Writers logo

My journey

My life

By Paula GrantPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Like

Once upon a time in the year of 1947, Getting Ready to graduate from Grammar school, and become a wife to my longtime boyfriend James, After living years with My aunt and uncle, after my parents had passed away years ago. Just started my first job working at the wood mill making furniture as a source of income. James and I just found ours first place a little shack house by the bayou. We had been try for years now to start a family, But it wasn’t in the card for me. My older sister Netta got in the family way, while her husband was away in North korean War for 4 years, Couldn’t explain the two children, She had at that time. My other sister May and I want to keep the kids in the family, So We decided to take them both as our own. May raised jimmy and I took little ann in with me and james. Now I feel that our family is complete now and ready to moved on to the next chapter in my life. After 6 years of marriage to James, He started to gamble really bad and losing a lot of money on every pay day. Me and Little ann would have to leave james and relocated to chicago Illinois. Where my youngest sister Shelley lived with her husband and six kids. Ours new place was a half way house on the west side of chicago. A one bedroom next to a family of three, A single woman name gene with two kids. We all share a bathroom on one floors. But it was home to us and freedom with a peace of mind. Later on in years me and gene would become the closest of friends ever. She would go on and married a well off man with a good funeral home business. And have four more children with him. My sister May will have to leave louisiana from her abusive husband on that midnight train to chicago. This situation would open up thing for me and little ann at this time.

LifeAutobiography
Like

About the Creator

Paula Grant

"My name is Paula Grant and I was a recent dispatcher for a company called wide open west for thirteen years. Just relocated to the Huntsville AL area pursuit the security industry. Looking to start free lance writing in different area.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.