Write Here, Write Now: The Blonde by Bebe King Nicholson

In Season 2 of Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast, host Erica Wagner interviews winners of the Vocal+ Fiction Awards

By Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal PodcastPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
10

Voyeurism is a fact of city life, but Bebe King Nicholson takes it to a new level with “The Blonde.” One woman's loneliness and nostalgia begin to bleed into the life story of another she sees from afar. Will imagination and reality collide, or will the window for that opportunity close too soon?

What was the impetus for your winning story? Walk us through your initial act of creation.

The seeds of my story began one morning as I drank coffee and watched construction of a high-rise apartment building across the street. Instead of looking through my bay window at the twinkling lights and endless panorama of my beloved city, I envisioned staring into the lives of other apartment dwellers. The neighborhood was changing, and I didn’t like what I saw. But unlike Emma Bates, the main character in my story, I made the choice to leave.

The city provided the backdrop for my story, but the theme that evolved was one of choice and regret. Every choice we make narrows future choices, and this sometimes leads to regret, as it did for Emma. But sometimes we glorify the life that might have been rather than living the life we are in. This imaginary life could be a delusion, as we never really know how things would have turned out. The blonde woman in my story embodies this delusion.

I started the story with a setting, with my regret at seeing the changes around me, and with a question. What would have happened if I had stayed? But that’s a different choice and a different story!

What does it take for a story to grab you? How do you grab your audience?

The thing that grabs me first is a character. If I become interested in a person, I am interested in what happens next. I grab my audience by presenting a character and a question. What is this person doing, and why? Introducing a character and a question early keeps the reader’s interest, especially if the reader is emotionally invested in the outcome.

Who are your favorite writers and why? Do you have any favorite Vocal Creators?

I cut my teeth on the classics, but I’m going to exclude those from my favorite writer’s list and focus more on what I’ve read lately. One of my current favorites is Ann Tyler. Her books always grab me because of the eccentric but relatable characters. She writes about ordinary people leading ordinary lives, but their quirks and idiosyncrasies take them in unexpected directions, as in *Morgan’s Passing.*

I’m also a fan of William Kent Krueger. He sympathizes with his flawed characters and their attempts to find meaning and spirituality in lives that are characterized by loss. In his books, there is always hope despite chaos, which is exemplified in *Ordinary Grace.*

For a plain old good read, I turn to bestselling author Liane Moriarty. She has that rare ability to create a popular page turner and fully fleshed out, interesting characters, as in *Apples Never Fall*and *What Alice Forgot.*

Since I write and read a lot of humor, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Jenny Lawson, who kept me I laughing out loud all the way through *Let’s Pretend This Never Happened*.

I’ve run across some terrific writers on Vocal Media. K Marley’s short historical fiction, "In The Company of Others," blew me away. I relished every word of EJ Ferguson’s story, "Until The Rain Stops," it was so beautifully done. And I loved the surprise ending of Meg Anderson’s "The Reunion."

How has sharing your writing in life and on Vocal affected you as a Creator?

Sharing my writing on Vocal Media has led me to a greater attention to and appreciation of excellent fiction. In recent years, I’ve focused more on nonfiction essays and articles, but Vocal Media has reaffirmed my love of fiction. A carefully crafted story that emphasizes universal, timeless themes should tug at the heartstrings by resonating with emotions we all have experienced.

What advice do you have for other Creators?

My advice would be to enter Vocal challenges and refuse to be discouraged. Whenever you write, you are practicing your craft. You will only get better. And you never know when your next story will touch, inspire, or motivate someone. Publishing our work is like tossing a pebble in a pond. Our stories might seem to drop into obscurity, but they are creating ripples that can have far-reaching effects. An example is the time I wrote a 150-word blog post that was spotted by a renowned doctor and writer who contacted me with words of encouragement and sent me signed copies of his own books. I have written stories that didn’t garner much attention until they were picked up by mainstream publishers. So keep at it and enjoy writing for writing’s sake. The rewards will come!

Stay tuned for new episodes of Write Here, Write Now Season 2 launching weekly.

10

About the Creator

Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast

Sex, death, relationships, nature, families... If you like to stop, think and consider things a little differently, join host Erica Wagner as she introduces a new Vocal creator’s story each week.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mr.Poet11 months ago

    amazing

  • Mahrosh Khan11 months ago

    Impressive

  • This was great advice and awesome insights into the world of writing 📝 ❤️😉💯 I'm still learning and getting better with my craftsmanship🎯Thanks for sharing 🎉Congratulations on everything 🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.