Poets logo

Where the Snacks Grow Wild

Memories of childhood and blueberry duff

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
28
Photo by Abigail Lynn on Unsplash

My heart wanders now to a place, far in time,

out back, up the hill, beyond the tree line.

I’m there, in the home where I lived as a child,

with the pure love of family and snacks that grow wild.

*

Up the short climb, we would trek with our pails.

Beyond the spruce trees, through the well-worn out trails.

Into the bog, where the fresh berries grew,

partridge, bakeapple, and blueberries too.

*

In blueberry season, we’d fill our small tubs,

and feast on sweet berries, straight from the shrubs.

When we got our fill, both in belly and mug,

we’d bring some to Mom and receive a warm hug.

*

Cookies and cakes, and jams smooth as silk,

or in a small bowl with sugar and milk.

Endless variations, with no rhyme or reason,

the sweet treats Mom made us in blueberry season.

*

In oatmeal or on ice cream, we couldn’t get enough.

Most especially, my favourite – the Blueberry Duff.

A dense pudding cake, steamed in a cloth sack,

with tangy, sweet berries, that pudding was packed.

*

The Duff was still steaming, when sliced onto plates,

and covered in glaze, while we’d eagerly wait.

The warm scent, it lingers in memory these days,

the savory berries, the cinnamon glaze.

*

Oh, what I would give to go back there in time,

to that place, with my brothers, that hill we would climb.

We’d bring home those berries; to feel Mom’s warm hug,

and have one more sweet taste of that Blueberry Duff.

GratitudeFamily
28

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    "Oh, what I would give to go back there in time." You and me BOTH Cathy! This piece of writing is especially precious. Was just talking with someone about this yesterday. Cannot put a pricetag on those memories, I tell ya.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    What a lovely take on the challenge ❤

  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    It immersed me in my childhood. Thank you Cathy for that!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Rock speaks of blueberry soup, you speak of blueberry duff...strange sounding names but apparently tasty treats. Great to learn of new things and peek into childhood fun.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Have you read the chldren's story, " Blueberry for Sal"? I love living in blueberry land. It's one thing I can eat without having an asthma attack. In Sweden we have blueberry soup without added sugar as well which is my favorite. They aren't as big as American blueberries but as sweet! Lovely snack ode dear!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    beautiful!

  • I have never had it but it sounds delectable, great lines Cathy

  • I've never heard of blueberry duff before. Or any other duff for that matter. I think I'll like this because I really like dense cakes. If I had a time machine, I'd give it to you so you could revisit this memory whenever you want to. Loved your poem!

  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Loved this so much! So very well written. Thank you! It is a wonderful memory for me too! Now I want to taste it again! https://www.rockrecipes.com/blueberry-duff/

  • Love the way you rhymed it. And it took me a virtual journey...

  • So Duff Beer on "The Simpsons" is made with blueberries? My, my, my! I could imagine wine.... Blueberries are indeed a delight. Whenever we'd head out to the East Coast for a family vacation we would spend time at a blueberry farm picking blueberries. Now my younger brother owns & operates one.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Brilliantly evocative.

  • Brin J.3 months ago

    I love the way you got to be included in making the pie by going out and picking the berries. I bet it's a cherished childhood memory <3

  • Suze Kay3 months ago

    Oh man, I've been lucky enough to have Blueberry Duff once in my life. Such a special treat! You've got me hankering too haha.

  • Colleen Millsteed 3 months ago

    I read these words and feel like I’m there enjoying the sweet taste. Nice work my friend.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Can smell the blueberries!!! Beautifully written & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Absolutely love this! Wonderfully composed, your love for that snack and the era it's tied to shines through your words so clearly :)

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Beautiful poem,Cathy and you gave me a craving for blueberry duff which sounds delish!!

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    What a wonderful memory in poem.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Memories brought back to us from the gift of food. Blueberry Duff sounds delightful, never had it. Mine is a chokecherry jam *( more of a liquidly compote), That we would pour over pancakes. Mmmm. this poem is a perfect way to begin the welcome of spring

  • Test3 months ago

    Such a whimsical loveliness. This just made me smile so much!

  • ema3 months ago

    I love your poem and love blueberries 😍

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    That made me hungry for blueberries 🥰

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Splendid! Such imagery! I felt transported! Also craving blueberries! Love the title too!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I knew the moment I saw the title that I’d love this one. You brought so much warmth and nostalgia (and hunger) to life with this wonderful piece. Loved it 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.