years ago.

I remember that first listen vividly. I was sitting at the desk in my room, attempting to focus long enough for my Year 10 maths notes to sink in, and as the rolling videos on YouTube flipped onto Alabama Shakes, my musical education and attention changed for good.

Never before had music pulled me quite like that.

It wasn't just that my young teenage ears and brain were stunned by the sweet melody of guitar I'd never encountered before.

It wasn't only that Howard's gritty, powerful, and comforting words brought thrills to my belly and pulled me up out of my seat, dancing, stomping my feet, swinging my hips, and waving my arms in hazy groove above my head.

It wasn't just that the honesty and authenticity behind each word touched my heart, my mind, and the women I dreamt of becoming.

It was that I felt a shift from it.

A full, marked in time, drop what you're doing and pay attention kind of shift.

Howard's Studio Album, Jaime. Image from Google.

Music moulds us.

All music, in the realm of recorded sounds that we are exposed to, creates a bond and we are changed, once and for all, from it. And I owe a lot of who I am, or who I feel I am, to Howard and her band.

Music forms identity. Music offers a sympathetic outlet for emotional dramas, and it offers us a lift up out of despair with hope and a strong arm.

And Howard and her band send a clear message; strength lives in many forms.

At least that was the message I instantly absorbed after just a few notes.

There's a richness, a delicious thickness to their music. But it doesn't leave you feeling heavy. It's transparent, it gets to the root, and boy does it shake.

You cannot listen to Alabama Shakes and the wild cries of Howard without at least having your mood shifted. You cannot experience this music and not move. And there's real medicine in movement.

I promise you, before the end of just one of their epic storytelling southern vibing songs you will be up on your feet, and most of, if not all, of your worries and cares will have melted away.

Or rather you will have shimmied and shaken them away and out the door.

Howard performing on James Corden. Image from Google.

Not only is Howard the lead vocalist, guitarist, and main songwriter for Alabama Shakes, not only does she have unique style, in dress and in voice, not only can she shred guitar and wail with the greatest of them, not only does she stand for causes such as Black Lives Matter and Planned Parenthood, and not only did she come out in her early twenties and is leading by example of being who you are, no matter what, but she has also been been a part of several other successful musical groups, and had a solo career earning her 7 Grammys.

She is also known as Thunderbitch. If that isn't a name to get you curious and on board, I don't know what is.

What a woman.

All I can say is, Brittany Howard, you are my girl crush, my wonder woman, my soul guru. And I'm so glad I Found You.

celebrities
4

About the Creator

Negomi Oak Rhetts

Herbalist & holistic health coach

Ex biodynamic farmer

Amateur poet and short story enthusiast

Self-published author of two free-verse poetry books: Weaving Roots and Wild Sanctuary

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.