Writers logo

Poetry in Our Freebie Culture

A rant

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 7 min read
20
Poetry in Our Freebie Culture
Photo by Don Agnello on Unsplash

At the end of 2010, I had just self-published my fifth collection of poetry.

The release party had been a complete success. Sales were going quite well.

One afternoon, I received a private message on my Facebook Page. (A rare occurrence at the time.) The sender, a random stranger, congratulated me on the publication and mentioned how much they loved my poetry.

So far, so good, right? Well, hold on!

After the first couple of lines, the email went something like this:

I was hoping that you could gift me a copy of your wonderful book. I can't afford to buy it, but I know you have a big heart. Of course, I would tell all my friends about you.

I was so shocked by the request that it took me a while to be able to respond. My message was nice and professional, but I said no—and explained exactly why. The person never followed up.

After the event, I shared the story with a couple of poet friends, who reported similar experiences. A few weeks and more conversations later, something clicked in my mind. It was my nth encounter with freeloaders. I had just brushed off the others because sales were going well.

Poetry books have always had limited readership. However, they still sold decently in the 2000s. All hell started breaking loose in 2011 or 2012, when Facebook and Twitter (among other social networks) became the de facto platforms for people to interact.

Since then, things have gotten from bad to terrible for poets. We are expected to be on every social platform ever created: Instagram, Facebook, X (formerly known as Twitter), TikTok, YouTube, Mastodon, CounterSocial, Threads, Bluesky, Flickr, Pinterest, Tumblr, Medium, Goodreads... People also expect us to share all our poems, and curtsy whether they pay us a compliment or write a hurtful or condescending comment.

Poetry must remain accessible and free. You should be ashamed of yourself.

I can't afford to buy your books. I have just spent $7 on a cup of Starbucks coffee.

As you know, I am a multidisciplinary artist. I have experience in several fields: digital journalism, social media marketing, art critiques, editing, proofreading, translation, and freelancing. I also release anthologies and co-run a magazine. I have worked with and interviewed hundreds of indie artists over a span of 18 years. Only poets are expected to release free books and donate their time for projects ad nauseam.

In the artistic world, we get the shortest end of the stick as well. The concept that we should not be compensated for our hard work is so ingrained in people's minds that poets themselves end up lecturing the ones who try to make a living.

And then, there is this:

Audiobooks are a great way to expand your reach! But you should not charge for yours. Poetry needs to remain accessible.

Or this:

Give away your poetry book, you will get tons of exposure. More exposure means more eyeballs on your work. More eyeballs means more sales. It's the only way.

Or this:

I would love to read your book. Tell me when it's on sale or free.

These are a few comments I have had to deal with recently. They came from strangers and people I have known for a while. I spent hours trying to reason sensibly with them. I even redirected them to my articles on the topic of book publishing to show them what they seemed to blatantly ignore. To no avail.

(For those interested in said articles, click here and here.)

Of course, most poets are aware of those conversations. They have been happening on social media and in private exchanges for years. Unfortunately, I no longer have the patience to put up with them.

I am tired of reading everywhere that poets should be ashamed of themselves for publishing and selling books. What saddens me even more is how the constant bashing of our work leads us to devalue our worth.

So, I decided to take to social media to vent my annoyance.

You want others to treat you with respect as creatives? Stop telling them 24/7 that your work sucks or that you are not good enough.

Yes, it's that simple.

Stop spending your days devaluing your worth on social media. Social media is not your diary. It's a public forum. Everyone can see what you post.

Dear poets, there is nothing wrong with wanting to be paid for your hard work.

If someone tells you that you should give away your book(s) to increase your reach, don't listen. Most advice givers are just looking for freebies. They do not care about you and would not support you anyway.

Nowhere else are people expected to work for free. So why is it ok to expect that of poets (and other artists)?

Giving away your books is a personal decision, not a rule set in stone. Period.

