Poets logo

Why Can’t You Write About Something Nice?

By Brenton FPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
15

my better half called me to task

more a masked directive than critique

and as i was about to quietly retort

she wouldn’t even let me speak

finally when i was able to slip in a word or two

i was able to table my twisted views

but only if it was obliquely point formed

and full of commercials like the news

i tried to tell her as best i could

i carefully measured every word

i bring a perverted balance of sorts

sublime, ridiculous and absurd

this is my particular area

of the literary pursuit

i see no one else burning this torch

so this...this is my horn to toot

my subjects are simply the sum of the words

that i have chosen to wield

and to prove I’m not just sitting in a paddock

i am…out standing in my field

this is my particular niche

and whilst confronting depraved and bizarre

there’s honesty in my outrageous elaboration

a simple mirth that i can only stretch so far

anyone can write something nice

bland, safe, boring and superficial

but it leaves a bad taste in your brain

because the sweetness is all artificial

commercially crass cheesy and cheap

i just goes on and on and on and on and on and on

(Spoken to the reader: “you get it don’t you?”)

made in a factory and powered by dumb

the latest mind numbing top 40 drone

another plastic product from don’t-think inc.

another gold record for their wall

there’s nothing nice in any of this

“nope – there’s nothing nice in here at all”

social commentary
15

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh yes. The world is not always nice, but we always have something to say. Well done.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is so well done. I love the way you ended it.

  • You get it, don't you? Lol, we do! This was so well written! Fantastic poem!

  • Anything but another Hallmark greeting card. I couldn't agree more over the saccharine so often produced & distributed.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    As ever, your poetry is amazing, surprising, hilarious, and pointed. I thought I’d read this one, but maybe I didn’t…anyway, I love it. You pack so much in, I can’t hope to fully dissect every part I liked. But here are a couple that I really appreciated. LOL this bit made me laugh: "i was able to table my twisted views but only if it was obliquely point formed and full of commercials like the news" "made in a factory and powered by dumb" I love this! Your humor is always such a treat, Brenton. Been missing reading new stuff from you. I do agree with you on the sentiment, though. It’s hard to argue in favor of "nice poetry" when the bulk of it is so sickly sweet, or superficial, as you say. I much prefer honest poetry, that has grounding. If it happens to be uplifting, great. But more often, it’s not. Poetry seems to thrive on the more negative side of human emotion, and I don’t mind that. It’s all the more refreshing when a nice poem well written makes itself known. "anyone can write something nice bland, safe, boring and superficial but it leaves a bad taste in your brain because the sweetness is all artificial commercially crass cheesy and cheap" Yup, so true. Side note, the rhyming here is fantastic. And I see your alliteration! Oh and perfect ending, btw; the rhythm is so satisfying.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Love this so much, and it is so very true in a lot of ways. Nice is sometimes overrated and often not genuine!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Whew! What a ride this was. We better bring the cheese to please you. We should have a restart button for everything. This makes me want to push the button.

  • Positivity doesn’t sell and it is boring. I pursue only perverted places in my full length fictions. The world of my abusers was depraved to the core.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.