Wander logo

When is it Time for you to Travel Solo?

I learned I was ready to go when I booked my first solo trip to Ireland.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago β€’ 4 min read
3
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

I just booked my solo trip to Ireland and felt a moment of guilt when I submitted my payment. My inner voice tapped me on the shoulder. Shouldn't you take someone with you? In a moment of self-reflection, it hit me. Wait a second. I bust my ass, save where I can, always taking care of others, yet don't pay myself back. So, f*ck no! I'm going solo, baby! 🀘

I've traveled (a little) on my own, but it's nothing to brag about. The times I've taken solo trips, it's been en route to meet up with others. However, I've never actually vacationed alone before.

When I broke the news to my husband, he was a little surprised - and confused at the same time. Giving you the Cliffs Notes version, our discussion went something like this:

Me: So, I'm going to Ireland in August.

Hubs: Mmmmm...Okay.

Me: Ummm...I'd like to go by myself, though.

Hubs: *Cocks his head* Oh?

At this moment, I blurt out all of the reasons why I should go solo, including:

  • You hate flying
  • You've never wanted to go to Ireland
  • It's a super active walking tour
  • I want to, and I'll be completely safe with a tour group
  • I'm tired of waiting to explore the world off of other people's schedules.

Hubs: Okay! Have fun.

Whew, and Viola! Here I am counting down the days until I can plant my feet on the Emerald Isle.

I feel that not only will I love The Land of Saints and Scholars, but I'll discover a newfound confidence in realizing I don't need permission to live life. I also don't need to wait to schedule around another's time constraints.

When I broke the news on my social media, everyone was excited for me but started to pump the breaks when I said that I was going (mostly) solo.

I say 'mostly' because I'm going with a tour group. However, this is a company that I have used before with my mother and felt completely safe.

The Questions are Rolling In

There are two types of reacions that I received when I announced I was going to travel solo. Some were excited, enthusastic, and throwing me some online highfives. πŸ™Œ On the other side of the court, some gasped, were confused, and had concerns. Then the questions started rolling in, such as:

Q: Aren't you going to be lonely?

A: Nope! I'm with a tour group. If I don't like my companions, activate the headphones.

Q: What will you do by yourself?

A: Whatever the f*ck I want with no questions asked and no compromises.

Q: Can't you wait until [Person X, Y, or Z] can go with you?

A: I could,...but I'm not going to. I'm the conductor of this train, so either you're on board or off. I have an unknown expiration date, and I'm not putting a hitting pause on any moment I have to live and experience life to the fullest. Choo choo! πŸš‚

When Is Your Solo Trip?

I'm asking all single ladies, single men, and homemakers. I'm also looking at the single parents, divorcees, widows/widowers, and anyone who's simply got the wanderlust itch: What are you waiting for?

To be fair, I understand that's a very loaded question, and everyone's situation is not the same. Many factors, such as schedule and finances, make it especially difficult for single parents and divorcees!

For streamlining this conversation, take a moment to reflect if you have both available. If you don't, 100% respect and keep working hard, but please ensure you find a way to take care of yourself! Even if it's as simple as a bubble bath listening to Bob Marley, treating yourself to a movie, or getting a massage.

Anyone else who sees an opportunity on their calendar and has some extra bucks for a trip, what is stopping you?!

If you're not going into debt, put yourself into a financial bind, have the desire and the opportunity: JUST GO!

What I'm Looking Forward to Discovering as a Solo Traveler

I'm looking forward to taking my first (mostly) solo trip. In fact, I think I'm going to learn some exciting things, including:

  • A new level of relaxation; After all, there's no one else to worry about on this trip other than myself.
  • I'm braver than I give myself credit for
  • Solo travel may be my new addiction.
  • I have time for self-reflection; This is the most empowering since I've been primarily involved with taking care of others more than myself.

Other Solo Travelers

I'm an active reader and writer on Medium and Vocal. As a result, I've gotten to know the insights of many people with a lot more experience than myself. However, allow me to spotlight a few individuals who have helped give me the motivation and shed the fear of traveling solo.

I highly recommend giving them a read or a follow. Perhaps, you'll find the same motivation I did to fly solo on your next adventure. Here are some of my favorite solo travel writers, no matter the platform you're active on:

Medium

Vocal

Have you traveled solo lately? If so, how did it go? Where'd you go? Consider replying in the comments about what motivated you to travel solo!

If you like this story, consider giving these articles a read! πŸ‘‡

Hearts ❀️ and tips οΈπŸ’Έ are always welcome and much appreciated as they help support my writing! πŸ™

travel advice
3

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.