Wander logo

My Proposal

Some memorable golf.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 20 days ago Updated 19 days ago 4 min read
8
Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

Disclaimer: The following story contains a lot of boring golf jargon being spouted from a non-golfer wife who is probably using most of the vocabulary wrong. Reader discretion is advised.

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

  

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

The wind whipped through the tall pines that surrounded the first tee box, which caused them to sway. They groaned, and it echoed through the mid-morning air on The Copper Point Golf Course.

 

I shivered as I brushed my hair out of my face, regretting my choice of clothing. Or lack-there-of. Shorts and a sheen white top were not great golfing attire to begin with. Never mind for a windy BC day.

 

The sun shone brightly over the freshly trimmed greens and well-groomed fairways. Creating picturesque views of the rocky mountains that gleamed as a backdrop on this gorgeous summer’s day. Everything a golfer and his ride-along non-golfer girlfriend could ask for.

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

I watched from the cart as my husband approached the first tee box, still regretting my wardrobe choices, but it was too late to fix that now. Besides, I had more important things on my mind.

I had a well-laid plan to hide any suspicion of what I had in store for us. So I was taking an excessive amount of pictures, thinking that would keep his suspicions from arising.

However, being me, nothing ever goes according to plan.

 

Anyone who knows me (HK, at the time but now HKB) will say I’m the least sneaky person they know. Meaning I am most likely to get caught when planning a surprise or anything of that nature.

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

So after about one hundred pictures between the first tee and the eighth, my boyfriend’s patience was wearing thin.

“How many pictures do you need of us posing together?” He’d complained with great frustration as we pulled up to the eighth tee box.

 

“I just want to remember the course. I don’t ride along with you very often.” Was the best causal response I could think of… But what I actually said was, “Sorry, I’m such a distraction for you.” Or something to that effect. Obviously, with a lot more sass than a woman of my stature should be able to wield.

 

Great work H, pick a fight on what might be one of the most special days of your life. That’ll make this romantic and sweet story to tell everyone…

NOT!!

 

But, in my own defence, the closer we got to the tenth hole, the more nervous I got. Which either makes me barely able to function or cracky, as seen above.

 

You see, I had plans for the tenth hole because it backed onto the halfway house. It had the best view of the Rocky Mountains on the entire course. Which made it the most picturesque place to pop the question and take some memorable photos/ videos of the moment.

 

Which now brings us back to the eighth hole. I was shaking from nervousness. Luckily, I could pass it off as just being chilly on the slightly windy summer’s day.

My stomach was in knots as he sank the putt on the eighth green.

I had one more hole to pull myself together before I asked the question that would change the course of our lives.

I was about to lose my nerve to do this thing at all when we pulled alongside the ninth tee box and suddenly all nervousness faded away.

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

A wonderfully placed thicket of trees encased this cute little par three, hiding us from anyone who didn’t know we would be there. This was the perfect spot. Forget the overly picturesque views for a backdrop. This was all we needed to make our special moment, ours and ours alone.

 

He chipped it from the fairway to the green and we carted up next to it.

While he lined up his putt, I put my plan into action. I started setting up the camera (my iPhone). I propped it up on the cart near his golf bag, hoping the wind wouldn’t knock it over.

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox) - not the putt mentioned in above text but still a nice picture in my opinion.

Spoiler alert, it didn’t get knocked over. The wind just blew the towel on his bag in the way, so we missed most of the proposal in the video.

But I was able to get a small screenshotted glimpse of me on one knee, between flaps of that stupid towel. (See below)

 

Photo Taken by HKB (Donna Fox)

 

He said yes!!

And that is the story of how I asked my boyfriend to marry me. We’re now happily married and have spent 2.5 years happily choosing each other every day.

 

Although this story may be unconventional, it is one of our favourite memories from our many travels to BC. Not to mention the once-in-a-lifetime moment we now share with that golf course, which is what made that trip so unforgettable.

 

Author’s Note:

He has since visited that course with the accompaniment of his friends on guys’ trips. But every time he reaches the green on the ninth hole, he snaps a photo and captions it “I said yes, here.”

 

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed this nonfiction about how I asked my boyfriend to become my fiancé and eventually my husband.

 

- HKB (aka Donna Fox)

couples travelcanadaactivities
8

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins16 days ago

    Happy belated congrats on the proposal and the marriage, Donna. Definitely a story worth sharing and a great entry!

  • Andrea Corwin 19 days ago

    Awww so sweet! What a great idea and happy he said YES! I used to golf, don’t now but sometimes ride while hubby does looking at wildlife. 🫶🏻❤️

  • Alexander McEvoy19 days ago

    That story was so fucking cute Donna!!! Reading it just filled me with joy and hope 🥰 I love happy real life stories 💖 Congrats on 2.5years! Wishing you many happy returns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also, Alex is cute as heck with his tradition of taking that photo :3 I can’t handle it. Exactly the kind of thing I’d do 😅 I’ve heard a lot of people saying that at the penultimate moment the nerves just vanish when the choice is right :) and I definitely think you made the right choice with the spot. That was a beautiful spot (Also p.s. never underestimate the sass potential of a short {I’ve no idea how tall you are} woman! The scariest and sassiest I know are all a lot short than me 😇)

  • Mark Gagnon19 days ago

    I guess you could call this a hole-in-one. Nice story, Donna and although we've never met, it fits my image of you.

  • Delightful tale & fabulous scenery! What could go wrong?😵‍💫 Better for the video to fail, but get a Yes! in response to your proposal 😍Excellent 🤩

  • Hannah Moore19 days ago

    Awe, a lovely read. Or it would have been if you were just a little warmer.

  • Omggggg, that was sooooo sweet and adorable! 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍 Also, I know you said that he spent years trying to convince you to marry him so all this while I just assumed that it was him who popped the question! Imagine my surprise while reading this, lol. I was able to relate to you shaking from nervousness as I've experienced that soooo many times. Lol at "Sorry I'm such a distraction for you" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I know nothing about golf but I enjoyed this so much! Your photos were beautiful and that screenshot of you on your knees asking him to marry you has my heart 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Caroline Craven20 days ago

    Great story! So romantic! And thanks for finally making golf interesting!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.