Poets logo

Words In The Mouth

They taste bad

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
Words In The Mouth
Photo by Joey Nicotra on Unsplash

There are words in my mouth,

Cluttered between the crevices in my teeth

Like cavities.

Only I got them not from eating sweet nothings

But vile, toxic rage that had nowhere else to go.

.

My tongue is fascinated with their texture.

Rough around the edges,

Sharp enough to cut tender flesh,

They burn against my tongue and brand me

With sentiments I'll never shake.

.

The words become a part of a narrative of cotton

Clogging up the back of my throat

And puffing from my nose.

Little clouds of lies,

The smoke exposing a terrible fire that's eaten me whole.

.

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Excellent!

  • Oooo, this was so intense and poignant! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.