I foresaw people coming out of the woodwork to insult me or fight with me. Not only has it not happened yet, but I have been pleasantly surprised by the positivity of the responses. Interesting conversations have been triggered. I hope it is the start of something good.

Poets work their butts off at their craft. We spend an inordinate amount of time polishing our pieces. Publishing a book requires months (and sometimes years) of work and a substantial amount of money. (Without even mentioning how exhausting and demanding marketing can be.) We should feel proud of the result and allowed to celebrate accordingly. Instead, we are repeatedly shamed for it. Our books also receive significantly less exposure than those in other genres.

  • For example, my local bookstore no longer has a poetry section. The books are all crammed into the non-fiction section.
  • Many online book tour companies automatically refuse to work with poets.
  • An increasing number of bloggers will not review poetry books.
  • Unless you are traditionally published or know the right people, no large media outlet will be interested in interviewing you.

Expecting us to give away our books, audiobooks, and spoken word tracks is akin to asking for free meals at restaurants or free repairs for your car.

Would you like it if your boss decided that paycheques were now optional for employees?

Sorry, I can't afford to pay you this month. But, hey, I really appreciate your dedication. Please keep up the great work

Infuriating, right? Then, imagine being told the same thing almost daily because you write poetry...

This freebie culture needs to stop. It is not healthy. It does not just promote gaslighting, but it also destroys creative careers. Very few people are willing to put up with never-ending condescending comments. They shouldn't have to, anyway.

Actually, that is the reason why I took a break from poetry for about eight years. I felt as though I did not deserve to make a living, which dried the well of my inspiration. The break was life-saving though, because I got to explore other art forms, gain a healthy level of self-confidence, and understand why I needed to get back to poetry and assert myself.

Without poetry, most of us would have nothing to hold on to when life feels a little too overwhelming. Without poetry, most of the music, books, or movies we revere today would not exist. Imagine a world without the poetic words of Shakespeare, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allen Poe, Maya Angelou, Robert Frost, Kahlil Gibran, Pablo Neruda, Langston Hughes, Walt Whitman, John Keats, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Bishop, William Wordsworth, John Donne, W.B Yeats, Dante Alighieri, John Milton, Homer...

You can't, right? It is because no other form uses the language in the way it does to awake deep emotions within us. The best storytellers have poetic minds. Whether they have written poems or not, they are influenced by poetry. They understand the power of words more than any other writers in their categories.

Artists do not just entertain us. They also force us to think, question, and engage in important debates, often triggering small but vital changes. Their service to society is major. The day they stop creating, the world as we know it will no longer exist.

There is a time and a place for free art. Actually, social media and artists' websites are FULL of it. With that said, it is the prerogative of a creator to decide how their work should be made available. Non-artists and people with a limited understanding of the industry have no right to try and dictate that rule.

Exposure does not pay bills or fill a plate with food. If handing out poetry books was the solution to the dearth of sales in the genre, all the poets who use that tactic would be household names and live comfortably.

Hard work deserves compensation.

The amount is irrelevant. But the principle matters.

It is about respect for our fellow human beings.

Period.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

CommunityPublishingProcessAdvice
20

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    So important, what you write, Cendrine! Well done. I love poetry and writing poetry, and it is so hard to get people to value it. I would just add that part of the problem is people are intimidated, I think, like they are to select a nice bottle of wine or to dress up for a nice restaurant. Even in nice restaurants, the rare times I can afford it, (and I dress well) I'm surprised how many people are in jeans and t-shirts. For me it's kind of the same thing, the lessening of things of worth to suit the insecurities of people who choose to walk through life with their eyes closed to the beauty in life. Beauty has value. Can more people look at a tree or forest or mountain, rather than immersing in YouTube? Can they take a moment to appreciate a fine wine, a classic novel, a beautiful new novel, or a fine poem, for whatever they get out of it? I suppose beauty will always be subjective, and everybody thinks they know what beauty is, but I know it can be found in different places for those with eyes to see... in the love of a mother's eyes though she be tired and disheveled, in the tired limp and sunburned face of a man working hard labor to support his family, in the acts of surprising kindness for strangers, and in the words of a poet trying to capture just some of these moments in ways that can touch your heart more than the words themselves. I would like to tell them to fear not the poem, that maybe you won't understand. Fear not opening your heart and feeling strongly for something your weren't even there to witness. This is the beauty of poetry.

