Styled logo

My Poshmark Experience Wasn't All Happy Poshing

My honest review of the online thrift store

By Jade M.Published 10 months ago 3 min read
2
Photo by cottonbro studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/women-checking-the-chest-full-of-clothes-6069566/

I’ve recently started a new job with an all black dress code, so I needed new clothes. I’ve been trying to lose weight and didn’t want to pay a lot for clothes that won’t fit me soon, so I decided to turn to thrifting. I downloaded Poshmark and was surprised to find that I already had an account. I didn’t think much of it as I looked through the black clothing and selected a few pieces to purchase.

My purchases went well, so I wanted to sell on Poshmark. I listed a few dress clothes that I couldn’t fit, and a few other things. I had fun digging through my closet and seeing the things I’d forgotten about. I finally got my first two sales and packaged them to send. I was planning to send them that day, but when I opened the sale email from Poshmark, I noticed that there wasn't a shipping label attached. I sell on both Mercari and Pangobooks, and they always send their labels via email.

I assumed that I could retrieve the shipping label through my account, but that wasn't the case. Poshmark wanted me to verify my address and phone number, but whenever I entered my phone number, I was hit with an error code that instructed me to contact support.

After I’d created my account, I’d gotten my phone number changed. I thought it would be an easy fix to change my phone number, so I emailed support and expected to have the labels by Monday. A few people from support reached out about ten hours later, telling me that there was nothing they could do because my account was in good standing. Another gave me instructions on how to get to the place where I could change my phone number, but it was the same thing I’d already done and did not help.

I decided to try calling Poshmark, but I was shocked to find that the only phone number listed led to a voice message claiming that they did not offer support through the phone. The accompanying voicemail message stated that the inbox was full. It seemed that there was no way to contact Poshmark.

I felt frustrated, so I found them on Twitter and sent a message. They did not wish to offer help, but they wanted me to give the appearance that they were helping me. They instructed me to speak to them in DM but only told me that they were not qualified to help me.

I even looked up Poshmark on the Better Business Bureau. It did not surprise me to see multiple complaints against the company, mostly from sellers. The complaints ranged from simple fixes like mine to sellers alleging that Poshmark always sides with the buyer. There were also complaints from people who alleged that their belongings were stolen.

Poshmark didn’t care about helping the sellers, so I sought help from other Poshmark sellers. I posted on Reddit, but no one responded, so I found a Facebook group. I explained what happened to me in as much detail as I could and was told that support is non-existent on the weekend and it’s currently a holiday weekend. Another user told me to open messages with the buyers and invite support in, so I did that.

Now I am waiting to see if Poshmark will help me, but I doubt it. I think I’m going to refund the buyers and list my items on Mercari. My experience with Poshmark started out positive but quickly turned negative. The help that I needed should have been a simple fix, but seems to be beyond what Poshmark support is capable of. I don’t think I’ll be using Poshmark to buy or sell in the future.

womenshoppingdeals
2

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    This sounds like a seriously frustrating experience. I used to buy/sell on Poshmark/Depop and found that Poshmark is great if you're a buyer but incredibly annoying when you're a seller. I hope it works out that you either get the shipping labels or can refund and re-upload your items somewhere else. :( I'm sorry you went through this!

  • I've had some online issues recently, not with this sort of company, but thank you for sharing this information.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.