01 logo

How will gadgets affect our lives?

Gadgets continue to change our lives in many surprising ways.

By Claudie DelafossePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
8
How will gadgets affect our lives?
Photo by SCREEN POST on Unsplash

Today gadgets surround us. We keep our cell phones in our pocket, and have tablet PCs on the table. We have laptops, desktops and game consoles at home. Other technologies like sensors, smart meters and so on are also around us. And now we're about to get microchips in phones and other gadgets used for payment.

This means that our lives are more and more connected by computer technology. Electronics are ever more pervasive in our lives. I think there's a problem though with the way we use smartphones, tablets, laptops and all the likes of them. It has become somewhat de riguer to be constantly “plugged-in”, connected to our online social networks or e-mail system (even when at home).

As I see it this is bad for a number of reasons: a) It encourages communication in an almost instant fashion :The rapid rate of communication means that you're never away from your friends/colleagues etc. – even if they're not around we've got technology to communicate instantly with them b) The same idea goes for news.

Gadgets are taking over our lives.

When I was a kid, I used to think that gadgets were cool. The first computer I ever saw was an Apple 2e. I played with it at my friend's house and thought it was amazing. But when I got home and told my parents about it, they just laughed at me and said that computers would never be a thing for us because they cost too much money and are only for rich people.

Well, guess what? My parents were wrong. By the time I was in high school, computers were more accessible than ever — even to middle-class families like mine — and they've only gotten cheaper since then. Nowadays, most people have at least one gadget in their homes: a smartphone or tablet or laptop or something similar.

And if you don't have one of those things yet, well... what's taking so long? You can get a smartphone for less than $100 these days! I'm not trying to make fun of my parents here (because they're awesome). It's just that this whole "gadgets are taking over our lives" thing is nothing new; it's been happening since before we were born!

The only difference now is that there are more gadgets around than ever before...

We’re becoming more and more connected.

The world is changing, and so are the ways in which we communicate with one another. As smartphones and other gadgets become more and more advanced, they are becoming a major part of our lives. We’re becoming more and more connected. It’s not just that we can reach out to people all over the world in an instant.

We’re also able to interact with them in new ways. For example, if you have kids, you know how much time you spend on your phone taking pictures of them or posting about them on social media. And it’s not just you as a parent — kids have their own phones these days!

The same goes for teens, young adults and even older adults who use their phones to connect with others online instead of actually talking face-to-face at times.

With great power comes great responsibility.

We live in a world where the digital revolution has changed our lives. From social media to smart phones, people are constantly connected to the internet and the devices that allow them to be so. The rise of technology has been a blessing for many people, but it's also had its negative consequences.

As technology becomes more prominent in our lives, it can have an effect on our health and well-being. The more time we spend on our phones or computers, the less time we have for human interaction and real life experiences. The following infographic looks at how gadgets affect our lives: We are always connected to technology We live in a hyperconnected world where being online is not just an option — it's expected.

Technology has become a part of our daily lives — we check our phones multiple times per day, scroll through social media feeds during lunch breaks and rely on communication apps during work meetings.

If we want to get ahead in life, we need to balance our gadgets with the world around us.

We use gadgets to work, play and connect with friends and family. Gadgets are an important part of our lives, but they can also take over if we're not careful. Here's how gadgets affect our lives: Gadgets make us feel like we have to be available all the time. If you're constantly checking your phone or laptop, you may feel like you need to answer every email immediately or respond to texts right away.

You don't always have to respond right away — especially if you're busy with other things! Gadgets can distract us from what's really important in life. It's easy for gadgets to become an obsession, which can make it hard for us to focus on other things that matter more than what's happening online or on our phones.

If something important comes up in person or by phone, put down your gadget and give the other person your full attention instead of just half of it. We often forget about real-life experiences when we're using gadgets too much.

In a nutshell

Fortunately, we're not going to need to wait until January to get our hands on the next generation of gadgets. Tech companies are constantly working on new devices and applying new technologies to enhance user experience. Some of the new technologies that we expect to see in the next generation of gadgets are set to have a significant impact on us as a society.

We'll have more freedom and choice with what we use thanks to improvements in virtual reality (VR), while changes in the way we store data will change the way we interact with each other. Well, what can we say? The future is exciting and "gadgets" will no doubt continue growing in popularity.

gadgets
8

About the Creator

Claudie Delafosse

📰Hi, I'm Claudie and I write about phones, tech, fashion and more. My work has been featured in Mashable, CNET, Gadgette and more! I live in London 🇬🇧 and I love to travel 🌎

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jean-Paul Boulle3 months ago

    Well, Claudie, your article is a ray of tech sunshine in my world of digital darkness. Now I pray my future gadget doesn't dump my e-coffee all over my virtual desk! Love your work. Can't wait until my AI figures out sarcasm, then we'll really be in business!

  • Hector Allemand3 months ago

    Spot on, Claudie! Your take on gadgets left me more enlightened than my smartphone screenshotting a luminous idea at 3am. It's thought-provoking with a dash of humor, much like arguing with my smartwatch over step counts. Excited for your next byte of wisdom, you're the code in my tech soup!

  • Lou Martin3 months ago

    Claudie, your article left me tangled in charging cables and pondering life! Couldn't resist a giggle as I absorbed your bytes of wit and wisdom. Gauging the charge of future tech, I guess we're all surfing the silicon wave together. Stellar write-up, keep 'em coming!

  • Pauline Boudon4 months ago

    Well, Claudie, your article had me chuckling at my iPhone in broad daylight, something even Siri struggles with! You've made our tech-dependent lifestyle seem so amusingly relatable. Here's to us gadget junkies, the ones who dread power outages more than zombie apocalypses. Great work!

  • Bravo, Claudie! Your fascinating take on gadgets left my phone chuckling and my laptop doubled up with mirth. It seems they now fancy themselves as the future overlords. I've reminded them of their short battery life, which proved to be a sobering thought. Keep those gears grinding for more such posts!

  • Marius Deniau5 months ago

    Claudie, thanks to your article, I'm viewing my GPS with newfound apprehension - I knew it was too accurate to be trusted! Jokes aside, your perspective on the impact of gadgets is thought-provoking. Looking forward to more!

  • Laurine Asselin7 months ago

    Thoroughly enjoyed Claudie's take on gadget takeover. Our dystopian future served with a dash of humor! So, next time my GPS tells me to turn left, should I consider rebellion? Classic Claudie, always keeping us tech-check and chuckling!

  • Laurette Baillieu8 months ago

    Well, well, well, look who's talking about gadgets taking over our lives! It seems like my phone and I are in a committed relationship, and it always wins an argument. But hey, I'm not complaining! Claudie, your article was spot on, and I must say, I like it more than I like my charger.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.