Writers logo

A Story Every Day - Prompts For April 2024 (and a challenge for my birthday)

Prooooooompts! Proooooooompts! Gitchore prompts here! Hot prompts, fresh prompts, word prompts, character prompts, mythical beast prompts aaaaaand my personal favourite MY BIRTHDAY PROMPT 😁

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
14
Thank you, AI.

Are you still with me?

April is almost here already, and I failed to post a list of prompts for March, so I thought I'd better get cracking and post these!

Read on for a mix of:

  • calendar related prompts
  • photo prompts
  • a character prompt
  • a word prompt
  • a mythical beast prompt
  • general prompts
  • and a challenge

("Prompts" is a weird sounding word, isn't it?)

First, here's a reminder why I'm posting these!

My Unofficial Story Every Day in 2024 Challenge (mostly for myself)

The aim: to post EVERY DAY in 2024. Here's the post about it, and the follow-up.

My criteria:

  • Microfiction, with a word count of 366
  • The prompts are aids only, not challenges (unless you want to use them that way).
  • It doesn't have to be perfect. Hopefully a decent standard, but not perfect. Perfection is the enemy of creativity, no? The idea is to get the juices flowing. Stories that are short and sweet, and plenty of them.
  • There's a way to keep your streak going if you know in advance you won't be able to get online on certain dates

Let's start with prompts linked to a date:

  • 2nd - World Autism Awareness Day:- a story with an autistic protagonist
  • 12th - International Day of Human Space Flight:- you're on the first commercial passenger flight to Mars. What's it like? What happens?
  • 22nd - Earth Day:- a micro to promote the protection and preservation of Mother Earth
  • If your birthday is in April, write a micro that is autobiographical

April Showers

  • a story that heavily features rain
  • a story set on a grey planet where it rains all the time

Since I missed March...

  • It was Women's History Month - write a story with no male characters at all.
  • Here in the UK, Mothers' Day was on the 10th March - write a story about mothers' love

Lockdown

It's been 4 years since the start of lockdown in the UK. Can you believe that? Here's some suggestions around that:

  • Write about your experience of lockdown as a microfiction. You can decide where the beginning, middle and end points are.
  • Write about a plague that affects humanity
  • Write about a lockdown for reasons other than a pandemic

Photo Prompts

By Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash
By Tom Winckels on Unsplash
By Nong on Unsplash
By Mike Ko on Unsplash
By Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

    Character Prompt

    • an historical microfiction about a woman from history.

    Word Prompt

    • a story inspired by or including the word "bopmuggered". *To find oneself in a very bad situation.)

    Mythical Beast Prompt

    So far this year, I've done prompts about dragons and sea creatures. Since it's Spring, rebirth and reawakening seems like a fitting topic. Let's do the phoenix. Write me a phoenix story!

      More prompts

      • a micro in the style of The Animals of Farthing Wood
      • a story that heavily features the colour green
      • a micro from the perspective of an animal
      • the story of an invention of a thing (any thing, real or imagined). Your MC is the inventor, probably.
      • a prison break story set in a zoo
      • a story about quarrelling neighbours
      • a private investigator for fairy folk
      • a superhero story told from the perspective of the sidekick
      • a "witch's coven", which is actually a cult, and an actual witch who is trying to break free of it
      • you're a student in a drug trial, which gives you some funky abilities. What are they and what happens next?
      • aliens land and bring humanity a gift, but there's a catch. What's the gift? What's the catch?

      A Prompt and an unofficial CHALLENGE - April

      **F--ked Up Fairy Tales**

      It's my birthday, and I wants it

      If you know me, you know how I love a fucked up fairy tale.

      • Take an old fairytale, fuck it up, and condense it to 300-366 words
      • Link back to me!
      • Link to your story in the comments 👇
      • Closing date the 30th April
      • $10 tip to the winner

Notes on the challenge:

I would love collaboration to choose a winner. If you'd like to volunteer as tribute, please use the comment section. Emphasis on the word "volunteer"; I'm afraid the role is entirely unpaid.

I'd also like to get some input from you lovely lot when it comes time to pick one, depending how many participate. I'll do a follow up and go into more detail about that in the next couple of days 😁

Thank you!

Thank you for reading!

If you use any of these, please let me know!

If you have a story prompt, please share it in the comments.

CommunityPromptsChallenge
14

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle7 days ago

    I love all these prompts! I also love how you organize everything, so easily readable! Thanks, L.C.!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    VOLUNTEER!

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    First of all happy birthday and congratulations on your challenge!!!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Can't wait to see what I can come up with for the challenge! :)

  • Bopmuggered Fairy Tales--that has a fun ring to it. Another great set of prompts, L.C. Let's see what the month brings & will allow.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Happy Birthday Month to you, L.C.!!! That makes you a Diamond Girl (birthstone) I wrote a photo prompt with 366 words: https://vocal.media/fiction/her-name-was-princess-lora

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Advance Happy Birthday 🎁🎂🎈! You are like the Energizer bunny, shooting out theses stories

  • Bopmuggered happens to be what my life is. My whole life is a bad situation 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Oooo, you know how I love twisted retellings of fairytales. So I'm looking forward to reading the entries to those!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Boomuggered! Ha! Best word I’ve heard in a long time. I can’t believe it’s been four years since lockdown. Holy moly. This was great. Cheers for the prompts.

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    Hey these prompts are awesome! Since April is your cake day month, happy early Birthday L.C.! Wishing you only joy and sunshine for it :) I'll have to see if I can find the right story for a few of these and hope to join that challenge! A fucked up fairy tale, eh? Well well... this is going to be fun :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.