  • Maureen Y. Palmer9 months ago

    It's so weird that people think poetry needs to be accessible to everyone for free. I've never heard anyone claim that other books or audiobooks "need" be free, so why would poetry somehow be considered different?? (Of course, we need books to be freely available from public libraries, but libraries pay for the books!)

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    I walked into our local art gallery and saw a beautiful painting for £800. I asked the curator, ‘I’m sorry, I really can’t afford to pay that. Would the artist consider letting me have it for free? I’d make sure I invited all my friends to my home to see it so there’s be plenty of exposure.’ The curator narrowed her eyes and refused my innocent request. She explained that the artist doesn’t work for free. I was gobsmacked. ‘But it’s not hard work, she was doing what she loved, splashing paint around, having fun!’ To which the curator leaned in closer towards me, looked in my eyes, and said, ‘Really? Well then, go paint your own.’

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Great article! You said it all, and so very well!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I wish I could say I was supprised that people do that, but I'm not. I am disappointed though. I've had fun writing poetry on Vocal. I am not a poet, I don't call myself a poet because I look at what I do and it is no where near as disciplined or aware as the work of a poet. I think the issue is those people do not realise how hard poets work. Its like they think you sit down, chuck words on a page and call it a poem. It doesn't work like that. I hope in future poets get more recognition of their work 💖

  • Gene Lass9 months ago

    Excellent piece, Cendrine. A musician friend of mine has the same complaint. People ask him to play piano at events or for parties, and they cite that it's exposure, or argue that playing costs him nothing. His point is that exposure is good, but usually it just means more people who want him to play for free. And while it costs him nothing to play, what you're paying for all the study, the practice time, the experience, that makes him someone who CAN play, whom you would WANT to hear. The free book thing is sad and true. I will give a copy to anyone who contributed to it - cover art, interior art, the introduction, etc. And if I dedicated it to them. After that, pay for it. They're not that expensive. If you don't want to pay $10 or $15 for a hard copy, get it on kindle for $4. And thankfully, some do. But more often than not, family and friends who can well afford a copy - or many copies - just want you to give them one. Or they promise to buy one, but don't. It's disheartening. If they do read something you wrote, they're all proud and excited. But will they pay for it? No. But they're going to go on some vacation, or a cruise, or blow money somewhere else and forget you ever had the conversation.

  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    So NOT a rant. Just undiluted truth. And hooooo FIRE! "Artists do not just entertain us. They also force us to think, question, and engage in important debates, often triggering small but vital changes. Their service to society is major. The day they stop creating, the world as we know it will no longer exist." You betcha boots...

  • Often the same with bands as well "think of the exposure" you do it free for one, then someone else expects the same. Exposure doesn't pay the bills. Excellent article

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Excellent piece. Very well said.

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Excellent point! That to quit being devalued, we must first break the habit of devaluing ourselves! 👏

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Splendidly written and no one should work for free!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • ema9 months ago

    I love your article. I spent all my school years with literature teachers talking about art and books, and this mantra that "you don't write/paint/photograph for money", it seems that everyone is entitled to an income, except artists. This cultural falsehood is so strong that the artists themselves consider it true and so do many other people.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I had no idea that people had this attitude. I would never request a book for free unless I was offering to review it as an ARC. Never. What a cheek. Great article, beautifully written, Cendrine.

  • Test9 months ago

    I loved this so much!...This made me chuckle, 'I can't afford to buy your books. I have just spent $7 on a cup of Starbucks coffee.' And the rest made me mad, You are so enviably articulate -Thank you so much for the po wer of your words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.