Trader logo

Why I Purchased Some Shares in Vocal Media

Vocal Media's Reg CF Community Fund Round came at an opportune time.

By Justine CrowleyPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
43
Why I Purchased Some Shares in Vocal Media
Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Use what you own, and build up that nest egg, regardless as to what the economy is doing at any given moment. For some writers, Vocal Media is a site that is life changing, and for others, it can be quite misunderstood. Investing in Vocal Media shares is not a get rich quick scheme, and neither is being a writer (now part-owner and writer). Everything takes time. Egg hatching is no different to the time it takes for a caterpillar to turn into a butterfly.

By Diego PH on Unsplash

You never know when opportunity strikes, and for when things surprise you. Having your desired emergency savings taken care of, combined with taking care of any debt and other financial obligations; as hard as it can be sometimes; it is then imperative to put aside your spare change bit by bit, so that you have enough to take advantage of such opportunities in this capitalistic age.

Now to the all important question: why did I take advantage of Vocal Media's CF Reg Community round, and brought some shares?

It is all well and good to receive a badge of honour (or just that all important piece of paper) that says that you are in, when it comes; however you need to read every piece of information that lands on your desk; even if you choose to invest in the barebones minimum. Therefore, my decision making came though thinking out the pros and cons (cost-benefit analysis) in my mind, combined with how much I am prepared to lose. In other words, some critical fundamental analysis was applied.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Reg CF in America means Regulated Crowdfunding, and the terms look good, provided the nominated subscription amount is reached. The option of a potential ROI of $10 USD per share seems to be attractive, with the promise of a quarterly dividend payment. Like any form of stock investment; these types of assets need to be held for a longer time frame.

Personally, I invest in ETF's in Australia (where I am from), and those investor-writers living outside of the USA need to be mindful of currency risks, in addition to the generic risks that all investors face, like a potential loss of initial capital, in part or in full. The traction graph was quite interesting (from someone who has studied data analytics), noting that a significant 2 million creators have made the switch from other mediums to Vocal since the company's inception in 2017. In case you are wondering about the ETF's I invest in on the ASX; they are mainly Vanguard index trackers, from property to tracking the ASX200.

By Fabian Blank on Unsplash

Furthermore, like you might, I too might have my suspicions and concerns if Vocal Media pushed a community based investment opportunity like this one right off the bat in its early days of formation. However, the company waited at least six years to offer this opportunity up. And the shares can be transferred to someone else if s*!t (literally) hits the fan through some unexpected misfortune/s.

By 2H Media on Unsplash

It is also interesting to see where Vocal Media stands to other creator platforms like Medium and Wattpad, with strong upside growth potential. Why would you even take the liberty to worry about WordPress (sorry WordPress, you are a great product) when you can freely publish your voice on here, provided you meet community standards.

Either way, plagiarism (with or without AI) is a massive no no, and not standard best practice for a writer or writer-owner/investor; even if they choose to host their own blog elsewhere.

On the other hand, if Vocal Media were to offer this opportunity a couple of years ago, or back when I started as a writer; my answer would be no.

With maturity and experience on the platform, and the countless non-monetary (and the monetary) benefits that came through allowing my voice to be published on this creative platform in a myriad of ways; it is now a no brainer to own a small piece of this company.

By Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

What other site allows writers to publish in more than one community, without affecting your subscriber base? There are a few; yet evergreen content is encouraged, and that is what attracts views - in addition to having keyword rich titles; even though I am still a student as to how this platform works. This platform allows us writers to publish podcast and video links, and allows you to use royalty free Unsplash images, where the photographers name is instantly attributed, or you would have to take your own photographs. The Vocal + fee in itself is worth it for the image use, and for being able to publish non-writing related work portfolios, without the stress of running your own website, and paying hosting fees that easily add up.

Of course, we live in an uncertain world, and as this is a foreign investment for yours truly; the entry point of $100 USD is what I feel comfortable investing in, in this Reg CF offer. With time, I am sure that that amount has the potential to be added to. The offer in exchange for my injection of funds (and those of other writer-investors who are choosing to participate); the exchange is seen to be tangible.

In short, it encapsulates a sense of ownership, maturity, and responsibility. This is a by-product of owning not only what you use; but owning what you work with simultaneously.

Every business requires some hark yakka, and that is why payments as a writer on this platform has been slow the majority of the time. The personal development wins along the way, as a by-product of taking action is second to none.

I say yes to my writing work on Vocal Media as a side hustle, and despite that, I also say yes to being an investor. It is like adding another layer of freedom to your tool kit.

By micheile henderson on Unsplash

In addition to reading my perspective on this offer, more information can be found by reading here.

investing
43

About the Creator

Justine Crowley

Freelance Internet Moderator/UX Writer/UX Consulting Designer/Graphic Designer

http://smashwords.com/profile/view/JustineCrowley

linkedin.com/in/justinecrowley

Lives in Sydney, Australia. Loves life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • R N Sharma3 months ago

    Interesting read, love that you applying your experience to work. Keep rocking!

  • Annelise Lords 6 months ago

    I have purchased 50 shares and have yet to hear from anyone. It's been more than a month and I have sent emails and no one bothered to respond, I read your article and was happy I did. Now I am wondering if it is a scam. Shouldn't someone respond after th emoney was taken from my account?

  • saleem shigri7 months ago

    https://trade-commander.com/en/produkt/metatrader-interactivebrokers-order-copier/#aff=saleemshigri

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Still a skeptic, but this is a good reason to consider. Thank you for sharing.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I thought of writing a similar story, but decided to let someone else jump in about it. So glad I waited, as you have done it so eloquently. Honestly, I have invested without even knowing all the pro and cons. Reckless, yes, but I have done a bit of this b4. The wise will do their homework first. Congrats on TS and for making us wiser.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    You had me at ‘ promise of a quarterly dividend payment.’ I am seriously looking into this as a loooong term investment. You made some nice points. Thank you and congratulations

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Andrew Zuk8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • Rachel M.J8 months ago

    I invested, too! I agree, it feels great to 'own' a little of what you're using. Also, I have a feeling investing will make me even more inclined to use the platform... very clever on their part, haha!

  • Loki8 months ago

    Great work!

  • Phil Flannery8 months ago

    Thanks for sharing your educated opinion. I barely understood any of the jargon (not an investor). I am also in Australia and was about to throw my money in, until I got to the part where they asked for my net worth and yearly earnings. It's a $100 gamble, they don't need to know that. I love using this site, but there are elements of Vocal that bother me. I'm not much of a capitalist. Well done on the Top Story

  • Walterego8 months ago

    Intresting post

  • Judah LoVato8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! Well articulated!

  • Test8 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Love this! Thanks for sharing

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Thank You for this article greatly written Congratulation on Topstory !

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    I did also invest

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Thanks for this perspective! Been considering investing…great things to think about. 💫

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    As you stated there is a risk, invested in created the parent company of Vocal. Long story short, took my loss. When mentioning that I had shares, there were creators who mentioned that having stock in company would disqualify me from winning challenges. Since I lost money on the investment and sold the stock before my one runner up win, I don't know if that was fact or fiction.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Very persuasive!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was so interesting to read and have your thoughts on!

  • Chloe Gilholy8 months ago

    I can’t find Vocal on the Freetrade app which is the one I use.

  • True Crime Writer8 months ago

    Very insightful information. I do have one note to add. Unsplash images are available to use free anywhere you publish or post and can be downloaded directly from its website.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.