01 logo

What To Do When You Lose A Compact Disc

I Burned A Replacement

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4
CD Burnet XP

Introduction

Last week I decided to do a review of “Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine” by The Cosmic Rough Riders, a favourite of mine since I bought it twenty years ago, but I couldn’t find the CD. I had been listening to another CD of theirs “Too Close To See Far” when I decided to do the review.

I had a digital copy on my phone and a lot of the songs are on Youtube so I had no problem doing the review, but the fact that I had lost the disc was niggling me.

When I started working from home I had a pile of CDs I was selling on Discogs plus a few open racks and a DAB radio with CD player, and one day I thought I would maybe play a CD.

I had been playing music from my network on my Kindle Fire but the software I was using became increasingly unreliable even with downloaded Amazon Music that I have bought and downloaded to the device.

The CD Player works and I now listen to my albums from all over my collection.

I then couldn;t find my copy of “Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine” anywhere, and I really wanted to play it on my player so this is how I played it.

What I Decided To Do.

I wanted to burn a CD but the trial of the software I had had ran out, so I tried to get something on the Microsfoft Store but the few “free” ones I tried actually demanded money to use them. I could install itunes but it is so bloated and slow that I really can’t be bothered. So I did a Google search and saw CD BurnerXP.

I downloaded it and it is free although they ask for a donation if you like it, but they don’t demand anything.

The interface is a little awkward but I found it very easy to burn the two discs of my deluxe version of “Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine” .

This software also apparently lets you rip CDs as well and deals with a lot of different disc formats.

You can get it here if you still ever need to burn discs for yourself or for anyone.

Why Did I Do It?

Basically because I value my time. The record is not irreplaceable and I don’t know how long it will take me to find it even if I do find it. Say it takes me ten hours to find it, how much is my time worth? I could buy a replacement copy for less than three pounds. I paid eight pounds for a digital download which I burned to a CD and that is maybe what I am paid for fifteen minutes of my time.

I will send them a donation too as it’s a good piece of software that saved me some time and gave me what I wanted.

I have written about the nature of time recently and I always think it is a good idea to use your time in the way that is best for you.

We are living in a world where everything is advertised as being available at the touch of a button. What they don’t mention is that a lot of buttons have to be pressed before that button will deliver.

I’ve been told I am a music dinosaur because I play instruments and listen via vinyl and CD rather than Spotify, but I get the music that I want when I want and that is what counts for me.

Conclusion

This is essentially about a great piece of software and how it saved me a lot of time. If something can genuinely save you time and benefit you then take it up.

appsgadgetshow toproduct reviewtech news
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Hearting after having read the whole article :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.