Viva logo

Beauty Marked

Making the shift from external to internal beauty

By Kidada AmaniPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
17
Beauty Marked
Photo by thom masat on Unsplash

It intrigues me sometimes the things we find beauty in. However, as a licensed esthetitician and artist, with years of experience in this segment of industry, I've witnessed firsthand how people's perceptions of beauty can impact their self-esteem and create a desire to conform to societal expectations. The paradoxical nature of beauty becomes evident as individuals seek to alter their appearance while simultaneously using makeup to boost their confidence and self-perception. Having been in the makeup/beauty industry for over 20+ years, I often deal with the vein side of people, and with that comes the expectation of pleasing everyone and insecurities. So, while it is subjective, I don’t seek to judge it, only understand it.

For example, people often seek to be something they are not. The struggle of many individuals, including your friends, family, and those we know only through ‘social interaction’, who are constantly comparing themselves to others and striving to meet certain beauty standards. This constant comparison often leads to feelings of inadequacy and fuels the belief that one's appearance defines their self-worth. I’ve had request from clients to make lips bigger, skin darker, and my personal favorite, make me look like… (you fill in the blank). On the flip side of this, is the intention of others to use makeup to make them feel better about themselves, and who they may or may not be. Now don’t get me wrong, I am a firm believer in when we look better, we feel better, but to what extent?

It disturbed me when I had a friend cry uncontrollably over a bad haircut and make the statement, “I can’t let any man see me like this!” I even had a friend who has the most amazing body ever, constantly talk about how fat she is. I could go on for days, even with my own insecurities. At the end of the day, we go through all the aesthetics of beautifying ourselves for the intention of pleasing others outside ourselves. Let’s be honest, most of the world seems to focus on how they may be perceived by others, paralyzed by the theft of comparison.

We have all heard the expression, “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” or “beauty is only skin deep.” Both denote that beauty is subjective and cannot be based on what is seen. We all may not have the same features but can all claim to be one of a kind. God has fashioned us in many different ways to His liking. So, what if your lips may not be as full as the next person, they are yours to speak of the beautiful things you have experienced. And so, what if your feet may be bigger than the next; they are yours to walk the path that has been designed for you. And your eyes may not be the color you desire, however stop and take a look around with those same eyes and be thankful for all the beauty that surrounds you. Trust me, it gets hard for us to see ourselves the way that we were designed because we are focused on what we don’t possess physically and comparing our beauty to others. True beauty lies in the love, respect, and kindness we show to others, as well as the way we treat ourselves. Some of the most physically attractive people are the ugliest in character and just the opposite for some with a beautiful spirit and not so aesthetically pleasing on the outside.

Know that you are you for a reason, and the beauty of God’s love and respect are all that matters at the end of the day. Let this reflection serve as a powerful reminder to shift our focus from external comparisons to embracing our individuality and cultivating inner beauty. By doing so, we can find contentment and confidence in who we are, appreciating the unique beauty that each person possesses. And for those that truly love you, being you is all that is needed to leaving your lasting beauty mark.

pop culturebodybeauty
17

About the Creator

Kidada Amani

Champion for women, family and continuous learning|BeautyExpert|BusinessDevelopement| Influencer| Angelic Disruptor| Sneaker Freaker👟💖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)3 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this. It blessed me so much!

  • Joni Forbes9 months ago

    Thanks for writing this. I’m in the middle ground. I don’t seek enhancements so much but I love getting made up. However, because of the veneer if beauty that’s popular on social platforms I tend to hold back on posting pics that I love because it won’t be a well like as a filtered or enhanced pic. Definitely time to change. 😌

  • Thanks and appreciate all for taking time to read💖

  • Naveed Ahmed Syed9 months ago

    Embracing our individuality and cultivating inner beauty leads to lasting confidence and contentment, a true mark of beauty.

  • Aksaya Bandodker9 months ago

    Nice work, Great article! well done! You can check out my work too!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Congratulations!! 🎉

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯✨🎉💖

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Kidada, this is such a beautiful sentiment! Thank you for sharing - I think I needed this today. I was reminded of another expression while reading - we always want what we don't have. I personally have super straight hair, and I always want it curly. But my curly-haired friends would kill for my hair! Funny how we're never happy with the beauty we have.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.