Writers logo

Day 11: "When" Writing

Late evening, loved ones funeral, and crossing the finish line.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
9
Day 11: "When" Writing
Photo by Saffu on Unsplash

“SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES” by Pat Pattison, I am following the outline as presented for timed writing. I ordered the book and started this challenge.

The picture above is for one of the prompts listed.

Today is more of “When” writing. I have done Who, What, and other When writing in previous days. It is good to make small changes to keep from getting bored!

The prompt “When” is being timed and the idea is to include as many of these as I can, and that would make the song; sight, sound, taste, touch, smell, body, motion! I am not there yet and not sure I will get there. I appear to be more focused on the timing than the words.

Remember that the timer can go off in the middle of a sentence, or word. Please complete it the best you can using your thoughts! Thank you.

This is day eleven prompts:

Timed for 5 minutes: Late Evening.

I started to write this in what is a late evening for me. It is 10:03 p.m. and I am tired. I worked on finishing our taxes today! Glad that is done but sorry it was me that had to do them.

The place we normally take our taxes to for preparation and filing no longer had any appointments when I called. They nicely explained that we should make our appointment for one of the latest appointments they make.

It is because I receive one of my 1099's later each year. This year it came at the end of March or even early April. Way too late to get an appointment. Which meant paying someone to do it after a search, or doing it myself.

I did our taxes another year during the pandemic. It was just as terrible but I did it!

And the good news is that we are getting some money back. That doesn't happen often or ever but we did get money back last year, so it must mean something in the tax laws is going easier on old pe...

Timed for 10 minutes: Loved Ones Funeral.

My mother died and her death was the most beautiful of all I had witnessed. She died at age 75 and I had seen several others prior. She was in no pain. The physicians were able to keep her alive until the family could get there that day.

It was a beautiful day and the sun was shining, and she wanted me to pick up some food to feed her guests that were coming. When my cousin and his wife got there, I went for food.

She had told the doctors who didn't understand why no pain and were apologizing that they couldn't do anything to prolong her life. She just smiled and said, "I'm okay, it is her that is struggling."

She was right and I continued to struggle long after she died.

The funeral did help. We kept busy as she had been planning her funeral meal for weeks. I thought she was planning Thanksgiving. It included turkey and dressing, mashed potatoes, and gravy. Scalloped corn, and homemade rolls. Cranberries and pies.

She wanted a veggie tray and a fruit tray. She said coffee and tea and lemonade! She planned her meal that would be held on September 29, as she died on September 25, 2009.

Her wake and funeral were very well attended. Some of us cooked while we stayed at the community center overnight. The funeral would be held at St. Anne's across the street from the cemetery.

The flowers were beautiful and when we had Ojibwe singers, we smudged and we had people talk who knew her and had good things to say, I had trouble staying present. I didn't sleep well during that time.

We had a hand drum and other Native American ceremonies during the Catholic funeral and burial. It...

Timed for 90 seconds: Crossing The Finish Line.

I watched my son crossing the finish line at Grandma's Marathon in Duluth. I had told him that if Oprah Winfrey can run a marathon then I should be able to also.

He said, "Mom, I will run with you." I said Pat, I will have to start walking first.

I didn't start walking and he crossed the finish line without his mom by his side.

Writing ExercisePromptsLifeChallenge
9

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    The memory of your mother's funeral and how she planned the meal - my son's bday is 9/29 so that stuck with me that her "celebration" was on that day. Nice story and haha you watched your son cross the line without you since you weren't ready to do it yet.

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    These are good especially the funeral one it brought back memories for me.

  • Ameer Bibi2 months ago

    Excellent story 🎉🎉 very emotional story

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    So poignant and emotional. So sorry about the loss of your Mom🤍

  • I'm so sorry about the loss of your mother 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    I love your biographical narratives! They are ALWAYS so dynamic and well-written. So sorry for your loss Denise...

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic life stories!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.