Beat logo

Back to Center

A Playlist for the Soul

By Alexis PulmanoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When the intrusive thoughts enter, whether they're sad or anxious, a knee-jerk reaction is to want to get rid of them immediately. But just like our body needs time to heal, so does our mind. I think that's where music comes in. Instead of running from the thoughts, we can recognize they are there, slowly replace them with new ones and coax our mind back to center.

My "zen" playlist is four songs. Short, yes, but has a specific purpose; and its not going to waste any time outside of that. Our lives are busy and stressful, especially during a pandemic, so dedicating just 20 minutes to chill out feels a lot more accessible. My peace playlist starts with the song "Breathe" by Télépopmusik and Angela McCluskey. It's the perfect way to ease into our zen with its minimalistic backtrack and vocals. We can close our eyes and melt into the main lyrics, "another day, just believe, just breathe". Calming right? Up next, we get a little more serious. Londrelle is a musician who fuses mediation into song. "Self Love (Meditation)" is a track where you find yourself meditating without even realizing it. It could be a song on its own, but the lyrics are meditations of self-embrace. You start feeling yourself without looking in the mirror. "Afterglow" by Phaeleeh and Soundmouse follows, putting us back into a sort of dream-state. The gorgeous vocals and ambient beat makes you feel powerful; now combine that with the chorus of we're, "taking control of the present day...of our destiny". Finally, we end on a good note. Literally. "Finally Moving" by Pretty Lights samples Etta James reminding us, "I get a good feeling". It's super calming but has a groove to get you on your feet.

Zen time--complete.

Now, I remember sitting in my AP Psychology class one day, and our teacher was covering the psychological effects of meditation. She sort of rushed through it and the class had a few laughs. I remember thinking it was sort of odd, because the studies she mentioned showed positive results. When I went home to try it, just to see, I was definitely skeptical. And when I couldn't quiet my mind with the life of me (thank you anxiety) I figured it was sort of pointless. In order to find peace of mind, I had to start with...peace of mind? It seemed counterintuitive. Years later I realize it is up to us to figure out what works for us. That its okay to keep thinking, to not reach Nirvana your first time. As with any natural practice, it takes time to see results. It is not a quick fix, a practice has to be practiced no? Years later, I am able to meditate a bit better; but my go-to is always music. Something I built, something I almost always enjoy. And, for me, that doesn't necessarily always mean meditative music.

The main concept surrounding mediation, whether talking about it in relation to its Eastern origin or its role in the New Age of Western culture, is the idea of being mindful of the present moment. So naturally, atmospheric/ instrumental music and being attentive to our breath is the blueprint for a reason. And though the playlist I provided already certainly pushes those bounds a bit, sometimes I push further. When I'm sad, for example, and on a 2am drive, my zen playlist is now heartbreak pop ballads. Why? Because being present for me, at that moment, is allowing myself to fully feel that sadness for a bit. To sort of step into it. To grip the steering wheel a little harder. To replay the song again if I got too distracted the first time. Allowing myself to cry or sniffle without any judgment or blockages. And that is a different kind of peace.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Alexis Pulmano

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.