Wander logo

A journey of first times, celebrations, and beauty

An old fashioned of special value

By Paul RussellPublished 21 days ago 5 min read
2

This photo holds significant value for me, in ways I will happily show you below in one of the best holidays I have ever had…

Scotland, summer 2023. The first time for many, and significantly my brother in law. I love the guy dearly as he has been the rock for my sister, the father to my beautiful nieces and a sense of laughter for us all for many years. This holiday to Fort Augustus was a first for him as he had never visited Scotland before. My family and I hadn’t been since my childhood (30 years ago) and my nieces had never been.

The first breathtaking views of Glencoe stole our breath away. The size of the mountains had Lord of the Rings vibes in their wildness and striking aura. They were also strangely inviting, with Ossain’s Cave looming high up, making the imagination run wild, just wondering if a dragon was resting in there…

The sheer number of lakes Scotland has will give you endless pause as well. The amount of conversations we had that were cut short from corners turned where a wide vista spread before us, showing enormous bodies of water with huge sloping sides to the mountains on the other side, were numerous.

Humbly did I realise upon seeing these scenes that as much as I love my country of England, it doesn’t have the sheer size of beauty Scotland has.

Walks dotted here and there were frequent as we just had to take in the scenes and the tranquillity Scotland has in spades.

It is not something you can just drive passed easily.

One moment of light hearted silliness arrived when my sister remarked on where all the Scottish pubs are. “It seems like they have more lakes than pubs!” I kid you not, this is what I found upon researching this; England has around 27,000 pubs, Scotland has around 5000-6000, so no wonder we struggled a bit! Incidentally they have way more lakes than England have pubs as well with some 30,000 lochs to their impressive and stunning country!

In celebration of my sister’s birthday we had a lovely meal in The Whispering Pine Lodge overlooking Loch Lochy, that was such an idyllic place to be that we found ourselves in a state of zen just looking over the water. A large pleasure boat was sailing past in this moment and I couldn’t help but transport my mind to that vessel, imagining having a morning coffee, reading a book and being immersed in all that peace…

Our caravan site as well in Fort Augustus had that sense of peace of its own with it being fairly new and not that busy yet. My parents and I stayed in a beautiful caravan whilst my sister and her family enjoyed their larger lodge, with views of the Scottish hills in the distance. Short walk into central Fort Augustus and we saw cricket matches being played, the swing bridge and lochs of the Caledonian Canal and shortbread just about everywhere we looked!

The Loch Ness Cruise was an experience in two halves. Lovely and sunny on the way up (it doesn’t go all the way, Loch Ness is very large at 23 miles long!) as we heard the Loch Ness Monster myth. We were told where the creature may once have settled on the coastline...amongst many other fanciful tales narrated to us with an approrpiate sense of humour!

The second half on the return there was no narrative (that we could hear anyway!) as the weather turned and came with strong winds and rain. Nearly everyone on top of the boat went to the bottom deck to escape it but my sister, brother in law and I didn’t mind it. It was strangely refreshing. All channelling through his first time in Scotland as well as my sister’s birthday, we just made the best of it laughing as we got soaked and taking photos as we went. I even helped a different couple also choosing to brave the elements take photos of themselves all zipped up to the hilt with their hoods included, for comical effect!

Memories are made of moments like this…

We also visited the Glenfinnan Viaduct famous for its stunning views as well as the location of many a film, mostly notable the Harry Potter scene with the flying car! All of the family loved the quiet location that place had too, with the walks up the hillside, offering more views (you really are spoilt for these in Scotland!) and my nieces certainly loved the climb! The history of the location appealed to my parents as well.

Eilean Donan Castle in the Western Highlands is also rich in history dating as far back as Alexander II as we, once again (after sampling all of the history of the building) enjoyed the highly refreshing Scottish air as we also explored the outside areas.

Further into the Highlands we drove as we passed Buachaille Etive Beag, a mountain in the Glencoe region where the territory is a walkers paradise. Views aplenty and the River Coe travelling through dramatic waterfalls to calm trickling brooks (in comparison!) flow further downstream.

We also took a trip down memory lane did my sister, parents and I as we headed to the lodges of the Great Glen Water Park where, when I was a child we were here. It was so surreal to see how the park had changed over the years and I was quietened by the distant but beautiful memories I have of this area.

My Brother-in-law and I, enjoy our whisky as well, found ourselves at home in Scotland! We did want to go to a distillery but, as this was not to everyone else’s taste, I improvised.

Purchasing a bottle of Glen Moray, I learned that the distillery was only a few hours from where we staying. Deciding to make an Old Fashioned cocktail I made it and presented it, with the Scottish Hills viewable from the balcony of the lodge. The photo for me, perfectly represents the peace the holiday had overall. The sharp bold flavours of the drink reminiscent of the strong weather we experienced. The cold, distant feel to the hills in the background like so many that we saw in Glencoe, Eilean Donan and Glenfinnan reminding me of the vastness Scotland has to its Highlands. The striking colour of the drink offset to the slightly muted colours surrounding it just stands out for me in a way that gave me pause again after I took it.

This was truly a holiday like no other.

family travel
2

About the Creator

Paul Russell

A creative thinker with a desire for story telling, happiness and laughter giving, joy filled times in life as we all need a dose of this on the regular no? Stories to thrill, delight, maybe cause a chuckle or two, will be here soon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roderick Makim19 days ago

    Would love to visit Scotland one day and do a distillery tour around the whole country. I might not remember much of the trip in the end, but I am sure I will have a good time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.