Writers logo

Finding Inspiration

Where I Find Ideas For Writing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago 2 min read
9
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I don't know if I am different from other creators, or it's just that I tend to think in tangents and make connections that people often see as ludicrous, but this may give you some ideas for your articles and stories.

I often see things that are just in the moment and I make an immediate connection and then pieces come together for me. This is just a few words on how that happens with an example or two for you.

I know that most of my readers are on the North American landmass so they may never see some of the things that I refer to, but there will be similar things for them.

So Where Do I Find It

While sometimes my short-term memory is appalling, there are obviously lots of things going around in my head. I watch three tea-time quiz programs regularly but not religiously and these are "Bridge of Lies", "Pointless" and "Richard Osmn's House Of Games". I did a piece on the latter two here:

Yesterday on Pointless the answer to one of the questions was Chopin's "Minute Waltz". I then thought that would be a great title for the Vocal "Just A Minute" challenge, but I did not have a clue how it would work. I researched the "Minute Waltz" and found that "Minute" referred to size rather than time.

I then thought what if there was a challenge to play the piece in a minute and that resulted in this story, my third in the challenge.

There is another challenge, to write an Acrostic based on the word "Eclipse". I am averse to short-form writing for challenges, especially poetry, because, although I am an excellent poet, I always feel lazy when i write poetry. However that hasn't stopped me from posting seven entries in the Challenge, but I do try to add something to my creation to make it more interesting for me and the reader.

The thing is, writing a Haiku or Senryū (川柳), can take a lot of effort to create a worthy piece in so few syllables. Doctor John Cooper Clarke put it very succinctly in his haiku ( which is actually a Senryū (川柳) )

Conclusion

I can find inspiration in any instant whether it be TV or nature or books. The video I included is when I saw ducks seemingly swimming in fire in Thirsk and soundtracked it with "Fireball" by Ducks Deluxe (see what I did there).

Inspiration for me can come from anywhere and I can express it in many ways, and I realise that I am so lucky to have that ability.

Thank you so much for reading this and I hope you have got some ideas from this.

VocalPromptsProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdvice
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    My dreams inspire me. Just dangling conversations inspire me. Music inspires me. Life, nature, certain people who act as a muse in my life inspire me. WOW

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    You know, as far as inspiration, I'm the same. I'll have nothing in my head (yeah, I know. Shaddup), and then suddenly I'll hear or see something on the TV, or a piece of a piece of music, or whatever really. I understand where you're coming from.

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Amazing that's very interesting, I really appreciate your passion about poetry excellent

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh wow, so that's how you got the idea for Minute Waltz! You're so amazing!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    I love the “difficult” Haiku, that was funny. And you have some great tips! Thank you! 🤓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.