Writers logo

CHALLENGE YOURSELF

30 DAYS OF THE ARTIST'S WAY

By Vernie Evangelista-EspañolaPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
1
photo edited by the writer using Photoescape X

For years, I have the book "The Artist's Way by Julia Cameron" sitting nicely on my bookshelf or once upon a time, languishing in one of those boxes, when I felt my bookshelves were about to start some revolution of sorts.

It is already hunting me in my dreams and I hear it calling out to me.

"Read me Vernie! Please read me! Or even in a jealous rage…"Vernie enough of Stephen King, Anne Rice, Neil Gaiman, F.Sionil Jose!!!"

I took some time off from the many years working in the BPO industry to devote time to reading and go back to my love of writing.

Actually, it wasn't easy…I was suffering from the so-called writer's block. I haven't wrote anything which is not emails or a bombardment of text messaging using either Slack, MS Teams or whatever communication platform is available.

Whenever I try something it comes out like an emoji, I do miss writing in long form or putting into words something that can change the world. (yeah…I know that is too ambitious, the idealist in me is saying the pen is still mightier than the sword).

The blank pages of my several notebooks are already screaming out to me for attention. My LibreOffice Word Processing software's white screen is like being stuck in a time loop taken from one of those episodes of Black Mirror.

To add insult to injury, my "Imposter Syndrome" is invading my whole being, wreaking havoc and I feel I want to exile myself to the Fortress of Solitude!

And so here I was, I bought the Artist's Way ages ago and only noticed it during the lowest point of my life - -I say lowest because I started imagining drinking beers with Charles Bukowski and Ernest Hemingway somewhere in the Mediterranean Sea.

Sorry, Julia Cameron…but now I admit you are rescuing me from oblivion! So there it begun…the magic of every day doing those "Morning Pages."

HEALING THROUGH CREATIVITY

One of the key elements of "The Artist's Way" is the concept of Morning Pages - the practice of writing three pages of stream-of-consciousness every morning. This ritual serves as a form of mental decluttering, allowing individuals to purge their minds of worries, fears, and distractions.

It serves as a mindfulness practice. It creates space for clarity, inspiration, and insight.

The daily appointments of writing down almost anything that comes to mind can lead to a certain degree of mental well-being and resilience.

A SELF-CARE RITUAL

"A weekly artist date is remarkably threatening - -and remarkably productive." (page 19, The Artist's Way)

Cameron emphasizes the importance of Artist Dates - solo excursions designed to nurture the inner artist and ignite the senses. Whether taking a nature walk, visiting an Art Gallery or experimenting with a new recipe, Artist Dates encourages self-nurturing and playfulness.

These experiences replenish the spirit, spark curiosity, and remind individuals of the joy found in simple moments of creative exploration.

A GUIDEBOOK NOT JUST FOR WRITERS

Regardless, whatever life stage you are in. This book is for everyone.

Cameron challenges readers to confront their inner critics, accept imperfection, and cultivate a sense of self-acceptance. Through gentle encouragement and following those practical exercises, individuals learn to take risks, and embrace the creative journey.

In order for you to fully appreciate this process, the book is divided into 12 Weeks and be prepared to have a notebook to write down or practice what is required on those suggested exercises. Whatever works for you, it can be a combination of analog and digital notetaking (Which I do sometimes, using Notion or Obsidian).

CULTIVATING PURPOSE

It has worked wonders for me so far as I have learned to face my vulnerability and inner voice. I have discovered what I have "lost" years ago and found its way again.

I am now finishing a draft of a short fiction and some gloomy poetry which have been my "signature", and given me the courage to pivot into a new career.

I have taken upon myself to dig deeper and take 30 days to challenge myself doing the "Morning Pages". The quietness and sipping a cup of hot coffee foster a deeper connection to myself as I write down what comes to mind every morning when everyone is still asleep.

It does offer a holistic approach and healing. Beyond the realm of artistic expression, in a world that often values productivity over presence, "The Artist's Way" serves as a gentle reminder to nurture the soul and honor the creative spark within.

LifeInspirationGuides
1

About the Creator

Vernie Evangelista-Española

I love writing poetry and short fiction.I am a Bibliophile and a Coffee Addict. I like Horror Movies and Vampires... Don't worry I don't bite! World Peace!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • SW14 days ago

    I love your courage to share how you feel. Keep going and never give up. What you write touches people.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.