01 logo

Obsolete?

Maybe I am ...

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4
Obsolete?
Photo by Rich @ rhubbardstockfootage on Unsplash

Obsolete?

Maybe I Am …

I nearly earned an Associate’s Degree in Website Design - simple computer programming that was just on the brink of incorporating CSS. That’s how “old” I am in computer years. I did already hold a Bachelor’s degree in Biology from a state University, but it wasn’t enough to get me a decent job, making the amount of money I wanted. I decided to enter the Computer Programming field through a program offered at the Tech School in the town where I lived. I believed that would provide many options for employment, as well as for becoming successfully self-employed. It was a sensible choice. Sensibility is not my strong point.

I was about two classes away from completing the technology program when I walked away from it. I had been doing well, with an overall A average for my grades. Pretty decent for someone who was never good at math and had a difficult time following programming logic. I hated the few days when we had an Introduction to Computers in Junior High, learning about pixels on our clunky Apple desktops. As an adult, I enjoyed the challenge of learning computer languages and rather liked the work. The use of my hands was also starting to become an issue for using a pencil, so I enjoyed the ability to use the computer for creative expression through design.

I changed my program one semester to GIS. I was good at that, too. I probably should have stuck with it, but it scared me, so I switched back to Web Programming.

I worked most of my way through it, then decided to get a divorce. I desperately tried to save that, too, but it fell m apart anyway. I was basically homeless for a month or so, sleeping on a friends couch, trying to secure employment and being stalked. I finally was able to move into my own place, but it was out of town and I didn’t have the money to return to school - I had to eat and pay rent and stuff. Plus driving my big truck cost a fortune in gas and insurance.

Eventually, I had a good job, got remarried and had a baby. While I considered returning to school to finish my Computer Degree - it bothered me a lot to be that close and leave it incomplete - what I had learned was nearly obsolete. Now my computer programming knowledge is completely irrelevant. I am basically computer illiterate and would be starting over. Starting over doesn’t bother me, computer programming just doesn’t hold much appeal for me anymore. I use computers all the time. Like most people, I now like the ease of just pressing a button and things happen, although it’s irritating when those actions don’t go as planned. I don’t need to know the workings behind it all, I just want it to work! I’ll use my brain power for other things. Like creating. And Science - I love the Life Sciences, but not so much Computer Science. I come from the age of rotary phones and three channels on tv. I can still do basic HTML coding, some XHTML and JAVA and CSS, but I’m not sure how useful that is anymore. I know nothing about current programming languages.

Overall, I think pursuing computer education was a worthwhile endeavor. It expanded my knowledge, helped develop my confidence, and provided me with my first experience of what it requires to be self-employed, but it is no longer for me.

Thank you for reading! How do computers fit into your creative life?

vintage
4

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    As long as a person is willing to stick to it and never give up and change and grow with the times you will never be obsolete no matter how old you get.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I hear. When I studies computer programming, it was all Basic Plus, RPG, Fortran, and Cobol. I have no memory of how to do any of it, and no idea if they're even relevant anymore. Also, I have no more interest. Like you, I just want my computer to work.

  • I started with punch cards, paper tape and magnetic tape so much older than you in computer terms, we are never obsolete though some technology falls into that bucket.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.