Poets logo

You Asked Santa for What?

'tis the season

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
9
You Asked Santa for What?
Photo by __ drz __ on Unsplash

The visit to Santa started hopeful,

my son’s list, it wasn’t long.

His plan–to ask the old man for a frisbee

(which I’d already ordered on Amazon ;)).



But this meeting was taking forever,

my son was describing something huge!

He was smiling as he chatted the ear off

of this old man dressed in rouge.



I started sweating as I watched him talk

of the impossible gift he now hoped for.

My ears were ringing, my heart was racing

I nearly dropped my hot chocolate on the floor.



The $55 photo *snapped* and Santa sent him off

with a candy cane and a nod.

“Wow, bud, that took a bit,

what did you ask of the ole’ sod…I mean Santa!?”



Nothing really… just a Lego set replica of the city of Dubai.

His words faded as he stared at me, “Mom are you alright?”

I guess he notice the blood run from my face

and the twitching in my eye.



“Oh, that sounds awesome, honey…

but didn’t Santa explain—the cost of that’s bizzerk…

fooooor his elves…to make in the shop?” (close one)

“No, he said I’m on the good list and his elves are hard at work.”



Thanks a lot, jolly Ole’ St. Oblivious!

How the heck will I come up with that?

My bank account is dwindling–

my wallet is not that fat.



There should be a disclaimer sign

since folks have a varied income gap:

“Over a parent-decided dollar amount,

my elves ain’t constructing that.”



“Mom, I’ve been dreaming of this Lego set

for more than half a year!!!!

It’s the coolest thing I’ve seen

and it’s got all kinds of gear!!!!



Like a mini-fig that fits

into every little room!!!!

And…and..and… a door that bursts open

when you press a button that says kazoom!!!!”



The excitement in his eyes

melted my mama heart.

Now I had to find a solution

which meant I had to shop extra smart.



So, I went to work

to see what I could do…

there had to be a way to keep my son’s

Christmas from turning blue.



I searched online all day and night

trying to make it happen in the cheapest way.

I found nothing on Amazon, Etsy, Temu,

Target, Walmart, or eBay.



So, I tried to find a knockoff

like those designer bags I got.

You know the ones that look just like they’re real

but the spelling is slightly off.



Do they make Lego on the black market,

like my Vera Fang, Prado, or Louis Futon?

I googled variations of Lego:

Leg-faux, leg-no, meh-go. Nothing!?! Ah, come on!!!



By the time I finished searching,

hopeful a Christmas miracle would appear,

days had gotten away from me

and Christmas was almost here!



My son would be hopeful as he awoke

on that Christmas morning full of magic,

excited to see if his request was delivered—

if St. Nick disappointed, the morning could turn tragic.



Looks like I’ll have to get the full-price set

to give him the Christmas of his dreams...

*Perfect, now if you want it by Christmas

you have to pay for express shipping*

WTF!?...Seriously!?!



Now I’m melting down my credit cards

so he can build these plastic blocks.

Better enjoy 'em, buddy,

next Christmas you’re getting socks.





____________________________

A lil' impromptu holiday giggle. Hope you all get what you asked Santa for. I asked for Peace on Earth. It's a big ask, but I'm hopeful he can deliver. Merry Christmas to all who celebrate!

HolidayhumorFamily
9

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    I think ole St. Nick forgot your gift at the North Pole. I hope he finds it and it arrives soon a peaceful world would be nice to have. And thanks for the Christmas chuckle

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Was this based on a true story Kristen? 😆 Really enjoyed the rhymes and the humour. “Ole sod” and “twitching in my eye.” 🤣 This should have been a top story in a perfect world. I’m sorry I missed it. Prob asked before, but do you not share your work in the fb groups? Lots of people seem not too, even Paul. Is it one’s not bothered or more a privacy thing? All your stories should be top stories lol. Not that fb sharing necessarily mean you get these.. just a few more views. 😊👍

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This made me chuckle! I hate when kids do that swerve close to Christmas 😂

  • I didn't ask for anything & I didn't get it. (I got way to much--particularly in the food department being diabetic & all, lol.)

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Hahaha. Kids are soooo adorable. Well. Most times.

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Dear Ki~Ki - Have them ship it C.O.D - If the "No cash accepted" 'Plastic' world has any idea what that means. - World Peace - Village Mate JB

  • "Leg-faux, leg-no, meh-go". Hahahahahahahahhahahahaha that took me out! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 See, you're such an awesome mom and now you'll know why I'd be a terrible mom because I would have just told him, "Ah man, Santa didn't give you that Lego set? That lying fat-ass! Next time, don't ask Santa for big things, he's obviously not cut out for it. Good for nothing old man!" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    The twitching in the eye cracked me up! I laughed so hard...love your poem....the best! Funny and real and full of love.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Nightmare!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🎄😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.