Writers logo

Author Events

Mysterious Galaxy - California

By Natasja RosePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
16
Author Events
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

I've done a lot of bookstalls, written numerous articles, dispensed plenty of advice, and even given a few speeches about writing.

I've reached the point where I actually have people keep an eye out for me and my stall at events. It's thrilling and terrifying at the same time.

Now, I'm about to do my first solo author event.

My Dad and Step-mother live not far from this bookstore, and let me know that they frequently do Author events, especially for Authors who don't have the visibility of a publishing house behind them.

Around August, I reached out by email to arrange a date, preferably during the time when I'd be visiting for Christmas. That took some back and forth negotiating around the Seasonal Shutdown and my extremely fixed fly-in/fly-out dates, but we managed.

Next was sorting out the books themselves. Mysterious Galexy would take however many books I wanted to provide them on consignment for up to a month before the event. People could buy copies, and I'd sign them on the day. I paid $100 up-front as a booking/shelf-space fee, which would be refunded if I sold more than 10 copies in the month of December.

Then I had to choose which books I wanted to promote and talk about. At that point, I had three Jane Austen Variations in print, with a fourth due for release in November. Two were Fantasy Variations, the other two counted as Speculative Fiction, and it was a subject that I could confidently talk about for hours on end.

I ordered 15 copies of each book. It was more than I expected to sell, but I'd be taking any spares home with me, and it would save me the hassle of having to order new copies for my next bookstall. Maybe I'd even get lucky and sell most of them.

I co-ordinated with the manager about what would be involved, (a speech/presentation, Q&A, followed by a book signing) and started planning. Jane Austen Variations have the advantage of an inbuilt and very enthusiastic fandom, so there was a good chance I wouldn't end up talking to an empty room.

I also wouldn't be the only one promoting myself, either, which makes for a nice change.

Admittedly, the speech is still only about half-written, but finishing things at the last minute is a habit of mine. I know what I want to say, but anyone on this site will know the difference between having an idea and actually writing it down...

It's a little over a week before the event, the books have arrived, as have the business cards that I ordered for myself, in case the audience wants to read my Vocal short stories and non-Austen works.

I'm currently battling a bout of Imposter Syndrome, and trying to convince my Brain Weasels that I deserve the opportunity to take chances and try new things.

(It's a work in progress.)

I've always had terrible stage fright leading up to public speaking, only for my nerves to vanish once I open my mouth. Hopefully that trend continues.

On the bright side, if it turns into a complete flop, it's likely to be at least a year before I come back to San Diego, and hopefully everyone will have forgotten about it.

Most of my events take place in NSW, Australia, though I'm finally reaching the point where I may branch out to Supanova in other capitol cities.

If you want to know more about self-publishing, hosting bookstalls or promotional events, I'm available to chat through the Facebook link on my profile.

If you found this article helpful, consider leaving a heart or a comment. Tips are appreciated, but not necessary.

ResourcesInterviewsGuidesAdvice
16

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author5 months ago

    Great? Wishes for success 😊

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    All the best! Congrats on your top story!

  • Congratulations & best wishes for your continued success.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! So excited for you!!!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Very exciting for you, and so much work. I know it will be worth it. Congratulations

  • Call Me Les5 months ago

    Phenomenal news! I'm so excited for you. Bravo!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    How exciting, I admire your spirit of "give it a go"!

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    How exciting! Wishing you all.the best!!

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    I wish you the best of luck. Having read a lot of your Vocal submissions, I can tell you know your stuff, so be strong. it sounds exciting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.