Writers logo

Vocal: You get what you give

I think this idea that you must aspire to something, gets in the way of simply doing something you love to do, or even just enjoying life.

By Phil FlanneryPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
16
Facebook Meme

Life is busy and my time is not always my own, so the time I spend writing or reading others’ work, is very precious to me.

So not aspiration, but ‘hope’ is my goal.

I hope to enter as many challenges as I can on Vocal.

Do I hope to win? Of course, but there are a lot of creators out there with some amazing ideas. I am often humbled by what is out there and more so when I get feedback from someone who clearly has more talent than me.

I hope to read as many stories as I can to support creators I am subscribed to and encourage those who are new to this great creative platform. I feel guilty that I don’t read and comment enough, especially when my life gets busy, even more guilty than ghosting my own family on Facebook.

I have some very pressing issues that inhibit my time on Vocal. One is a project I started with my daughter. It has taken close to ten years to get to a stage where it is practical and that’s way too long, and I often wonder why my wife puts up with it. The project is a food truck, which we will run together. The other is a book I wrote that I keep fiddling with because I still think it’s weird that I wrote it. I have spoken about it before and had it edited, but as the great procrastinator that I am, I keep putting it aside. Throw in family and work, and my day is full.

One of the great things that keep me on Vocal are the challenges, because they have a word limit and a deadline. I am the worst kind of procrastinator. I don’t just start one thing and not finish that, I have many things started, or in the planning stages. I do things for people that they could probably do themselves. When I get an idea (not writing), I obsess over it and find the bits to make it a possibility, then start the process of construction, then stop and wonder why I started in the first place. That’s what happened with my novel. I really must finish that.

Vocal challenges give me focus.

Looking at my stats from 2021 compared to 2023, reminds me how badly, I misunderstood how this site works. I entered challenges, read other submissions, hearted, but I subscribed to no one. For the first 2 years and 15 stories, I had 20 reads in total and only a couple of comments.

That's on me.

Finally, I think it was ‘Mikey Dred’, Babs Iverson or Heather Hubler, who got me to join ‘Vocal Social Society’. This was my introduction to caring and sharing. That community helped me to become a better Vocal member. I felt grown up.

I look forward to the small interactions I have with likeminded creators that live thousands of kilometres from me or just a few hundred.

The downside is, that I have some really good stories that almost no one has read. Never mind.

This writing thing came to me a little late, so if I am to aspire to anything, it is to live long enough to really enjoy what I have come to love and to improve my writing. I am not prolific in my output, but when I get an idea or there is a prompt from a challenge that intrigues me, then I am usually pretty happy with what comes; or I don’t publish it (you’ll never know).

As for the mechanics of how Vocal works and makes decisions, I wouldn’t have a clue.

I remember my first top story. I woke up to a ping on my phone in the middle of the night from one of my subscribers, probably Mike (We get things a weird times down here). I was so happy, and I didn’t even win anything.

I kinda don’t want Vocal to get too big. I don’t make space for many people in my life and this community gives me a connection without too much drama. I feel guilty not commenting and reading enough now; what happens when it's so big, I lose the friends I've made.

That's me being selfish

In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy the ride, wherever it takes me.

Thanks for listening.

AchievementsCommunity
16

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    A food truck with a family member. We once thought of a restaurant. It did not happen, timing is everything. That sounds like such fun and adventure. Hey, we all work at our own pace, you def need more reads. Too late, Vocal is already huge in numbers, I think??? Good luck with your adventures.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Don't be too hard on yourself! Life gets in the way sometimes. I'm just happy I found this piece so I can read more of your work in 2024! This was a great reflection and I'm rooting for you in the upcoming year. 😊 Also, the food truck sounds awesome!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderful review and "hopes" for 2024. I love that cover pic, and agree. And yeah, a food truck? That really sounds like fun.

  • Oooo, a food truck! That's soooo cool! I wish you all the best for that and for your book too! So glad you were invited to Vocal Social Society because that's where I first read your work! Looking forward to reading more!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Get that book out already 😁

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I love the project with your daughter!!! Time spent with your children can never be replaced. And I love your sentiments here. I agree that the bigger the platform gets, the harder it is to keep up. It's a difficult spot to be in but still wonderfully worthwhile. Looking forward to whatever you choose to accomplish this year :)

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Some great thoughts and I agree it's all about the motivation

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love that above all, you're loving what you put out.

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Hi Phil - Some, of course, have ulterior career or monetary motives. Simply, the Fun-of-The-Game is that we're Good-at-it and we DO it because we CAN.. "We GiT" to be Writers. - Keep on Truckin' from the other side of the globe - Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Hi Phil....I loved your thoughts here. Sounds like you are enjoying life and life is enjoying you. I don't think you can go wrong like that :)

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Awesome! I totally understand your point of view! And I can't believe the part about the food truck, lol. I had/have the same passion for a couple years and just the other day a friend sent me a photo of one for sale, but it's too small. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Glad to be in the same boat, sir!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.