Viva logo

Twelve Months With No Period!

Wish Me a Merry Menopause!

By Rebecca MortonPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
17
Twelve Months With No Period!
Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

If you are a woman between the ages of 45 and 55, you know the significance of twelve successive months with no period. It means, according to medical experts, IT’S OVER!!!

And for me, January 29, 2023 was the day. Exactly twelve months before that was the first day of my last period. There is no way I could be pregnant, so this is the day I’d been waiting for since I was twelve years old!

I remember the day of my very first period clearly. I was visiting my grandmother for two weeks the summer my parents moved to a new house in New Jersey. My grandmother lived in Walla Walla, Washington. I'm not kidding. I felt so far away from my family and friends. My grandmother slept late every morning, but I was still on East Coast Time, so I woke early.

I got the shock of my life (until then, anyway), when I went to the bathroom and saw blood. I knew what it was, but I wanted it to happen at home, not in Walla Walla! I didn't even know how to tell my grandmother what had happened. She was like the old lady in the Sylvester and Tweetie cartoons, seeming blissfully unaware of any drama or upsetting situations anywhere.

I picked up the upstairs hallway phone and called my mother in New Jersey. It was 1979 and long distance phone calls, in the words of my parents, "cost a fortune". But who else could I talk to? My mother was surprisingly understanding about my situation and my calling long distance. She asked if there were any "supplies" there.

"If I were home," I thought, "I would have that starter box of supplies all of us sixth grade girls got from the nurse at school during our 'girls only special meeting' a few months back. Why couldn't I be home?"

Then I remembered my twenty-year-old cousin was staying in Grandma's house for the summer. She was usually out at her summer job, so I didn't see her much during the days there. I looked in the bathroom, and there was everything I needed, thanks to her.

Fast forwarding forty years and two children later: my periods began to get strange and infrequent. Before January 29, 2022, it had been ten months with no period, and I thought I was almost there, but, alas, my “ladies’ time” appeared. Before that, it was, I think, five months, and before that, another ten. It was a weird and unpredictable two years in the period department, which I understand is normal for gals my age.

So now that it's 2023 and my "monthlies" are over, what's next? Do I let my hair go gray? Do I start wearing pantsuits with matching hats? Do I learn a craft involving yarn?

Do I have to enjoy The Golden Girls now? Sorry, but that won’t happen. My kids would call this a “hot take”: I never found that show funny. Good theme song, though! I know it was a hit song before that show began. You know why I know that?

BECAUSE I’M OLD!!!

But not really. My dad is still alive, and I don't have grandchildren yet, not that I’m putting any pressure on my kids to give me those. I just mean I don’t feel old yet, not that there’s anything wrong with being old, whatever that means these days.

I look forward to my golden years, should I be blessed to live long and healthily. I am already exercising more in the past few months and trying to eat healthier foods so I can enjoy the years to come.

I want to be a fun old lady who’s having fun. And I want to look like this:

By RepentAnd SeekChristJesus on Unsplash

But, if I don’t get to travel around the world and/or wear a sombrero, I am content to be this lady:

By Joseph Chan on Unsplash

Or this tough lady on a train:

By Aris Sfakianakis on Unsplash

For now, I’ll be happy not to have to worry about “that time of the month” for the rest of my life! Absolutely no more “visits from my Aunt Flo”! Bye, Flo!

____________________________________________________This story was originally published on Medium.com.

healthbody
17

About the Creator

Rebecca Morton

An older Gen X-er, my childhood was surrounded by theatre people. My adulthood has been surrounded by children, first my students, then my own, and now more students! You can also find me on Medium here: https://medium.com/@becklesjm

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • George Jefferson6 months ago

    Admittedly, we have all been there. battling to do homework on time, studying excessively for tests, and holding out hope that our grades will magically go better. Regretfully, the battle with grades and academic achievement can seem never-ending to a lot of us. Don't be alarmed, though, since there is hope for the future. And Muyern Trust Hacker is the source of that illumination. When it comes to finding the right solution for our academic challenges, the options can seem overwhelming. From tutors to study groups, there are countless services out there claiming to help improve grades. But let's be honest, not all of them are as magical as they claim to be. That's why my search led me to Muyern Trust Hacker - a name that caught my attention and sparked my curiosity. Upon further investigation, I discovered that Muyern Trust Hacker is not your average academic assistance service. They bring a whole new level of wizardry to the table (minus the pointy hats and magic wands, of course). Their team of experts is dedicated to helping students like us upgrade our grades and succeed academically. They assist students in achieving their academic objectives through a thorough and planned approach. Their approach blends customized tactics, specialized methods, and a dash of insider academic knowledge. if you find yourself in the midst of an academic struggle and need a boost to upgrade your grades, consider enlisting the help of Muyern Trust Hacker by writing them via email: muyerntrusted (At) mail-me (dot) com or contact on Telegram for fast communication (@)muyerntrusthacker

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I see this in my near future. And I found that picture of the old lady in the sombrero the other day and had the same reaction! Thought it was cool that you'd included it. I am hoping that the day that "Aunt Flo" stays away is liberating for me too. Onwards and upwards!

  • Congratulations on Top Story! My period story is literally the exact opposite (location wise) as yours. We just moved from Tacoma, Washington to New Jersey. And, bam, that's when mine hit during my 6th grade year. This is why sharing is caring 💖

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this. It's a perspective we don't hear enough. Congrats!

  • Test6 months ago

    Congratulations on 🔝 story 🎊

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Congratulations! I'm hoping there will be fewer migraines on the other side of that milestone.

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Been there. It wasn't so dramatic for me as I never had period pain. I've also let my hair grow grey during the pandemic, but couldn't withstand peer pressure from my mom - she is 74 and still colors her hair. Also, did you watch Grace and Frankie? That's definitely a better "mature chick sitcom" than Golden Girls.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    hahahaha, congrats!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Yay. Bye, Flo. Congrats on the TS.

  • Mohamed Benaili6 months ago

    congratulations

  • Sarah Glass6 months ago

    Oh I loved this! This was so fun to read and congratulations on Top Story and no more visits from Flo!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.