Poets logo

Winter Thoughts

Who am I without memories?

By Shaun WaltersPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
<a href="https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/illuminated-snowy-pathway-park-cold-winter-night_17109343.htm#&position=0&from_view=undefined">Image by wirestock</a> on Freepik

When my beard is white as the snow

I’m afraid my memories will freeze over

Like a lake deep in the woods

I search the frosted glass for blurry shapes

And I will drill hole after hole

But there will be nothing to catch

We are built out of memories and dreams.

Even before that inevitable season,

I hear the crunch and crack under my feet

Photographs litter the forest floor

Still life moments, faded vibrations

Decaying, transformed, soiled

Memories of memories

We are built out of memories and dreams.

I find hope walking along a sunlit brook

Winding through the forest

Beneath fresh growth of lush green leaves

Unhindered by winter’s embrace, ever flowing

Down to the lake, cutting through the ice

Carrying stories, dreams, new life

We are built out of memories and dreams,

And you are my architect.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Shaun Walters

A happy guy that tends to write a little cynically. Just my way of dealing with the world outside my joyous little bubble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    We are built out of memories and dream...so beautiful. I believe 'we are the sum total of the make-up of our memories and dreams'. We are what we live. Lovely poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.