01 logo

Managing

Stress

By Alex JennettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Managing
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

It's hard to compensate for something you don't have. Especially when others are managing better than you are. It starts with a simple request and continues to grow. Now more than ever we will continue with this request. And hopefully go through life unharmed.

The reality of it all is that, in the meantime, I am going to unhinge my miranda. The outlook is looking pretty grim. The stress will melt away. An outspoken carnival of sorts will continue to grow. As well as a swell of pride. That the marshmellows will handle and then hide. But don't tell them that. Let them bask in the admiration that they do not have.

Sometimes the stress is so unreal, that I cannot even manage the portion that I do have. It's a teeter totter game that we all have to play. Day in and day out. You don't even have to get out of your car to see it. It goes by like a drive-by. And then you are in real danger as it mounts to untolerable levels. Swish it up and down and rotate it forward.

Manage your life with nothing to spare inside. But the faded memory of something that tickles. And fills your nostrils with the smell of linoleum. A hospital smell that never goes away. It punctures your mind and incinerates the concentration camp of destiny. Sometimes you can hear the train whistle of the stress and steam. Exploding in your mind and tearing it apart into a spasm of insanity.

Twisting and turning through the tunnel of distance and time. As we partake in the rituals of stressful circumstance. Controlling and trying to at the same time. While everything else in the world is separate.

Stress comes in many different forms. Too much sleep, too little sleep, and the worst of all. A crabby disposition. It all fails when your body and mind have crossed the line. You can never get that back in your lifespan. War with your mind to gravitate towards something special.

The school bus is about to leave and I don't think you're ready to go to school. Is what I was thinking about when stress comes to play in my head. I figured I could have just walk to school for all my parents were thought of me. I will right meow back with some more news on stress.

This guy has been walking around the neighborhood all day. What a weirdo. I wonder what he is doing? And why it looks like he is so sweaty? Some people do some strange things that make me think of an era gone by. Of course I do not have any room to speak. I am wearing a hoody with shorts, on an 80 degree weather day.

And this other dude was waiting for 20 minutes while this black cat curled up to my leg and scared the bejesus out of me. Yes stress will make you do weird stuff. Like write about what I just did without any meaning. But that is alright. Because if I write it right you will read it anyway. Now that makes a little more sense.

The Popo is circling around the neighborhood as well. I think they are looking for me, though I stay hidden well enough. Just hold onto what you think is fair. This cat is pretty cool and maybe then he will go away until the next morning, where I will have to pour water on him again.

I am enjoying writing about the neighbors and what is going on within my corner of the world. Deuces.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.