Poets logo

Wishes

#VocalNPM

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 5 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
7
“Instead of giving up on people, I would give them learning tools
...”

If I had three wishes, bullets would become gummy bears

Kids would laugh when the candy gets stuck in mother's hair

I would no longer be scared, of the summer air

When the heat rises, the heat rises, and no one cares

I would turn all of the prisons into summer schools

Instead of giving up on people, I would give them learning tools

Instead of shunning them, and hurting them, for something cruel

Give them more attention, and help them in a much better room

My third wish would turn drugs into fortune cookies

When I'd need a high, I'd read a line, and have something push me

After my third wish, I’d wish I had another few

Cause three isn't enough, to make my city a better home for you...

art
7

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Harbor Benassa2 years ago

    The first two lines drew me in, I love the strong imagery you employ here. Fantastic job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.